We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marcburg

Chobe Chilwero

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
1st class accommodations and 1st class safaris. The river cruise the 1st night was fantastic and an unrealistic experience. Being up close and personal with elephants, rhinos, hippos and lions were beyond our expectations. Chica, the guide, was fantastic, informative and very professional. One of our favorite safaris on our trip to Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe and South Africa.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Go to Chobe Chilwero in late May Chobe river is in the dry season which allows many animals to...
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
2.7 km from Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Free parking
Pool
Our small swimming pool to enjoy your stay with us!
8.2 km from Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Free Wifi
Free parking
4.3 km from Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Free Wifi
Free parking
2.4 km from Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Free Wifi
Free parking
5.5 km from Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bar & Restaurant
4.5 km from Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Free parking
Pool
10.8 km from Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Free Wifi
Free parking
50.6 km from Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Free parking
Pool
sanctuary for birds
6.5 km from Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Chobe National Park
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
416
50
14
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
416
50
14
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river game drives southern africa memorable stay elephants swimming short drive great guide cape buffalo sunset boat chobe wildlife baboons safari land leopard bobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2024

This lodge strives to give personal service. The rooms have everything you need for a 5 star stay. The staff are really well trained but they are so genuine and nice and want to give you the best service. The game drives were amazing although the big cats are few and far between. What makes this place so special is the river. We have travelled numerous countries for safaris but this place gives a great experience seeing the animals from the riverside. The lodge really mix up your experiences by both land and river safaris which are exceptional. We are well travelled but we found this lodge to be one of our best experiences. Take time to use the Spa, the treatments are reasonably priced but the experience is better than we have received in other worldwide location. Our guide Letts was one of the best we have ever experienced. This place deserves to be put at the top of locations to stay.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwilliamson083
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Our safari tour company, Abercrombie and Kent, booked this beautiful lodge for us. The staff is attentive kind. After each game drive (twice-a-day) were were greeted with cold towels for our face and hands. One night professional Botswanian dancers treated us to ceremonial dances and songs - fantastic talent and strength!
One dinner took place on the dirt around the campfire complete with white linen tableclothes and traditional dishes. Romantic and delicious!
The rooms were well-appointed but we found some dead bugs and a live, huge spider in the bathroom (bug spray provided in all rooms). Enjoyed sitting on the deck adjacent to our room and enjoying a cool drink after dusty game drive.
Upon arrival we were treated to a complimentary 30-mintute couples massage. The spa is clean, smells wonderful and the massage melted our tired muscles. A small bush buck enjoys staying by the spa's front door to greet guests with a brown-eyed glance.
Safety is priority so the grounds are protected with an electrified fence. At dinner we could see a lion checking the perimeter fence for a way to get in.
Fantastic evening boat rides to view the elephants, hippos and African cattle.
The staff worked hard to successfully meet our every need: the food is delicious and varied, the grounds are pleasing and well-cared for, the attention to detail in care of the lodge is felt the minute you step in. The close proximity to wildlife is the icing the cake!

Room tip: After a bumpy game drive be sure to treat yourself to a lovely massage. Enjoy the variety of foods and delicious cocktails.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 278Sunny2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2024

This was the third, and final, of our three stays in Sanctuary Retreat Camps (each for three nights) and this time we were in a Pool Suite with a private plunge pool; we had a dip every afternoon and it was ‘refreshing’ and wonderful. We did, however, ‘share’ the area from time to time with the many baboons; quite hilarious antics.

Our accommodation (no. 1) was excellent with a/c and fans, huge bathroom with a deep bath, and plenty of hanging/storage options. There was a terrace overlooking the pool and huge garden area with sun loungers and seating area. Fabulous. The only downside was the power to our Pavilion went out on our first night (no a/c, fans or lights) and it took some time the next day to fix.

As we had now moved on from the Okavango Delta to the Chobe River area, everything was more green and lush, and the gardens around the Pavilions reflected this. There was a lovely two-level general pool and a winding path from our Pavilion to the general area. Again, as this is not fenced, it is necessary to be escorted after sunset to/from the room/general area.

The general areas were large with lovely wooden floors and good dining and seating options. There was also the traditional Braai area.

We went out with Tim for one Jeep safari and two boat (one included an excellent lunch) trips and it was wonderful to see so much green around the River. So many elephants, water buffalo, hippos, water birds, etc., etc.

This was a lovely stay although we felt that the standard of service and staff friendliness, was less than we had experienced in the other two Sanctuary Lodges.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank the_stoddarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2023

Outstanding vegan food. Beautiful facility, gorgeous rooms, excellent guide, very nice boat trip, but the big surprise was the outstanding vegan food! Outstanding vegan food. Beautiful facility, gorgeous rooms, excellent guide.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2023 via mobile

A wonderful lodge where rooms are very big, super clean and in a peaceful garden surrounded by the magnificent Chobe river. All personnel and wildlife guides are super kind and very expert. Don’t miss the possibility of a private cruise on Chobe River!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Zazzeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews