We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
The Penthouse Collection(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Strand Tower Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$85
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Grand Daddy Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Southern Sun Cape Sun(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Tulbagh Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
685
64
16
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
64
16
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest lodgehorse ridingwhale watchingwalker baycape townnature reserveshark cage divingsouth africathe main lodgewine cellarstunning viewstwo daysour honeymoonlocal communitysee whalescourse dinnerthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Grootbos with our 4 boys, ages 14-9. We loved the caves and tide pooling, the boat safari and the horseback riding. We saw a pod of dolphins playing, seals, penguins and a Bryde’s whale. It is pretty wavy - two kids got seasick so take your meds ahead of time! The setting and rooms are gorgeous and the service and food top notch.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Mom_of_TAZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Mom_of_TAZM

I really appreciate you taking the time to post this review. It was our pleasure having you and your family to stay.

Best Regards

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed at the Forest Lodge for 4 nights and what an experience this was. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we had nothing but 8 STAR service. Stefan, and the entire team made us feel we were part of the family and did everything they could to make our stay just that little bit more exciting. Baboons, Bush Bucks, amazing bird life and simply stunning surroundings make this lodge just that much more special.

We went for a visit to the caves, went horseback riding and did an walk through the reserve by ourselves. But if you do nothing else, if its a great evening......take a trip up to the point they call gods window and watch the sun go down....it is nothing if it is not exceptional.

The meals are amazing and simply 1st class. You must experience it.

Full marks to Grootbos....you are setting a benchmark that other camps need to meet. I mean it! I have been to so many and seldom have they reached this level.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Grant T

What a humbling review- Thank you! I'll be sure to pass your comments on to all the staff as they will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your comments will truly inspire them to continue their hard work in giving our guests the best experience possible.

Best Regards

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

After a number of days in Cape Town, it was a treat to arrive at Grootbos and chill. We stayed in Forest Lodge and our cottage was large and luxurious. I particularly enjoyed the bathroom products and the view from the bath across Walker Bay. The main Forest Lodge building is beautifully decorated and has equally good views across the bay to Hermanus. The food was delicious and impeccably presented. We enjoyed the guided trip to Klipgat Cave, a tour of the Grootbos farm and horticultural school and learned about the plants that make up the Fynbos. All shared with much knowledge and enthusiasm. I also got on a horse for the second time in my life and thoroughly enjoyed myself. The staff were helpful and welcoming, particularly Jo and Bo. It would have been good to have had some local music/entertainment to create a bit more atmosphere in the evenings. All in all, very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RosemaryNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear RosemaryNewbury

I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Just Pure range of amenities that you so enjoyed have been formulated especially for Grootbos using our Erica Irregularis single-blossom honey as well as other oils from plants found on the reserve. With no parabens, it's certainly the best product to use on your skin. Feel free to contact us should you like us to send some to you back home. We have many of our past guests doing just that.

Until we meet again...

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We loved every second of our two days stay: great staff, superb service, the food is fabulous, the activities (shark cage diving, horse riding, ...)are very well organised and the view is just breath taking!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amelie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Amelie M

We appreciate your positive review. I hope the image of the view remains with you for years to come.

Regards

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We stayed at Forest Lodge for three nights. The main lodge is modern, bright, airy, with numerous places inside and out to sit and enjoy tea/coffee and small snacks at any time of the day and to admire the amazing view across Walker Bay towards Hermanus.

Our cottage was very comfortable with a huge amount of space. Large bedroom, bathroom, lounge. Good wi-if connection. Good range of tv channels. Coffee and tea making facilities.

The two guides we had during our stay, Ruuan and Jo (we can’t tell you her real name - sworn to secrecy!) were knowledgeable and entertaining. We found the information about the White Milkwood Forest, the Fynbos and the work being done in terms of working with the local community fascinating.

The staff we found to be pleasant, welcoming and excellently trained - service in the restaurant was better than many other 5 star establishments we have recently visited. Sometimes we thought there may have been pressure in the kitchen but we were happy to put up with small delays when looking at a mesmerizing view of the mountains and the ocean.

The food was excellent. Well cooked, beautifully presented. The breakfast selection both the buffet and the cooked food was great.

We undertook the Eco boat trip which we found to be very disappointing - but you can’t dictate to wildlife when it should appear.

Our only recommendation to Grootbos would be to please provide a book of local birds in the room. We were fortunate to have a room with a plunge pool and had a variety of birds arriving to have a drink. It would have been nice to be able to identify them.

Thanks to all the staff for making this such an enjoyable trip.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stanleyalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanIngles, General Manager at Grootbos Private Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Stanleyalb

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you too for the little suggestions. We'll certainly take these into consideration.

Best Regards

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews