We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No whale guarentee”

Ivanhoe Sea Safaris
Book In Advance
More Info
US$86,23*
and up
Whale Watching from Gansbaai
More Info
US$59,33*
and up
Big 5 Sea Safari in Walker Bay from Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A typical trip will have you exploring our magnificent coastline and bay while looking for whales, dolphins, sharks, seals and seabirds. Apart from the Southern Right Whales, we are able to view Brides Whales, Humpback Whales and possibly even Great White Sharks.There are many Cape Fur Seals, African Penguins, Dolphins, Sunfish and plenty of coastal marine birds to been seen whilst out at sea.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No whale guarentee”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

On our trip to Cape Town we choose Ivanhoe Sea Safari, because of their "whale-guarantee". In god faith that we would see some whales, we used 2 1/2 hour in a car from Cape Town to Ivanhoe Sea Safari (both ways). Unfortunately we did not see one single whale!.
Because of their guarentee we were sure that Ivanhoe Sea Safaria would give us full refund. But what we got was 7 completely useless "vouchers", that we could use on out next trip to Cape town. We live in Denmark and Will not come to South Africa again. Hos Can this be a whale-guarentee?
We are very disappointet - both because of The money-loss and because of The Way Ivanhoe Sea Safari handled The situation.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisPeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    20
    5
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We chosed Ivanhoe Sea Safaris because of their whale guarantee. In my world guarantee means that you get your money back if you do not get the product.
We did not see any whales! When we got back from the trip we got a voucher for a new whale watching. We were going home the next day, and could not use the voucher to anything.
My family and I paid 10800 rand for a two hour cruise and spent a whole day on our vacation without getting anything from it. We were very disappointed. Not least because we were willing to compromise and required only a 50% refund.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne Cathrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
“Not as we expected”
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We had a bad experience with Ivanhoe Sea Safaris, because the trip did not end as we were otherwise promised. We chosed this company because they promised warranty for whales.
They failed to live up to our expectations as we did not get the money back, but just a new ticket. Therefore, I can not recommend this company when you don't get your money back if you don't see whales. A guarantee in their world means a new ticket and not your money back, as we had expected.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank DanielAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I had a very bad experience with Ivanhoe Sea Safari.
We were on a mistrip and did not see anything at all.
Our voucher from Ivanhoe says: "We shall do our very best to reschedule you on the next available trip, or offer a full refund." Despite that, they would only offer a reschedule after the trip and said that the refund was a procedure that they do not use.
It was our last day in Cape Town, so we were not having the possibility of rescheduling. We had paid 10800 rand to Ivanhoe and used a whole day on the Safari without getting anything from it. I was willing to compromise and required only a 50% refund, but Ivanhoe was a rigid system and their solution is that, I "could try to sell them and get the money from it", but first of all it cannot be my job to sell their tickets. And who would be interested in tickets that I am selling because of a bad experience?

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Casper121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Observing whales without disturbing them”
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Ivanhoe Sea Safaris are friendly, courteous, professional and knowledgeable. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip from Gansbaai harbour into Walker Bay to view Southern Right whales. We saw at least six mother and calf pairs, and two adult whales. What most impressed me about Ivanhoe's crew is that they are truly eco friendly and responsible. Some of the whale watching companies label themselves as “green” or “eco-friendly." but for many of these businesses, these are just marketing catchphrases.
Ivanhoe however is the real deal. The boat doesn't approach the whales too quickly or too closely, and they take great care not to cause the animals stress. If the whales moved away from the boat, they never followed them. The didn't approach whales close to the shore so that they didn't feel boxed in. I was very impressed with the care and respect that they show the whales.
My trip on this boat was truly magical. To be able to see the whales so close up without disturbing them was amazing.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Shapiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ivanhoe Sea Safaris also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Ivanhoe Sea Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing