We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as we expected”

Ivanhoe Sea Safaris
Book In Advance
More Info
US$84,71*
and up
Whale Watching from Gansbaai
More Info
US$58,29*
and up
Big 5 Sea Safari in Walker Bay from Gansbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A typical trip will have you exploring our magnificent coastline and bay while looking for whales, dolphins, sharks, seals and seabirds. Apart from the Southern Right Whales, we are able to view Brides Whales, Humpback Whales and possibly even Great White Sharks.There are many Cape Fur Seals, African Penguins, Dolphins, Sunfish and plenty of coastal marine birds to been seen whilst out at sea.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
“Not as we expected”
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We had a bad experience with Ivanhoe Sea Safaris, because the trip did not end as we were otherwise promised. We chosed this company because they promised warranty for whales.
They failed to live up to our expectations as we did not get the money back, but just a new ticket. Therefore, I can not recommend this company when you don't get your money back if you don't see whales. A guarantee in their world means a new ticket and not your money back, as we had expected.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank DanielAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    23
    6
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I had a very bad experience with Ivanhoe Sea Safari.
We were on a mistrip and did not see anything at all.
Our voucher from Ivanhoe says: "We shall do our very best to reschedule you on the next available trip, or offer a full refund." Despite that, they would only offer a reschedule after the trip and said that the refund was a procedure that they do not use.
It was our last day in Cape Town, so we were not having the possibility of rescheduling. We had paid 10800 rand to Ivanhoe and used a whole day on the Safari without getting anything from it. I was willing to compromise and required only a 50% refund, but Ivanhoe was a rigid system and their solution is that, I "could try to sell them and get the money from it", but first of all it cannot be my job to sell their tickets. And who would be interested in tickets that I am selling because of a bad experience?

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Casper121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Observing whales without disturbing them”
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Ivanhoe Sea Safaris are friendly, courteous, professional and knowledgeable. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip from Gansbaai harbour into Walker Bay to view Southern Right whales. We saw at least six mother and calf pairs, and two adult whales. What most impressed me about Ivanhoe's crew is that they are truly eco friendly and responsible. Some of the whale watching companies label themselves as “green” or “eco-friendly." but for many of these businesses, these are just marketing catchphrases.
Ivanhoe however is the real deal. The boat doesn't approach the whales too quickly or too closely, and they take great care not to cause the animals stress. If the whales moved away from the boat, they never followed them. The didn't approach whales close to the shore so that they didn't feel boxed in. I was very impressed with the care and respect that they show the whales.
My trip on this boat was truly magical. To be able to see the whales so close up without disturbing them was amazing.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Shapiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Holiday highlight!”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Booked whale watching with Ivanhoe sea safari not expecting to see everything rather hoping as you cannot predict nature! But were overjoyed with what we got with the captains professional crew we managed to see many whales and a unexpected dolphin show whilst keeping a safe distance from the marine reserves and letting the whales decide if they wanted to interact,nice to know that the whales welfare is their foremost priority.
Only one thing to note that if making your own way to the harbour it is not that well signposted in gaainsbai and we had trouble finding it but they rang to give directions which again was a nice touch.
Well done Ivanhoe great day!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Pope935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We had a beautiful time, the guides were very nice and answering all our questions, they really do their best to make sure you see a maximum of sealife! We saw a whale and its baby, it was magical.
The trip is very peaceful, i would definitely recommend it to my friends.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_Ber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ivanhoe Sea Safaris also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Ivanhoe Sea Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing