We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$113
View deal
Hotels.com
US$113
View deal
Agoda.com
US$97
View deal
PricelineUS$113
eDreamsUS$113
Trip.comUS$114
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
444
94
6
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
444
94
6
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews well stocked bar shark dive great white sharks at home excellent hosts whale watching small pool home made other guests spacious rooms delicious breakfast great place to stay warm welcome guest house sea view dave harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2021

The owners very very friendly & helpful. We got an upgrade for the same price! Lovely, peaceful stay!! I will really recommend. We thought of having breakfast on Sunday somewhere else, but most places only opens at 10 or were closed. I would recommend rather include a breakfast as the view is lovely!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SeronjavdMerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron Lee, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2021

Was a great pleasure and thank you for your recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2021

As always, our stay was characterised by the fine hospitality of our hosts, our comfortable and spacious room and a hearty breakfast. Fantastic sea views and proximity to the little fishing harbour was an extra bonus.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 576charl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron Lee, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2021

Thank you again Charl. Always a treat when you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021

The intention was to take a peaceful and relaxing moment with my wife after a hectic week from our jobs and we really achieved that. The staff and the overall ambience of the lodge made this possible. Thanks to Dave and Carona for the beautiful place.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sightsee37070273668
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron Lee, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2021

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a great pleasure hosting you. I love that I have gone viral:) Carona:):):)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021 via mobile

Friendly housewarming hostess, lovely rooms and spacious tranquil garden and pool with beautiful sea view, love the dog and cats that makes it feel homey, friendly service, awesome experience. Very safe and overall good experience

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron Lee, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2021

Thank you Marius, so glad you and your lovely wife, Giesela, had a good time. Look forward to a future visit, you are always welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2021

We would highly recommend a visit to Saxon Lodge.This was our first visit to the area.
We explored on our own and Caron and Dave suggested places and restaurants to visit, even going as far as to organise bookings for us. There are many places to visit around the area and also lovely seaside walks close by.
We stayed in the self catering apartments and were delighted with the space and facilities, as well as our delicious breakfast every day!
Our stay at Saxon Lodge in Gansbaai was super as were our hosts Dave and Caron!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fans408
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron Lee, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2021

Thank you for your feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews