We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
384
84
5
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
84
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsgreat bartwo nightsfeel at homefriendly ownerselectric blanketsshark divefish factorygreat white sharksold friendsa great staywhale watchinggarden routedelicious breakfastsmall poolstayed for one nightstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

This is a well-run establishment that has good, clean rooms and serves great food. The hosts are friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The guest house has an incredible and cozy pub that’s open to guests.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank GusBehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaxonLodge, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Gus, coming from a discerning hospitality person such as you, this is a great compliment! We loved having you here and our friendly banter in the bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The small lodge has a very nice view on the harbour Gansbaai. Caron and Dave make you feel like you are at home. Router, the manager, gave us many helpful advice for restaurants and things to do. Unfortunately, the fish factory smelled a little bit bad one night. But like this you really feel being part of the fishing industry of this area. :-)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelmood45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks Very much for the review. The factory is a major employer in our small village and though the smell is occasionally a problem, it happens very infrequently and as you say reminds you that you are in a small fishing village. We have a few good restaurants and I am glad you you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Caron and Dave are very friendly and always willing to assist. Beautiful rooms and very close to Shark Cage Diving Operators. Close to amenities and within walking distance to restaurants. Will definitely use them again

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Azul_Tours_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks, that about sums it up in a nutshell. Plenty to see and do and great restaurants as you say within walking distance so you can enjoy a glass or 2:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

My wife and I were in Gansbaai to do a morning shark cage dive. Since we had an early morning dive we decided to stay in Gansbaai the night before to be close to the dive site. We came across Saxon Lodge and decided to try it out. We were very happy we decided to. The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They even called a local restaurant to make sure they had a reservation for us as we arrived later in the day. The rooms themselves were a little bit older, but very nice. I would highly recommend that anyone deciding to do the shark cage dive in Gansbaai to stay at this bnb.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank djwingwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Manager at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks for the review, we have purposefully kept our rooms homely and 'old' fashioned if you like as I feel it adds cosyness and a sense of home. We are always happy to assist our guests in having the best possible experiene whilst they are in Gansbaai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The staff treated us like we were family, felt very welcome. They even took us to a wine festival with their own car and showed us around the area. Zach 10 years old, the managers son, is a future to be tourist quide :) Nice, clean hotel and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne_scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

We start them young here!!! Isn't it great though that the children in our community too are passionate about where they live...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews