We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You feel like home...”
Review of Saxon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saxon Lodge
Ranked #5 of 31 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The small lodge has a very nice view on the harbour Gansbaai. Caron and Dave make you feel like you are at home. Router, the manager, gave us many helpful advice for restaurants and things to do. Unfortunately, the fish factory smelled a little bit bad one night. But like this you really feel being part of the fishing industry of this area. :-)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelmood45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks Very much for the review. The factory is a major employer in our small village and though the smell is occasionally a problem, it happens very infrequently and as you say reminds you that you are in a small fishing village. We have a few good restaurants and I am glad you you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Caron and Dave are very friendly and always willing to assist. Beautiful rooms and very close to Shark Cage Diving Operators. Close to amenities and within walking distance to restaurants. Will definitely use them again

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Azul_Tours_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks, that about sums it up in a nutshell. Plenty to see and do and great restaurants as you say within walking distance so you can enjoy a glass or 2:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

My wife and I were in Gansbaai to do a morning shark cage dive. Since we had an early morning dive we decided to stay in Gansbaai the night before to be close to the dive site. We came across Saxon Lodge and decided to try it out. We were very happy we decided to. The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They even called a local restaurant to make sure they had a reservation for us as we arrived later in the day. The rooms themselves were a little bit older, but very nice. I would highly recommend that anyone deciding to do the shark cage dive in Gansbaai to stay at this bnb.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank djwingwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Manager at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks for the review, we have purposefully kept our rooms homely and 'old' fashioned if you like as I feel it adds cosyness and a sense of home. We are always happy to assist our guests in having the best possible experiene whilst they are in Gansbaai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The staff treated us like we were family, felt very welcome. They even took us to a wine festival with their own car and showed us around the area. Zach 10 years old, the managers son, is a future to be tourist quide :) Nice, clean hotel and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne_scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

We start them young here!!! Isn't it great though that the children in our community too are passionate about where they live...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Absolutely First Class. Faultless.
My travel Agent is now low on the list when my friends had to leave at 6.30am Sunday for there flight back to Durban.
A great time was had by all. Thanks Bill and Maureen.
The only couple that missed the flight was Cally and Neil (my accountant}. Cally is my Travel Agent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bill356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

What an awesome weekend with your group Bill. I had a magic time sharing in the fun and spending time with such a strong friendship group. Thank you for choosing us...ooops for the early wake up call for flights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
20,6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
2,6 km away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#6 of 31 in Gansbaai
417 reviews
4,3 km away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 31 in Gansbaai
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,7 km away
On The Rocks B&B
On The Rocks B&B
#12 of 31 in Gansbaai
64 reviews
3,5 km away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#3 of 31 in Gansbaai
457 reviews
3 km away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#7 of 31 in Gansbaai
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Lodge

Address: No 1 Miller Street | Gansbaai, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: R707 - R1 522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saxon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views across Walker Bay, overlooking the traditional Gansbaai harbour, Saxon Lodge offers a down to earth, home from home stay in Gansbaai, The Great White Capital of the World TM and sanctuary for Southern Right Whales in winter. Unwind in one of our spacious rooms, or individually decorated suites with private entrances and verandas and take in this amazing eco-adventure paradise. From the lodge it is an easy walk to shops, banks, pubs and restaurants. We also have our cosy and popular licensed and well stocked bar, The Saxon Arms, catering for residents only, specialising in local wines and craft beers. Dave and Caron will assist with your itinerary and activity planning and bookings and ensure that you leave with great memories of Gansbaai. 2 hours from Cape Town, 30 minutes from Hermanus and en-route to or from the Garden Route, Gansbaai offers an authentic and dramatic marine, floral and mountainous playground to explore, experience and enjoy. Saxon Lodge in Gansbaai, your best choice for accommodation and real South Africa hospitality. Looking forward to meeting you Your hosts Dave & Caron ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Saxon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing