We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
392
86
5
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
86
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hosts great bar cape town friendly owners two nights feel at home electric blankets fish factory shark cage diving great white sharks a great stay whale watching garden route small pool delicious breakfast stayed for one night stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

My wife and I were in Gansbaai to do a morning shark cage dive. Since we had an early morning dive we decided to stay in Gansbaai the night before to be close to the dive site. We came across Saxon Lodge and decided to try it out. We were very happy we decided to. The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They even called a local restaurant to make sure they had a reservation for us as we arrived later in the day. The rooms themselves were a little bit older, but very nice. I would highly recommend that anyone deciding to do the shark cage dive in Gansbaai to stay at this bnb.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank djwingwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Manager at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks for the review, we have purposefully kept our rooms homely and 'old' fashioned if you like as I feel it adds cosyness and a sense of home. We are always happy to assist our guests in having the best possible experiene whilst they are in Gansbaai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The staff treated us like we were family, felt very welcome. They even took us to a wine festival with their own car and showed us around the area. Zach 10 years old, the managers son, is a future to be tourist quide :) Nice, clean hotel and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne_scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

We start them young here!!! Isn't it great though that the children in our community too are passionate about where they live...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Absolutely First Class. Faultless.
My travel Agent is now low on the list when my friends had to leave at 6.30am Sunday for there flight back to Durban.
A great time was had by all. Thanks Bill and Maureen.
The only couple that missed the flight was Cally and Neil (my accountant}. Cally is my Travel Agent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bill356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

What an awesome weekend with your group Bill. I had a magic time sharing in the fun and spending time with such a strong friendship group. Thank you for choosing us...ooops for the early wake up call for flights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

The building is older and not plush, but the room was clean. The most notable part of the stay was the extremely friendly and helpful owner and management. They were very helpful with directions and phone calls, and went out of their way to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FirecrackerDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you so much, we will work on getting your next review to 5 stars...:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We all gathered here to be with our special friend Bill. It was everything we needed! Our hosts Caron and Dave were brilliant as well as the staff. The most comfy beds too!! The view was lovely. Thanks to both of you, we will be back!!!! PS. Hugs for Teddy and Blue xxx
Neil and Cally

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CallyB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

So gad you enjoyed - Teddy and Blu miss the craziness and fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews