We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
401
87
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
87
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hosts great bar cape town shark dive two nights make you feel at home owners and staff a great place to stay fish factory home from home whale watching electric blankets rooms are spacious garden route home made small pool other guests
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2016

The Saxon Lodge overlooks the harbour and sitting in their calm & charming garden makes you forget the hustle of the outside world. Caron & Dave are excellent hosts and never short on recommendations on where to eat or what to see in the area. It definitely feels like you're staying with friends rather than at a guesthouse.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank HeidiF878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you Heidi, you as many of our guests present yourselves as friends so very easy to reciprocate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We paid a whistle stop visit to Saxon Lodge in March, it was atrocious weather, but the welcome we received made up for it.
As animal lovers we felt immediately at home with the friendly dogs and cats wandering around, I was introduced to the famous Fynbos Gin in the little bar and my only regret was not picking some up before leaving for Wales!
The apartment was roomy and comfortable, unfortunately, due to the weather we were unable to make the most of a private verandah with views of the harbour.
As we were late and had not eaten, our hosts rang around a couple of local eateries to find somewhere for us to have dinner and also made last minute arrangements for us to go out on a boat trip the next morning, which was appreciated.
Breakfast was varied and offered high quality food which catered for most tastes.(and plenty of it!)
We regretted only having time for one night at Saxon Lodge,the company of our hosts alone would have justified at least one more night!

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ranp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you for the lovely review. Hopefully if you fnd yourself back in SA you will come spend a little more time with us so we can show you some of our special treasures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

A warm welcome, spectacular view, tranquil garden and pool area, cosy bar, comfortable bed and excellent location. Couldn't ask for anything more. We arrived as guests and left feeling like friends, just wish we could have stayed longer!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 793sachac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you Sacha. I have spent long hours reading Ian's Marineman - what talent he has. I really hope that you will find your way back here so we can spend some more time together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We stayed in Gansbaai because we wanted to dive with the white sharks. Unfortunately the waves were to big and the boat couldn't leave the harbour. But Dave and Caron were very helpful to arrange a second chance for a sharkdive in Mosselbay. They have a lovely bar and in the evening they take a drink with the guests and are perfect hosts.
If you don't go sharkdiving gansbaai is not a very nice place. But the Saxonlodge is a very nice place to be.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank burlo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

I am just so glad that you were able to eventually have a good shark experience. I would also love to show you some of the other exciting things there are to do and see in this very special place we call home. Pop in the next time you are in SA and let us show you around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Highly recommended for the warmth and welcoming ways of the owners Caron and Dave and all the staff. The views over the harbour and sea are fabulous and I loved the crisp white walls for a seaside B&B. Rooms are fresh and clean and breakfast was great. I especially love that all the organic waste is composted into the veggie garden and that they have a policy about plastic bags as well as being involved in efforts to green the town through tree planting. A Gansbaai gem!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eco_Atlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you for the valuable comments. We are proud to be able to contribute back to our planet and do what we can to keep our footprint just that, a footprint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews