We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La mia seconda casa - My 2nd home”
Review of Saxon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saxon Lodge
Ranked #5 of 31 Gansbaai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Da anni ormai soggiorno al Saxon Lodge periodicamente, per visitare la costa sudafricana con tutte le sue bellezze paesaggistiche e faunistiche (grandi squali bianchi, balene, delfini, otarie e molto altro). Il Saxon Lodge è la mia casa, Dave e Caron - i gestori - sono la mia famiglia sudafricana. Non potrò mai descrivere appieno la loro simpatia, generosità e bontà, persone così meravigliose le incontri raramente sul tuo percorso e conoscerli è stato un ennesimo regalo che questo splendido Paese mi ha donato. Se soggiornerete al Saxon Lodge troverete privacy, camere molto grandi, bellissime, pulitissime e accessoriate (wifi internet, phon, shampoo, bagnoschiuma, saponette,asciugamani puliti ogni giorno, non vi preoccupate delle prese della corrente, hanno gli adattatori per le nostre spine). Un'altra grande sorpresa è stata il cibo: Caron è una cuoca straordinaria per qualunque piatto (e Dave e' il re della carne!), per non parlare dei dolci che per me sono praticamente un miracolo! Se siete vegetariani o celiaci non avete di che preoccuparvi, basta avvisarli prima. Ogni anno torno da loro, sono appena rientrata da dieci giorni fantastici e a settembre sarò di nuovo lì. Non posso far altro che ringraziarli di cuore, w Dave e Caron, w il Saxon Lodge!!!

I've been at Saxon Lodge for many years now, to visit the south african coast with all its landscapes and animal beauties (great white sharks, whales, dolphins, seals and much more). The Saxon Lodge is my house, Dave and Caron - the owners - are my south african family. I will never be able to describe completely their pleasantness, generosity and kindness, you rarely meet such beautiful people and meeting them has been another great gift from this beautiful country. If you are going to stay at the Saxon Lodge you will find privacy, big nice clean and super-accessorized rooms (wifi internet, hair drier, shampoo, shower cream, soaps, fresh towels every day... and don't worry about wall power socket, they have adapters for your plug). Food was another big surprise: Caron is a truly extraordinay chef for every dish she prepares (and Dave is the king of meat!), especially for the sweets that are quite a miracle to me! If you are vegetarian or celiac you have nothing to worry about, just tell them in advance. Every year I come back to them, I just came back from ten fantastic days and I will be there again in september. I can't do anything but thank them with all my heart, long live Dave and Caron, long live the Saxon Lodge!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zainettoinspalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

I feel so blessed when I read your review, thank you for sharing such beautiful words with the world about us and our space. I am always so happy to see you when you arrive and equally sad when you leave and this year gets to be super special because you will be here again in September...so looking forward to that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2016

The Saxon Lodge overlooks the harbour and sitting in their calm & charming garden makes you forget the hustle of the outside world. Caron & Dave are excellent hosts and never short on recommendations on where to eat or what to see in the area. It definitely feels like you're staying with friends rather than at a guesthouse.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you Heidi, you as many of our guests present yourselves as friends so very easy to reciprocate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We paid a whistle stop visit to Saxon Lodge in March, it was atrocious weather, but the welcome we received made up for it.
As animal lovers we felt immediately at home with the friendly dogs and cats wandering around, I was introduced to the famous Fynbos Gin in the little bar and my only regret was not picking some up before leaving for Wales!
The apartment was roomy and comfortable, unfortunately, due to the weather we were unable to make the most of a private verandah with views of the harbour.
As we were late and had not eaten, our hosts rang around a couple of local eateries to find somewhere for us to have dinner and also made last minute arrangements for us to go out on a boat trip the next morning, which was appreciated.
Breakfast was varied and offered high quality food which catered for most tastes.(and plenty of it!)
We regretted only having time for one night at Saxon Lodge,the company of our hosts alone would have justified at least one more night!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ranp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you for the lovely review. Hopefully if you fnd yourself back in SA you will come spend a little more time with us so we can show you some of our special treasures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

A warm welcome, spectacular view, tranquil garden and pool area, cosy bar, comfortable bed and excellent location. Couldn't ask for anything more. We arrived as guests and left feeling like friends, just wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 793sachac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Thank you Sacha. I have spent long hours reading Ian's Marineman - what talent he has. I really hope that you will find your way back here so we can spend some more time together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We stayed in Gansbaai because we wanted to dive with the white sharks. Unfortunately the waves were to big and the boat couldn't leave the harbour. But Dave and Caron were very helpful to arrange a second chance for a sharkdive in Mosselbay. They have a lovely bar and in the evening they take a drink with the guests and are perfect hosts.
If you don't go sharkdiving gansbaai is not a very nice place. But the Saxonlodge is a very nice place to be.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank burlo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caron L, Owner at Saxon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

I am just so glad that you were able to eventually have a good shark experience. I would also love to show you some of the other exciting things there are to do and see in this very special place we call home. Pop in the next time you are in SA and let us show you around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gansbaai
20,6 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
977 reviews
2,6 km away
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
The Roundhouse Guesthouse
#7 of 31 in Gansbaai
417 reviews
4,3 km away
Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge
#1 of 31 in Gansbaai
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,7 km away
On The Rocks B&B
On The Rocks B&B
#12 of 31 in Gansbaai
64 reviews
3,5 km away
White Shark Guest House
White Shark Guest House
#3 of 31 in Gansbaai
457 reviews
3 km away
Sea Star Lodge
Sea Star Lodge
#6 of 31 in Gansbaai
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Lodge

Address: No 1 Miller Street | Gansbaai, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Gansbaai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Price Range: R720 - R1 495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saxon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views across Walker Bay, overlooking the traditional Gansbaai harbour, Saxon Lodge offers a down to earth, home from home stay in Gansbaai, The Great White Capital of the World TM and sanctuary for Southern Right Whales in winter. Unwind in one of our spacious rooms, or individually decorated suites with private entrances and verandas and take in this amazing eco-adventure paradise. From the lodge it is an easy walk to shops, banks, pubs and restaurants. We also have our cosy and popular licensed and well stocked bar, The Saxon Arms, catering for residents only, specialising in local wines and craft beers. Dave and Caron will assist with your itinerary and activity planning and bookings and ensure that you leave with great memories of Gansbaai. 2 hours from Cape Town, 30 minutes from Hermanus and en-route to or from the Garden Route, Gansbaai offers an authentic and dramatic marine, floral and mountainous playground to explore, experience and enjoy. Saxon Lodge in Gansbaai, your best choice for accommodation and real South Africa hospitality. Looking forward to meeting you Your hosts Dave & Caron ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Saxon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing