We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm and Nursery, Food and cakes”

Groeneweide Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 32 Restaurants in Gansbaai
Price range: R 45 - R 85
Description: We are a country-at-the-sea family restaurant. Open daily from 08:15 to 15:00 for mainly traditional local food in a relaxing farm atmosphere. Our specialty is 'afval' (tripe), 'tamatiebredie' (tomato stew) and pork belly. Unwind on our stoep while the children enjoy our farm animals, tortoise sanctuary and large playgrounds. This is a little paradise between the mountain and the sea.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a country-at-the-sea family restaurant. Open daily from 08:15 to 15:00 for mainly traditional local food in a relaxing farm atmosphere. Our specialty is 'afval' (tripe), 'tamatiebredie' (tomato stew) and pork belly. Unwind on our stoep while the children enjoy our farm animals, tortoise sanctuary and large playgrounds. This is a little paradise between the mountain and the sea.
Reviewed 29 March 2021

What is not to enjoy if you can shop for plants while enjoying a scrumptious breakfast or lunch or just coffee and yummy cakes. Service little slow but our waiter was so friendly that we decided to relax and take in the distant sea views, watch the kids running around and the animals. Food is good, hearty local and prepared with love. Cakes looked yummy. We will have to return to try the selection! Always a great plus if the toilet facilities are neat and clean, .. indicates caring owners. Do try this lovely place.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank SueTravelLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Getaway16222686502, Owner at Groeneweide Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

Thank you so much for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2020 via mobile

We visited this beautiful coffee shop and nursery in December. We had the fabulous Turmeric lattes. Amazing friendly service and staff. Extremely kid friendly. Love the sheep and chickens everywhere as well as the tortoise rehab at the back.

Date of visit: December 2020
2  Thank Mariaan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Getaway16222686502, Marketing at Groeneweide Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us! hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2020

Excellent service and good and tasty traditional food. This is a farm setup so take the kids and roam the farm yard and nursery.
Breakfast, lunch or a light meal - they are all very good.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2020

What a surprise this little gem was. A restaurant with farm animals coming to say hello. A small Nursery to browse through. The food was good and the service excellent. Our Waitress was so friendly. The view of the Indian Ocean from the front stoep was lovely and I recommend you take binoculars so you can watch the fishing boats go by in the distance.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerolene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mathildaroos, Owner at Groeneweide Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

really appreciate your lovely review thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2020

A peaceful and absolutely awesome family place! Safe for kids and lets them experience farm animals. My kid can't wait to go back! The food was delicious and the view amazing.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Alethan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Groeneweide Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Groeneweide Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.