We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
StayForLong
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
321
69
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
321
69
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock pools other guests long table the main house swartberg mountains walking trails interesting people bird table breakfast and dinner dirt road night skies off grid bird life peace and quiet nature lovers buffet style amazing scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2021

What a wonderful setting and so so peaceful. A very friendly welcome, lovely accommodation and excellent food. A pity we could not enjoy the long walks because it rained (in the Karoo?!?!?!) but we did get to the dam and managed to have a quick dip in the pool. Thanks to Grant & Marie and Ronnie & Merle - I recommend this place to anyone looking for peace and quiet!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Widgey222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2021

The Retreat was a wonderful choice for our getaway trip. It was our first visit and a pleasant stop over en route to Cape Town. The property is absolutely beautiful and the walks are amazing. We especially enjoyed the walks in the mountain where you are completely surrounded by nature and absolute quiet. Dinner was an experience and it was nice to meet new people around one table. Unfortunately the atmosphere was dampened by the animosity between the two owners who seemed to be having a disagreement with one another. Such an unfortunate situation as it caused tension at the dinner table for everyone present. However we were so grateful for the management couple, Ronnie and Meryl for rescuing the mood with superb conversation and outstanding and professional service. Our suggestion would be that the owners, who are well into their golden years, perhaps take a step back and allow the more than capable managers to deal personally with the guests.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelingtimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021

We spent a wonderful long weekend at the Retreat. The service was excellent. Staff very friendly and accommodation comfortable and delicious meals. Close to nature. Good for the soul ! I do recommend for nature lovers.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dscronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie Holstensson, Owner at The Retreat at Groenfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2021

Thanks very much, Daan & Hanlé, for your extremely kind words! It was a great pleasure to host you and your charming youngsters. We look forward to another visit!
With best regards, Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2021

We loved Marie's quiet intelligence and her dignified, personal welcome as she showed us to our spacious room with a view of the mountain and the astonishingly well landscaped indigenous gardens. We were served with hot tea whilst we studied the information that is thoughtfully provided in the room and we enjoyed a magical walk along one of the well marked, picturesque trails before dinner. Marie and Grant are knowledgeable and courteous and they know exactly when to interact with guests, and when to leave them alone to enjoy the peaceful privacy of this wonderland. Dinner in the grand dining room and breakfast on the veranda were graciously served on collectors porcelain by excellent staff. We regretted having only one night to stay; the Retreat deserves longer, so that you can appreciate the rich bird life and vegetation outside, the objets dárt in the main house and the privacy and comfort of your luxury room whilst you benefit from stylish, satisfying meals in an authentic environment that is lovingly curated by two charming perfectionists.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Curiosity828477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie Holstensson, Owner at The Retreat at Groenfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Thank you VERY much for you most kind words! It was a great pleasure to meet you both and we are very happy that you enjoyed your brief stay! We hope to welcome you another time.
With many thanks and best regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2021

The perfect place to relax, rejuvenate and restore. Sublime mountain views, wonderful hikes, superb night skies and various ways to cool down. We tried the swimming pool, the dam and also the crystal clear rock pools up the valley. We enjoyed wholesome, generous and delicious meals served on the wide veranda of the main house and the interesting conversations of those sitting around the long table. Our request to be socially distanced because of Covid concerns, was graciously accommodated. Our beautifully appointed suite was comfortable and very spacious with sweeping views. The retreat is off-grid so there are no fridges or cooking facilities in the room, but tea and coffee can be brought to your veranda. Our hosts were charming and friendly and very accommodating. It was all very relaxed, beautiful, and low-key. A true retreat! We plan to return.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BridgetsBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie Holstensson, Owner at The Retreat at Groenfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Thank you VERY much Bridget and Graham for your kind review. It was a great pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to a return visit! We are pleased that you enjoyed our meals and swims in our dam, pool and rockpools!
With many thanks and best regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews