We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambience and good food”

Mrs Simpson's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Dullstroom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

We tried the grilled rib eye, lamb shank, Thai red chicken, mushroom pasta. All very good, but the clear winner was the lamb shank. For dessert, we had malva pudding and creme brule, both delicious!

Thank Colette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanwol, Owner at Mrs Simpson's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hello Colette,
I am pleased to read that all 4 meals were to your satisfaction, and that it was enjoyable.
Hope to see you soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Whilst in Dullstroom for the weekend, I was part of a group invited to have dinner there. The place has it’s charm to it, if it’s not the cat, the collection of items on the walls it definitely the owners of this place. The service was impeccable throughout the night. I felt the food was a let down, maybe I had high expectations. The zucchini soup was acceptable , the stuffed trout was not to my liking, presentation good, but the combination of the stuffing with the fish just did not hit it home. Dessert was an improvement. I guess I expected the food to be as charming as the place. The rest of the table, found the food good, no rave reviews though. The restaurant is fully booked so booking is essential. It’s an institution in the town, and worth the visit.

1  Thank Globaltrotter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanwol, Owner at Mrs Simpson's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear globetrotter 74,
Once again, an anonymous reviewer! How very strange that these days there are more and more roaming the streets of the earth, who are not prepared to be identified.
Apologies for your "high expectations let down", but if you bothered to tell the serving staff, perhaps it could have been rectified.
Thank you for mentioning our charming items and our cat.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

A great culinary experience at an amazing restaurant. Great ambiance and service. Definately worth a visit if you are in the area.

Thank Tessie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanwol, Owner at Mrs Simpson's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

thank you so much !!! you most welcome back anytime

Kind regards

Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch - the food was good, the staff mainly friendly (including the cat) and the atmosphere was very interesting.

Thank jandjadventures8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanwol, Owner at Mrs Simpson's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Hello Jan,
How kind of you to review our restaurant and your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back>
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is small and usually fully booked.
The menu is very limited with a few good dishes.
Service is poor unless you wait or yell to get it.
The chicken livers was excellent and the steak almost inedible.
I suspect the kitchen is nor very clean because I had to frequent the bathroom afterwards.
Won't go again.

Thank RestaurantAholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryanwol, Owner at Mrs Simpson's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Aaaahhh, another "foodie reviewer", not wanting to be identified!
Our limited menu ensures us that our guests get the best meal they choose, prepared on order, not kept in a warming oven. But that said, the choice is varied, maybe not that of all types of steaks, as you seem to enjoy. Steak is only cut on order, and the medical fraternity[department] have not heard of anybody iun the past having to go to the toilet directly after a meal. Maybe it was to the large amount of alcohol consumed with the delicious chicken livers.
You are welcome to visit the kitchen, oh, wait, you mentioned that you won't go again.
Happy travels on your "reviewing".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mrs Simpson's Restaurant also viewed

 
Dullstroom, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Mrs Simpson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing