We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Critchley Hackle Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Millstream Farm(Dullstroom)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Anglers Court(Dullstroom)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Cherry Grove(Dullstroom)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
76
85
35
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
85
35
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa small sitting areanice dinnersmall laketrout damrustic stylegreat view of the lakecold meatsboutique hotelrooms are greatunderfloor heatingthe cottagesold schoolbeautiful venuenext morningthe general managerfly fishingspent one night
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

A beautiful venue however I think the place needs a revamp. The decor is old and dreary and lacking some energy.
The staff were very friendly and service orientated. Food was good .
Rooms were clean and comfortable but I do think a fresher decor is required .

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank alegna63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

The restaurant at this boutique hotel in in the seriously upper class. Superbly presented delicious food, with an interestingly different wine list.
The hotel is set around a trout dam, right in the village - and has units for private ownership. Fantastic

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Wonderful week end in Dullstroom. Make sure you sample the Anvil ale, they received a gold medal for their beer. The location of Critchley Hackle is wonderful as you can walk to every shop in town. There is a Milleys trout shop just next to the lodge where you can buy fresh trout products.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Merel Jeanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I really hate giving poor reviews to places I have stayed over many years of travel to South Africa but for me Critchley Hackle lost its shine about 3 years ago. For years I use to stay here on my way to Kruger National Park - the village of Dullstroom was always enchanting with beautiful scenery and some quaint shops like Village ceramics ( which no longer exists). Apart from the fact Dullstroom has become very commercialised CH has changed management a couple of times.

This past October I thought I would give it another chance but alas was disappointed. Check in was ok and our Garden room was comfortable enough. I was however disappointed to be given a room with absolutely no view - although there was only 4 other rooms occupied when we were there. One of the beautiful things about this Lodge is the view of the lake - we couldn't book a lakeview room as they don'f fit children so had to settle for a garden room but some definitely have better views of the lake than others.

Dinner (3 courses) was ok but service so ridiculously slow - especially when only 3 other people eating dinner.Hate to think what happens when its full. My son was allowed to choose from the a la carte menu as I explained he would not be able to do justice to 3 courses. Next morning breakfast was so terrible had to actually send the eggs benedict with salmon back as inedible and my eggs was inedible but as I was anxious to get moving I just pushed it to the side. Shame as breakfast at CH used to be such a highlight.

My son did enjoy trying his hand at fly fishing on the lake for an hour and I was presented with a posy of fresh flowers picked from the garden for my birthday which was a lovely touch.

Our car wasn't washed on check out but we did leave at 9.am.

Overall too many service inconsistencies to rate higher and we won't be back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Imfundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This is such a tranqual and romantic place to spend some time. The buildings are beautiful and the staf friendly and very helpful. Treat your love one with a weekend at Chritchley. You can even try your hand at fly fishing. Dullstroom is a very popular place to visit and you can have a stroll around all the shops.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MildaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews