We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a very neat and friendly place”
Review of Kastelein B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kastelein B&B
Ranked #3 of 16 Pongola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Rooms are very modern air conditioned and clean.
Very friendly staff .The breakfast is of a very good stand
Evening meals are a round the conner at the Pongola Club
Also good rated and good food.
A very quaint place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Panini10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2016

We had a great surprise when we arrived at Kastelein B&B as we didi not imagine a place so beautiful can be found in a such a small settlement as Pongola. The property is astonishing and great attention to details was put in every part of the guesthouse and the surroundings. The owners are very kind and they welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. If I will ever pass through Pongola again, it will be my place of choice. Well done to Rene and her family.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Diana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Look no further than Kastelein for a quality B&B in Pongola. It is well situated close to the N2. Accommodation gardens and décor can easily don the best garden and home magazines.

The self catering units have a small kitchenette, lounge area, seating outside, amply space to move around and a comfortable queen size bed to have a good nights rest.

The rooms I have stayed in have bathrooms with showers as well as a Victorian style bath with claw feet.

There is a breakfast option that provides you with a good breakfast before you leave to explore the Pongola and Zululand area.

While I have travelled here for business I have met foreigners using Pongola as a stop over to the Kruger Park and other to the KwaZulu-Natal South coast.

PS there is a splash pool to cool off from the hot weather

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafiki77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

My wife and I were certainly very amazed with this beautiful guest house in Pongola. Well decorated room with ample space, well designed and you had the feeling of being home and not your normal guest house. We will definitely visit Kastelein again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Just spent the night driving through but I am so happy with my stay. I chose a garden room, which was full of windows & felt like a studio apartment. Beautifully decorated, clawfoot tub, little kitchenette with dishes, microwave, & small frig. It also had a seating area to watch tv & table to eat. The breakfast (additional cost) was worth it because I wouldn't have known where to eat out nearby. Loved my stay!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Karen317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pongola hotels
0.7 km away
The Guest House Pongola
The Guest House Pongola
#4 of 16 in Pongola
30 reviews
0.3 km away
Elegant Lodge
Elegant Lodge
#7 of 16 in Pongola
18 reviews
27.4 km away
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
#5 of 16 in Pongola
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Pongola Country Lodge
Pongola Country Lodge
#7 of 10 in Pongola
41 reviews
1.2 km away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#1 of 16 in Pongola
87 reviews
20.8 km away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastelein B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastelein B&B

Address: Dr. Jansen street 176, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Pongola
Price Range: R791 - R1 110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KASTELEIN is a charming little guesthouse for the more discerning traveller. It is situated in a quiet side street in Pongola, directly off the N2 Highway between the Northern Provinces and the coastal areas of KwaZulu-Natal or Mozambique. Our guests find it a perfect midway stopover. The distinguished and brand new colonial style building is set in a unique landmark garden, a sought-after venue for photo shoots of special occasions. There are five bedrooms, sleeping twelve guests at maximum capacity, which means it is never crowded, with personal attention to every guest by hosts Rene, Danie and Chris. Four rooms are in the new building and the de-lux room is adjacent to the main house, with its own private entrance and court yard. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, the rooms are elegantly furnished, the garden is picture perfect and the cuisine is unpretentious but hearty and plentiful. There is a small pool and safe off street parking. The premises are completely protected by an effective security system. Much care was taken to clad the rooms luxuriously, yet with no unnecessary fuss or frills. We take pride in our immaculate white linen and soft sterilised towels. There is a queen size bed in every room with an extra single bed in one of the rooms and an extra double bed in another. Each room has a full bathroom, kitchenette for basic self-catering, air conditioning, TV, sitting area and a garden view. All amenities are provided, as well as a pretty basket containing a continental breakfast to enjoy in the privacy of the guests' own room or patio. The breakfast room is inside the main house, should a guest prefer a traditional cooked breakfast or dinner by prior arrangement. Free Wi-Fi is available in the de-lux room adjacent to the main house, as well as in the public areas. Kastelein offers value for money. We are one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kastelein B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing