We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful discovery”
Review of Kastelein B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kastelein B&B
Ranked #4 of 16 Pongola B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 December 2015

Four of us were travelling through South Africa recently and came upon this fantastic B and B. Originally we were going to stay for one night but ended up staying for three, and if we hadnt had a time schedule to keep we might have stayed longer! The rooms were spacious and unbelievably beautiful, decorated throughout in whites, creams and greys, and all equipped to the highest standard. Rene and Dani, our hosts, plus their charming son made us extremely welcome and bent over backwards to make our stay as memorable as possible. We ate 'in house' on one evening and enjoyed a great dinner. The property is set in a beautifully manicured garden with a small and attractive swimming pool. This brand new place deserves all possible accolades.

Room Tip: All the rooms are attractive and are set around the garden.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CBEGocek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Kastelein B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights with 2 couples in this brand new B&B. Rene and Danny are very friendly and helpful.
Great breakfasts and dinner if you like! The rooms are spacious and spotless clean. Ask for a tour in the sugar mill, we thought that the 2-hour tour was amazing. We learned a lot about
farming and processing sugar cane.

Rene and Danny: Thank you very much and good luck.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

On our way to St. Lucia the four of us spent a quiet night in Pongola. The rooms were excellent, our hosts were very friendly, after we arrived they ordered pizzas for us and in the morning we had a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms all look new and comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gerard994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We stayed at Kastelein and what a surprise! Brand new, clean, friendly, spacious units located close to the main roads between Saldanha/Johannesburg/Vryheid. Rene/Danie thanks for your warm hospitality, felt like a second home. A place where you arrive as a visitor and leave as family. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Henric0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pongola hotels
1.2 km away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#1 of 16 in Pongola
84 reviews
0.7 km away
The Guest House Pongola
The Guest House Pongola
#3 of 16 in Pongola
29 reviews
0.3 km away
Elegant Lodge
Elegant Lodge
#6 of 16 in Pongola
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
1.2 km away
Aber Jetz Guesthouse
Aber Jetz Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Pongola
38 reviews
27.7 km away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastelein B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastelein B&B

Address: Dr. Jansen street 176, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Pongola
Price Range: R795 - R1 126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KASTELEIN is a charming little guesthouse for the more discerning traveller. It is situated in a quiet side street in Pongola, directly off the N2 Highway between the Northern Provinces and the coastal areas of KwaZulu-Natal or Mozambique. Our guests find it a perfect midway stopover. The distinguished and brand new colonial style building is set in a unique landmark garden, a sought-after venue for photo shoots of special occasions. There are five bedrooms, sleeping twelve guests at maximum capacity, which means it is never crowded, with personal attention to every guest by hosts Rene, Danie and Chris. Four rooms are in the new building and the de-lux room is adjacent to the main house, with its own private entrance and court yard. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, the rooms are elegantly furnished, the garden is picture perfect and the cuisine is unpretentious but hearty and plentiful. There is a small pool and safe off street parking. The premises are completely protected by an effective security system. Much care was taken to clad the rooms luxuriously, yet with no unnecessary fuss or frills. We take pride in our immaculate white linen and soft sterilised towels. There is a queen size bed in every room with an extra single bed in one of the rooms and an extra double bed in another. Each room has a full bathroom, kitchenette for basic self-catering, air conditioning, TV, sitting area and a garden view. All amenities are provided, as well as a pretty basket containing a continental breakfast to enjoy in the privacy of the guests' own room or patio. The breakfast room is inside the main house, should a guest prefer a traditional cooked breakfast or dinner by prior arrangement. Free Wi-Fi is available in the de-lux room adjacent to the main house, as well as in the public areas. Kastelein offers value for money. We are one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kastelein B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing