We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Ntonga Recreation Club
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Pongola
Cuisines: American, French
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Was referred here by Aber Jets guest house. The décor is very dated and it feels like an old club of the 70's / 80's. The food though is great and fantastic value for money

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Rijan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NtongaManager, General Manager at Ntonga Recreation Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for your review Rijan K. We pride ourselves on the Standard of food served at the Ntonga Recreation Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Walked in and waiter took the order. I waited more than 20 when a second table of 4 people walked in. They took that tables order and that table were served before us, not only that but I called the waiter several times and she kept on saying it's on it after is way.... after 1 hour waiting, we basically left. On our way the waiter said the food is on its way, but we had enough.

Date of visit: February 2016
3  Thank KwalalaLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

when I was here all the curtains were closed in the section I ate in. ...so me who likes wide expansive views found this disappointing.

getting here is not difficult but it did not pick up on my gps. ... just go to the sugar mill outside pongola on the road towards durban.

I was served very quickly. The menu looked wide but nothing particularly unusual.

I ordered the steak rossini and while the steak was nicely done. ..The chicken livers were ok...not great.

The wine list looks ok but I would suggest bring your own wine if you are so inspired. ...don't know what their corkage policy is like.

given that I was unable to find another place within 40km of the guest house I was staying at. ..unless you want a fast food place in pongola this looks like the only and therefore the best on offer in pongola.... but as far as part of the top 100 of restaurants in South Africa goes. ..I would say not yet. ... basic functional is the impression it has left me with.

Date of visit: September 2015
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2015

This is a very good sugar mill club restaurant that is open to the public. On the Durban side of the N2, before reaching Pongola, turn left at the signs for the sugar mill. Not much else in Pongola other than the standard fast food chains, which makes this worth coming to if overnighting in Pongola. A diverse menu catering for most tastes. Friendly staff and clean restaurant. Priced for an out-in-the-country sugar mill or mine club - really great value wine and T-bone steak. Food tasty. One cannot compare this to a big city restaurant / steak house. It is very good for what it is, a club restaurant close to the sugar fields and sugar mill. Yes, I would certainly eat here again and recommend it.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank capeintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2015

if u tired of take aways and there isnt much of that in Pongola then Ntonga Club Restaurant is for you. the chicken and prawn curry was absolutely divine. the desserts are of a lower standard then their food but altogether was good. the staff at the club was friendly, there is a play area for the kids and a pool .

Date of visit: January 2015
1  Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ntonga Recreation Club also viewed

Sodwana, KwaZulu-Natal

Been to Ntonga Recreation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.