We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ghost Mountain Inn(Mkuze)(Great Value!)
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$117
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elegant Lodge(Pongola)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kastelein B&B(Pongola)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House Pongola(Pongola)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dive Inn Bed and Breakfast(Pongola)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
238
11
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
11
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergame driveshoneymoon suitehigh teaattention to detailherd of elephantsmorning drivesafari lodgehot water bottlesamazing experiencesense of humoursouth africacourse dinnerplunge poolfood was amazinglarge deckcoffee break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Amakhosi will always stay in our hearts!

I planned to propose my girlfriend in Amakhosi Safari and was so thrilled that it all went according to plan. Sonja, Lindo and the team were incredible and made our 3 nights stay so memorable in this amazing Honeymoon Suite.

The food was so tasty and was different every day, they also pleased my fiance with her Vegan diet, huge thanks to Lauren. We were privileged to be with Sipho and Mandla for our game drive and we managed to see so many animals. Sipho told us so many great stories about trees, birds and spirituals beliefs. We will never forget this experience ever.

Thanks again to the all team.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sylvainflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Now this made my day! We are all so happy that your special occasion was just that and we wish you all the best for the future. Thank you for taking the time to post the review we really appreciate it and we have passed a copy of your review to all department heads and our owners for the well deserved acknowledgements. We hope that you return for your wedding ;) or honeymoon! all the best from the entire team and hope to see you soon. Fond regards the AMA TEAM!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Amakhosi is special - you feel it as you drive up to it and the accommodation is fantastic. The view of the river from the main reception and the river lodges is wonderful and make for some good game viewing. The really special feature for me was the game drives with Sipho. One has to appreciate you cannot see game all the time but with Sipho there was always something to look at and the stories he tells of trees, bees and birds are as fascinating as the game viewing.
The food was excellent, the service in the main delightful and all were trying to please. Yes there were one or two training issues but management were pleased to get the feedback and I am sure will use the opportunity to make things even better.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Wow what a lovely review and thank you ! we think Amakhosi is special but makes our day to hear it from someone else. Sipho is wonderful and we never get tired of hearing his stories, as they are so fascinating and they are stories from his incredible family history! in fact we are thinking of giving him a feature on Social media. Thank you for the feedback, in order to keep up our standard we NEED feedback, this makes us up our game where needed. Hope to see you soon and fond regards from the Ama Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Staff were amazing, and very polite. The food was fantastic, and the game guides and trackers knowledgeable and good company. Accomodation was nice and private and game sightings were out of this world. Limited number of guests, so very personal, All round the place to go.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Lovely surprise for a Friday to find a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to post this review and for the kind words, this is much appreciated by the entire team and hope that next you are in our area, you do in fact return for a visit. Fond regards the Amakhosi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had only two days to explore the vast game territory of Amakhosi Safari Lodge. But with the super ranger Daglan and tracker Jeremy we've spotted all animals. Not only the big ones like the rhino's, buffalo's. giraffes and elephants, but also the lions, cheetahs and hyenas, and even a chameleon in pitch dark. Thank you Jeremy and Daglan for these special game drives.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmjwaals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to post this, it is so important for the team to hear that they made your stay a memorable one. We have passed on your compliments to our management for their action and we hope that you do return for a longer stay.. Fond regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Everything about our stay was perfect - the rooms were divine : roomy , comfortable , luxurious (relaxing in the spa whilst a hippo walked by)
The food was excellent - the wine list was small , the wines excellent , the prices very reasonable.
The staff were outstanding.
Our guide , Jacques , was funny , friendly , hospitable & very knowledgeable on fauna , flora & culture. We saw so many animals - amazingly close & diverse.
I could not suggest any improvements

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wildcrazygoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Great way to start my Friday with such a lovely review, thank you so much and we are so happy that you did enjoy your stay and even managed to relax with a hippo sighting!! We appreciate you mentioning all the departments that made your stay a memorable one and we have passed on your compliments to our management and owners. We hope the next time you are in our area that you do visit us again. Fond Regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews