We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Amakhosi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing Amakhosi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from three amazingly wonderfull days at Amakhosi lodge. As we drove into the lodge our safari started, we saw elephant, giraff, zebra, worthog and many antilopes on our way in.
We were lucky to have Pierre as our safari guide and Mangla as our tracker. Pierre has an impressive knowledge of animals, birds, trees and tracks. He is outgoing and always looking to give us the best experience every gamedrive. We would recommend that others ask for Pierre when they want a family friendly guide who is willing to share his vast knowledge about the bush and all the wonderfull animals.

We did see lots and lots of animals as other reviewers have noted, and all the animals seemed healty, calm and Happy. Specially had amazing encounters with a lion family, elephant family and cheetas!!!

When not on gamedrives we really enjoyed the lodge, the spa, the terrace with beautiful views of the river. We were fortunate and stayed at the private house and really enjoyed the privacy and the beauty of the nature around.

Everyone who works at Amakhosi are serviceminded and smiling, they made us feel very welcome. One big Thanks to the chef who made the most delicious glutenfree and dairyfree food for us, I am Sorry I did not talk to the chef to show our gratitude, but every little detail was perfect. My daughter even had glutenfree cupcakes for morning safari and she was incredibly pleased with that! Thank you all so much for an amazing experience!

Stayed April 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrsholidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Wow what a wonderful way to start my morning after the Easter weekend, thank you from the bottom of our hearts for this wonderful and detailed feedback, this makes it all worthwhile knowing that you have returned home with amazing memories of your stay with us. We have made sure that a copy of this review is sent to all departments and to our owners for acknowledgements and to pass on the well deserved compliments to the team, We hope that one day you return to our little piece of paradise for a visit. Fond regards The AMA team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    10
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
113
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Amakhosi will always stay in our hearts!

I planned to propose my girlfriend in Amakhosi Safari and was so thrilled that it all went according to plan. Sonja, Lindo and the team were incredible and made our 3 nights stay so memorable in this amazing Honeymoon Suite.

The food was so tasty and was different every day, they also pleased my fiance with her Vegan diet, huge thanks to Lauren. We were privileged to be with Sipho and Mandla for our game drive and we managed to see so many animals. Sipho told us so many great stories about trees, birds and spirituals beliefs. We will never forget this experience ever.

Thanks again to the all team.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvainflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Now this made my day! We are all so happy that your special occasion was just that and we wish you all the best for the future. Thank you for taking the time to post the review we really appreciate it and we have passed a copy of your review to all department heads and our owners for the well deserved acknowledgements. We hope that you return for your wedding ;) or honeymoon! all the best from the entire team and hope to see you soon. Fond regards the AMA TEAM!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amakhosi is special - you feel it as you drive up to it and the accommodation is fantastic. The view of the river from the main reception and the river lodges is wonderful and make for some good game viewing. The really special feature for me was the game drives with Sipho. One has to appreciate you cannot see game all the time but with Sipho there was always something to look at and the stories he tells of trees, bees and birds are as fascinating as the game viewing.
The food was excellent, the service in the main delightful and all were trying to please. Yes there were one or two training issues but management were pleased to get the feedback and I am sure will use the opportunity to make things even better.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Wow what a lovely review and thank you ! we think Amakhosi is special but makes our day to hear it from someone else. Sipho is wonderful and we never get tired of hearing his stories, as they are so fascinating and they are stories from his incredible family history! in fact we are thinking of giving him a feature on Social media. Thank you for the feedback, in order to keep up our standard we NEED feedback, this makes us up our game where needed. Hope to see you soon and fond regards from the Ama Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2017

Staff were amazing, and very polite. The food was fantastic, and the game guides and trackers knowledgeable and good company. Accomodation was nice and private and game sightings were out of this world. Limited number of guests, so very personal, All round the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Lovely surprise for a Friday to find a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to post this review and for the kind words, this is much appreciated by the entire team and hope that next you are in our area, you do in fact return for a visit. Fond regards the Amakhosi team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had only two days to explore the vast game territory of Amakhosi Safari Lodge. But with the super ranger Daglan and tracker Jeremy we've spotted all animals. Not only the big ones like the rhino's, buffalo's. giraffes and elephants, but also the lions, cheetahs and hyenas, and even a chameleon in pitch dark. Thank you Jeremy and Daglan for these special game drives.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmjwaals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to post this, it is so important for the team to hear that they made your stay a memorable one. We have passed on your compliments to our management for their action and we hope that you do return for a longer stay.. Fond regards the Amakhosi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
36.3 km away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
16.1 km away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
25.7 km away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
39.7 km away
African Spirit Game Lodge
22.2 km away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#1 of 16 in Pongola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakhosi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Property: Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Pongola
Price range (per night): R4 871 - R17 419
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing