We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwalala Lodge(Pongola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
239
12
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
12
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergame driveshoneymoon suitehigh teaattention to detailherd of elephantsmorning drivesafari lodgehot water bottlesamazing experiencesense of humoursouth africacourse dinnerplunge poolfood was amazinglarge deckcoffee break
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had only two days to explore the vast game territory of Amakhosi Safari Lodge. But with the super ranger Daglan and tracker Jeremy we've spotted all animals. Not only the big ones like the rhino's, buffalo's. giraffes and elephants, but also the lions, cheetahs and hyenas, and even a chameleon in pitch dark. Thank you Jeremy and Daglan for these special game drives.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmjwaals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to post this, it is so important for the team to hear that they made your stay a memorable one. We have passed on your compliments to our management for their action and we hope that you do return for a longer stay.. Fond regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Everything about our stay was perfect - the rooms were divine : roomy , comfortable , luxurious (relaxing in the spa whilst a hippo walked by)
The food was excellent - the wine list was small , the wines excellent , the prices very reasonable.
The staff were outstanding.
Our guide , Jacques , was funny , friendly , hospitable & very knowledgeable on fauna , flora & culture. We saw so many animals - amazingly close & diverse.
I could not suggest any improvements

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wildcrazygoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Great way to start my Friday with such a lovely review, thank you so much and we are so happy that you did enjoy your stay and even managed to relax with a hippo sighting!! We appreciate you mentioning all the departments that made your stay a memorable one and we have passed on your compliments to our management and owners. We hope the next time you are in our area that you do visit us again. Fond Regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

What an amazing experience. From the start we were welcomed with big smiles. The hospitality is amazing. This lodge definitely pays attention to detail. The food is exceptional. The rooms are very spacious and private with an outdoor shower. The rangers are very professional and I felt very safe with the rangers even when we had close encounters with the lions and elephant. The staff is extremely friendly and I truly had a wonderful African experience. We did not have the best weather however the lodge did accommodate us with game drives and we had amazing sightings. During the day it's very peaceful so bring along some books and your binoculars. There is a swimming pool to keep kids busy however I won't recommend for small children.
Thank you for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moniquebekker0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thank you and thank you again for taking the time to post such a lovely review we really appreciate it and really happy that you had a wonderful experience. We hope that next time you are in our area you visit us again. Fond Regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

If you're looking for a bush experience like no other, where you are guaranteed outstanding service from arrival to departure, food that will delight your taste buds, restful nights sleep and game viewing sightings beyond your wildest imagination - look no further. Amakhosi not only met my expectations, but exceeded them. I would highly recommend it to anyone who was looking for some much needed time away. I look forward to returning one day, someday soon.

Room Tip: Beware of the notice advising of Bushbabies and don't leave out any tasty treats!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loryn1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thank yo so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post this lovely review, we really appreciate it and so do the entire team, it is what motivates us even more to give of our best, as we want our guests to leave as friends and with memorable experiences. Hope to see you soon again Fond regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We had the most beautiful stay at Amakhosi. On arrival, we felt welcome immediately and for the entire stay the staff were friendly and accommodating. Nothing was too much for them. Our ranger S'bu was so professional and so kind. We felt completely safe with him on our game drives and were in awe of his knowledge of the bush and the surroundings. Our tracker, Zakhele was also brilliant. The lodge offers 5 star accommodations, with views of the river- the most tranquil spot to watch wildlife. And what can I say about the food- wow! Lindo was also fantastic. Thank you Amakhosi!

Room Tip: All rover view suites face the river
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolene_Campbell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Wow what a stunning review, thank you for taking the time to post it, we are really happy that you had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed every aspect of our property, we hope that this has left you wanting more and that we see you soon again. Fond Regards the Amakhosi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews