We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Staff were amazing, and very polite. The food was fantastic, and the game guides and trackers knowledgeable and good company. Accomodation was nice and private and game sightings were out of this world. Limited number of guests, so very personal, All round the place to go.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Lovely surprise for a Friday to find a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to post this review and for the kind words, this is much appreciated by the entire team and hope that next you are in our area, you do in fact return for a visit. Fond regards the Amakhosi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had only two days to explore the vast game territory of Amakhosi Safari Lodge. But with the super ranger Daglan and tracker Jeremy we've spotted all animals. Not only the big ones like the rhino's, buffalo's. giraffes and elephants, but also the lions, cheetahs and hyenas, and even a chameleon in pitch dark. Thank you Jeremy and Daglan for these special game drives.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmjwaals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to post this, it is so important for the team to hear that they made your stay a memorable one. We have passed on your compliments to our management for their action and we hope that you do return for a longer stay.. Fond regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Everything about our stay was perfect - the rooms were divine : roomy , comfortable , luxurious (relaxing in the spa whilst a hippo walked by)
The food was excellent - the wine list was small , the wines excellent , the prices very reasonable.
The staff were outstanding.
Our guide , Jacques , was funny , friendly , hospitable & very knowledgeable on fauna , flora & culture. We saw so many animals - amazingly close & diverse.
I could not suggest any improvements

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wildcrazygoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Great way to start my Friday with such a lovely review, thank you so much and we are so happy that you did enjoy your stay and even managed to relax with a hippo sighting!! We appreciate you mentioning all the departments that made your stay a memorable one and we have passed on your compliments to our management and owners. We hope the next time you are in our area that you do visit us again. Fond Regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

What an amazing experience. From the start we were welcomed with big smiles. The hospitality is amazing. This lodge definitely pays attention to detail. The food is exceptional. The rooms are very spacious and private with an outdoor shower. The rangers are very professional and I felt very safe with the rangers even when we had close encounters with the lions and elephant. The staff is extremely friendly and I truly had a wonderful African experience. We did not have the best weather however the lodge did accommodate us with game drives and we had amazing sightings. During the day it's very peaceful so bring along some books and your binoculars. There is a swimming pool to keep kids busy however I won't recommend for small children.
Thank you for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moniquebekker0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thank you and thank you again for taking the time to post such a lovely review we really appreciate it and really happy that you had a wonderful experience. We hope that next time you are in our area you visit us again. Fond Regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

If you're looking for a bush experience like no other, where you are guaranteed outstanding service from arrival to departure, food that will delight your taste buds, restful nights sleep and game viewing sightings beyond your wildest imagination - look no further. Amakhosi not only met my expectations, but exceeded them. I would highly recommend it to anyone who was looking for some much needed time away. I look forward to returning one day, someday soon.

Room Tip: Beware of the notice advising of Bushbabies and don't leave out any tasty treats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loryn1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Thank yo so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post this lovely review, we really appreciate it and so do the entire team, it is what motivates us even more to give of our best, as we want our guests to leave as friends and with memorable experiences. Hope to see you soon again Fond regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
36.3 km away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
429 reviews
16.1 km away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
25.7 km away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
39.7 km away
African Spirit Game Lodge
37.9 km away
Mavela Game Lodge
Mavela Game Lodge
#3 of 9 in Mkuze
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakhosi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Pongola
Price Range: R6 887 - R18 543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing