We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$118
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kastelein B&B(Pongola)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House Pongola(Pongola)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ghost Mountain Inn(Mkuze)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elegant Lodge(Pongola)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
238
11
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
11
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergame driveshoneymoon suitehigh teaattention to detailherd of elephantsmorning drivesafari lodgehot water bottlesamazing experiencesense of humoursouth africacourse dinnerplunge poolfood was amazinglarge deckcoffee break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Everything was perfect, from the accommodation to the food and game tours. The staff were efficient and friendly and the entire experience was superb. Our ranger Declan, and spotter Jeremy were both absolutely wonderful and Declan's all-round knowledge of the flora and fauna was shared with both intelligence and humour and was the 'cherry on the top' of our Amakhosi trip!
Just one handy hint for the unwary - shut all drawers and suitcases and lock up the tea/coffee/sugar tray when you leave your rooms as the bush babies are regular visitors and their eating and toilet habits leave much to be desired !

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireSmylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

What a lovely review, we are so happy that you have left Amakhosi with great memories and and all round good experience. Thank you for your comments our our tracking team and food and a copy of this review has been sent to management, so thank you again. I did have a giggle at your tip on our mischievous bush babies, but as much as they are just so naughty, I appreciate them even more now, knowing that they are free to roam and cause mischief, having just returned from a trip to Thailand where these poor creatures are taken away from their mother at birth or the mothers even killed and then are used as tourist attractions, it is so cruel and infuriating and wished we could have saved them all. So next time I lose my dessert to a bush baby, I will just recall my recent experience. We hope that next you are in our area that you visit us again, fond regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Oh Wow, this place is just incredible in every way.
Let me start off by saying the Managers are incredible they are there and spoil you non stop. The Chef, is probably the best kept secret, the food is phenominal, modern without being OTT. The fresh Strawberries at breakfast were the best and sweetest and freshest I have ever eaten, the fruit was better than any fruit I have ever eaten, even better than fruit on a recent trip to Sweden! And this is the middle of Africa.
Game viewing unbelievable, Lion with Cubs, Jackal with cubs, leopard , cheetah, elephant encounter better than any where else I have stayed, buffalo herd, just spectacular. Accommadation is up there with the best! JUST GO!

Room Tip: Book the villa for a treat!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OBumhlangaRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Wow, what a wonderful way to return to work today with all these great reviews, THANK you for taking the time to post this AMAZING review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our management and staff ( I do personally think the best team around ) , a copy of this review has been forwarded to our owners. We agree Chef is "our" best kept secret! we love her to bits and she never ceases to amaze us with her culinary delights. We are so pleased that you managed to see the Ama babies (cubs) at the moment the reserve is full of young life and it is just too precious. Hope that you come back and visit us soon. Fond regards from the entire Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

This was an absolutely amazing experience! Really nice safari and knowledgeable rangers. Have been to many safaris and NEVER have I been as close to the animals as at Amakhosi. There is a reason why I have been to Amakhosi 5 times! It's just an incredible place, also the food is top notch!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Henrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

We loved your review and so happy that you keep coming back for more, please don't stop! This is what is all about and makes our work all that more worthwhile, making sure that guests leave as friends with great memories. Till we see you again, fond regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We had limited time in South Africa and wanted to give our teenage kids a taste of an authentic African style safari lodge. Amakhosi did not disappoint, with exciting game viewing with enthusiastic and knowledgeable rangers, wonderful food, and comfortable and clean accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you chose to spend you short time in South Africa with us and that we did not disappoint you and hopefully your family left with great memorable moments of their stay at Amakhosi. We hope that your next trip is longer and that you come back and visit us. Best regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Overall this is a superb lodge that is well run by a well drilled and friendly team. In my opinion this lodge offers something for the seasoned safari addict and first timers.

Too often when I read reviews of lodges I note that the star grading is given on 'sightings' and from people who dont understand animal behaviour or the ability of lodges to manage game density. Amakhosi does have sufficient game to make any drive worthwhile so please dont let any review that queries that put you off.

The lodge is a good 3.5 hours from Durban and most of the drive is on good roads. We found the high clearance of an SUV better than a saloon for the last few kilometres.

We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites and it was extremely well appointed and kept very clean (despite my best attempts!). The plunge pool and hammock were well used as it was very hot.

The food was sublime and plentiful. In fact we missed out on lunch (which will be provided on request) every day. The highlight of the days food was dinner. Whilst it was not 'safari' food it was some of the best we have eaten at any lodge. The Pork Belly was superb as was everything else.

The whole team were wonderful and in particular our guide and tracker Sipho and Sabelo were a great team and worked well together. Both were quick to smile and were good enough to let me snap away for hours at animals that most might find 'boring'. To see Sipho dancing in the rain in utter joy at a break from the drought is an image we will remember for a long time.

The sightings were great and we saw some very unusual things from tiny to large. My advice to anyone going on a safari is to put the books away and stop ticking the 'big five' list and just enjoy it. Try asking your guide to tell you about the whole ecosystem and not a small fraction of it. Some of the animals are collared but that is to with studies and as part of game management, The review that states they track via these collars day to day is not true.

In summary this is a little jewel and like all jewels it might be 'small' but holds some pretty fantastic secrets

Room Tip: The honeymoon suites are just that bit more special
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davidiafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhositeam, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

What a wonderful way to start my day back at work with one of the most amazing reviews, having just come back from a trip to Thailand and witness total disregard for our precious wild life, I value even more working with a team that values conservation and truly treasures our wildlife. It is alway so difficult to please everyone and it is truly wonderful to have our own guests appreciate and understand, that is it more than just a game reserve with wildlife, it is all ABOUT the wild life, the conservation and ensuring that we are not a zoo and it is also not all about the big 5, some of my most memorable moments have been with many other wild life encounters. Thank you so much for the comments on our food, this has made Chef even happier, as she truly tries to make every meal a memorable one and a copy of your review is already up on the staff board. Sipho is a true character and his rain dancing is notorious, you should have seen him and the staff singing and dancing when the river filled up and came down, along with the hippo singing for joy, wow that was a moment, we do have a wonderful team and thank you for all your kind comments, we have sent a copy of this review to our owners. We hope that you come and spend some more time with us in the near future. Fond regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews