We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Highly recommend this company

We did a 2 dive trip. The coral Gardens were spectacular, untouched reef in pristine condition... read more

Reviewed 24 April 2023
Darryl J
via mobile
Fantastic!!

Excellent dive charter in a perfect location. The east coast on Tahiti Iti has the most pristine... read more

Reviewed 6 February 2021
alexmZ5117NR
via mobile
Read all 24 reviews
  
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
23
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
23
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We had an amazing week staying at Rocktail and diving with Mokarran on the north coast of Kwazulu Natal South Africa. Super professional team - they looked after us really well, safety conscious, very friendly and really made effort to point out lots of critters. They even served us breakfast on the dune overlooking the empty beach and magnificent sea while whales breached on the horizon. The reefs are spectacular and pristine in this protected reserve - Tons of life! Even saw a humpback whale and her calf cruising by at the safety stop. Their rental gear is in great condition, big spacious dingie / zodiac, comfortable facilities. All round a world class experience - thank you for a memorable time!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Jeanine_Richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Had the best 4 dives with Mokarran. Great dive centre in a most unique location. Great eye for detail, very professional instructor and dive master, excellent skipper. Amazing underwater fauna and flora. Dived with humpback whales, sharks and saw so much more. Highly recommended. Go in August when the whales migrate.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank OlmovonMeijenfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Mokarran staff and dive experience not only compares, but in mist instances it is far superior to anything found anywhere else in the world. Competent friendly dive masters, brilliant skippers and well maintained equipment. The reefs are awesome and secluded.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Johann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2016

We did two dives with Ondine and Darryl during our stay at Rocktail Camp. The dive center is great – it is being run very professionally and equipment is in great condition. Transport from camp to boat was well organised with a 4x4 (around 10 mins). Dive groups were always small (max. we had was 5 divers and a guide). We had lovely dives, seeing a gigantic loggerhead male and some impressive potato basses. On our way back to the beach, we even had dolphins joining us! One of the mornings, we actually found the dive school having prepared a breakfast for our group just on the beach, in the shadow of some trees – what a perfect start into the day! Absolutely special was also seeing a baby turtle making its way from the dunes to the sea – checking the nest, we found 40-50 more. We had the pleasure of guiding them safely to the sea!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Sky_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Dived there a while back...
Well, we gushed all over you while we were there, now we’re just putting spoken words to paper! Our stay at Rocktail was enhanced by the passion, knowledge and professionalism of Mokarran Dive Charter. Absolutely 7 *s.

More over you folk are real mensch (good solid folk)! Friendly, helpful and made everyone feel safe and secure.Thanks for sharing your world, it certainly made our stay very memorable. The Dive centre is very well equipped with good equipment. This is luxury diving as everything is taken care of. You simply arrive - with your dive card...they are strict about this and for good reason!!! No card, no dive!!!

The variety and quality of the reefs are impeccable! Best we have ever dived on, then and subsequently. At the time we had been diving for about 15 years and even now after 25 years of scuba diving, we still have the best memories from a 7 days at Rocktail and with Mokarran. Some of the highlights were the resident honeycomb moray eel, the changing colour of soft coral, seeing humpback whales, green, loggerhead and leatherback turtles, rays, both electric and marbled. We saw starfish varieties never before seen, in particular the huge blue one, talking of huge – saw the largest parrot fish todate and of course my nudibranchs [Chromodoris hamiltoni, Halgerda dichromis and the swimming Bornella Anguilla!!!!- . We were in awe of the mantis shrimp, geometric eels, devil firefish, scorpionfish and fell in love with Boris…RIP Boris....and so, so much more!

If you're going to choose to scuba diving in Southern Africa and want excellent value for money as well as dive instructor who KNOW their reefs and the inhabitants then look no further. This is a Gem to be treasured.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank SheenaBz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews