We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveller rating
771
70
14
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
771
70
14
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool game drives wild dogs the reserve safari lodge outdoor shower kids activities watering hole common areas his job the entire staff spent nights his knowledge an amazing experience field guide south africa dream come true
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 868 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2020

Our ranger became our one-on-one hospitality throughout the trip from game drives, special requests to being there to chat with us during dinner. Wonderful kids care was a benefit as well giving them a daily kids game drive.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank K_Otto_2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

This is probably the one thing everyone must do in their life time. This trip was amazing and it was all due to the staff here at the Madikwe Safari Lodge and our ranger JP. Hats off to all of them for making this trip an exciting one to remember This was our first ever safari trip and we are glad to have spent it here.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chiragmehta2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

Madikwe is in our blood now and we returned as a family for our third stay. Some of the staff have moved - onwards and upwards - but we saw some familiar faces and everyone was super friendly and lovely. This is a lodge that prides itself on their personal touch, their flexibility and care, and a very high level of service and yet again they met all targets.
We like to think we are low maintenance guests - we are there for the animals primarily but like to be comfortable. Our guide was wonderful but we knew that as we requested him especially - he has a special place in our hearts and I'm not sure we could even do a safari without Luke - something would be missing!
There were tears all round when we left and the memories will be with us for the rest of our lives. We will be back - that is certain. just need to start saving the Rand again.
From the sightings side we saw so much - lions, cheetah, buffalo, wild dogs, spotted hyena, brown hyena, caracal, wild cat, genet, rhino, as well as giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, warthogs, jackal, elephants, python, monitor lizard, etc etc and lots and lotzs of birds

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

A fantastic safari experience with fantastic staff. The food and beverages were excellent. The game drives were excellent and the staff were excellent in the delivery of their knowledge.
The stops for sun downers and pre breakfast coffee and snacks was excellent.

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGTGRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020

Exceeded our expectations in every respect: game drives, accommodation, the lodge staff and food. Incredible game sightings, memorable sunsets and sunrises, drinks and snacks in the bush - a unique and unforgettable experience.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mdamelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews