We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveldelightbb
Johannesburg, South Africa

Generous and Highly recommended

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Apr 2024via mobile
Lovely stay!
What a surprise at Impodima...
Our arrival was seamless with Duncan who gave us a brief run down of the lodge and introduced us to the Hide which is a spontaneous animal viewing sanctuary. We were blessed to see rhino, antelope, elephants and warthogs there.
Housekeeping at Impodima is impeccable and I will go as far as to say that their hygiene levels are excellent. This is one of the cleanest and well maintained lodges we have stayed at. Rooms are spacious and simply decorated with a functional bathroom and private deck. There is an evening turn down service and towels are replenished often. Double vanity and two showers as well as a comfy bath makes for complete practicality. I do feel the toilet should be separate for obvious privacy. A simple tea and coffee station with rusks and sweet biscuits is also available although there is a dire need for quality coffee and a Nespresso machine is recommended.
The bed is comfortable with quality linen.
Breakfasts are good and the dinners, although presented well, lack flavour or at times, seriously over-seasoned. The pastry/dessert department does an incredible job - thank you!
Game drive snacks are Hit and Miss with cold, hot snacks and limited biltong/droe wors. The house wine Le Petit is acidic and needs an upgrade.
Game drives are generous and formative. We saw the Big 5 and found our ranger, Ben to be knowledgeable, endearing and passionate about the bush and his guests. Sam the tracker is a great team worker and together we were in impeccable hands. Viewing vehicles are kept scrupulously clean with sealed blankets and raincoats. It makes a big difference having a ranger as well as a tracker! Game changer! We also noticed that the vehicles are not loaded to the brim, management have been generous is ensuring guest comfort for optimal viewing - Thank You! Madikwe has diverse terrain with a surprising variety of animals and flora.
Scorecard:
Lodge:8:10
Food: 6:10
Game Drives: 9:10
Housekeeping: 10:10
Would we return or recommend: 10:10
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 14 993
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Impodimo Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.5 km from Impodimo Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Impodimo Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
28.6 km from Impodimo Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Madikwe Game Reserve
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
476
24
0
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
476
24
0
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole armed ranger water hole family suite herd of elephants safari experience other guests the reserve game lodge morning drive wonderful experience attention to detail south africa three nights sabi sands travel agent whole experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2024

Our experience at Impodimo was exceptional! From the warm hospitality upon arrival to the impeccable service throughout, every moment was delightful.

The lodge's stunning wilderness setting provided an unforgettable backdrop for our safari adventures, heightened by the unique perspective of the underground hide.

Our game drives, expertly guided by Sam and his tracker, Lots, were incredible. Their deep knowledge of the bush enhanced the game drives.

Our luxurious accommodations were spacious, comfortable, and thoughtfully designed.
The lodge is not fenced, allowing for close but save wildlife encounters from our private patio.

The food was delectable, highlighting local flavors and culinary expertise. Overall, our stay surpassed all expectations, leaving us with lasting memories.

Well done to the entire team at Impodimo!

Room tip: Fantastic Safari experience in a Malaria Free area close to Johannesburg.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Of all the game lodges I've been to, this is my favourite. I know there are others on the Madikwe reserve, so I can't comment of those, but the whole reserve is choc full of animals and the rangers are lovely. Rooms are luxurious, food is fantastic and I will be - god willing- going back next year

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

Impodimo fulfilled all my dreams of an African safari. The lodge was comfortable with clean room, huge bathroom and a fantastic dec overlooking the bush and a drinking area for the animals. We had no need to go to the hide as the elephants impalas Pumbas visited the water hole.
The game drives were superb. Out guides Sam and Lots were knowledgeable and knew the bush inside out. I sometimes felt I was in a David Attenborough documentary with the wildlife galore. The experience was unforgettable and unique.

Room tip: Bring binoculars
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tessaliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2024

We had three fantastic days and nights at Impodimo in December. It is a special place. I would give it 5 out of 5 for game drives, guides, accommodations, food, service, ease of travel, animals present on property at watering hole during the days. Game drives were great – lots of lions, buffalo, elephants, giraffes, more plus cheetahs. Only slight disappointment were no hippos or leopards which are a rarer sight in this park. Compared to other Madikwe lodges, Impodimo was one of the only with both a tracker and guide on each jeep.
The lodge’s attention to gluten free needs of our daughters was amazing. Every meal and snack on the game drives had gluten free options of similar food to everyone else. Every meal had freshly baked gluten free bread which is amazing. Food was incredible.
Flying directly to Madikwe from Joburg was very convenient. The 20 minute ride from the airport to the lodge felt like a mini-game drive to begin and end the time there.
When I return to Africa, I would consider doing 2 days at Impodimo and then 2 days at another totally different location like Okavango Delta/Botswana, Masai Mara/Kenya, Sabi Sands/Kruger/SA, or Eotosha/Namibia for landscapes. But if you have time to do just one safari location, then I’d highly recommend 3 days at Impodimo.

Room tip: The family suite is great if available
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank markbdunwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024

We flew to Madikwe from Jo'burg in a little plane to be met on the runway by our guide. Game viewing began almost immediately, with elephants and warthogs.

As a family of 5 we had the family lodge right at the far end with it's own little plunge pool. Great beds, the rest of the place a little tired, but it is in the wild after all. Staff were all super, from Dez who helped when our 10yo got the dreaded 24 hour bug on Xmas day, to our ranger Ryan with two first names.

Animals galore from leopard tortoises to lions and cheetahs. Our favourites were the elephants and giraffes. The watering hole and hide were a bonus and we got some great photos of a giraffe reflected in the water, trying to drink. Lions walking right past us, so close I could touch it, was a little unnerving, but amazing.

Food was plentiful and if you were hungry mid day, there are sandwiches etc you could order. Chef Spa went all out on Xmas day and we had a feast - tuna ceviche and the chocolate dessert stood out.

Our guide Ryan (and Wilfred the spotter) were so knowledgeable about the animals and surroundings, we definitely learnt a lot. The weather wasn't as good as we hoped and we had one 5am drive on Xmas day in the pouring rain - Impodimo vehicles don't have a cover to give you the full sky experience but the ponchos sadly didn't hold - we looked jealously at the other guests in the reserve sitting under cover. There was a lot of rain and it resulted in some leaks in the corridors to our rooms.

Scarily, a spitting cobra made it's way into our bedroom on the morning we were leaving and reared up at my husband. Luckily it was just him in the room and he had the presence of mind to stay still and watch it slither away, then call me to get reception. Duncan and Ben arrived pretty fast and caught the young cobra and released it further away. Our chalet also had lots of large lizards and spiders but these didn't bother me. Remember to keep all doors closed. Ryan would walk us back to our chalet in the evenings with his gun - a reminder that the lodge is unfenced and animals can and do wander in.

I would recommend this place for the animals and staff, it's 100% child friendly, well appointed yet retaining a natural charm.

Room tip: Bring your own ponchos. Keep doors closed. 430am wake up in the summer can be a killer so make sure everyone has an afternoon nap!
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 668JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews