We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
446
22
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
22
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild dogs plunge pool watering hole the reserve honeymoon suite water hole attention to detail game lodge rooms are huge federal air his team bubble bath south africa we loved our stay lions mating rose petals wonderful experience
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We are couple in our late 60s. We needed to find malaria free game reserve with excellent facilities, good service and Manager who would listen and understand our needs. I have chosen this reserve over numerous options due to great reviews and great Manager, Mr. Hannes Kruger. From the first e mail I was certain we would go to this place.
1.Due to our health issues we had very specific requirements to room location , bed configuration, food choice. I was really impressed with Hannes ability to listen, willingness to help and his attention to detail. He suggested the most quiet and private room for us and even was willing to reorganize furniture to make us feel more comfortable,
2. He was very cooperative with payment methods .
3. Helped with with Federal Air flights that were initially fully booked.
4. I felt I can rely on him in case something goes wrong.

I will post separate review about the lodge, game drive and facilities soon.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Irina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannesMadikweHills, General Manager at Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Irina,

Thank you very much for your kind review and we look forward to having you here soon!

Safe travels.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Madwike Hills offers great game drives with very knowledgeable guides and trackers. We enjoyed 10 game drives during our stay and each one was different with some thrilling chases. Highlight would be the wild dogs as pictured on their jeeps.
We were lucky to have bungalow 9 which enjoys a direct view of the constant passing parade of animals at the water hole in front of it.

The staff at Madwike Hills are super friendly and accommodating. If I was to criticize anything and I am super picky especially when it comes to food, I would say the food
( especially dinner ) is not great but then I was almost thankful as one does not do much exercise.
In addition we are warned the floors are slippery. In deed they are as I found out as careful as I was. The ice in the fridge came in handy. Knowing this problem why isnt something done!!!

Room tip: 9 great view of water hole
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannesMadikweHills, General Manager at Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear David k,

Thank you very much for your review. So glad to read that you loved the drives as well as your room and the view of the animals from the room. We apologise that the food did not live up to your expectations; we constantly strive to improve and implement new ideas.

The beautiful bathroom floors are only slippery when ones feet are wet or wearing socks (as are most floors) and that is why we mention to guests to use the two bath mats which have non-slip underlays to ensure that their feet are dry after showering/ bathing. There is also a grab handle by the shower for extra assistance when stepping in or out of the shower.

Hope to see you again soon for another wild dog adventure!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

This is the second time I’ve been to Madikwe hills and I love it. The staff are super friendly and efficient and went to soooo much effort to make our anniversary special, even running our bath and writing our names out in rose petals

The game drives were great and we loved our tracker Lebo.
Food always excellent!
All in all - a wonderful luxury bush break!
Can’t be beat

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jozitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannesMadikweHills, General Manager at Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hello jozitam,

Thank you so much for your kind review, hoping to see you again soon for your 3rd visit!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

If you like nature but don’t want to miss being pampered and spoiled, this is the place. It is a super luxury boutique lodge, in absolute harmony with the surroundings. Everything is there, but without exaggeration. The facilities are exquisite and, most important, in full respect of nature. The team is fantastic. Everybody appears to love what she/he is doing and know very well his field. Bear in mind that the staff outnumbers the guests, so any request will be met promptly and professionally. The food is great and there is an effort to feel part of a large group, discretely blending with other guests. But the hit is the reserve. Madikwe is an excellent place to see wildlife in its real environment, unaffected by overcrowding . We saw more species than we ever hoped to, but that’s also thanks to our guide, SAM !
Trust me, it’s worth every penny you will pay and when they say it’s all inclusive, they mean it.
Definitely a five star lodge !

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kYazitzoglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannesMadikweHills, General Manager at Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear kYazitzoglou,

It was such a pleasure to have you and your family here over Christmas!
Thank you very much for your kind review and all the compliments.
Madikwe is truly a special place - no day visitors allowed and no guests are allowed to drive themselves around on game drive so it really is fantastic to share a sighting with maximum two other vehicles.

Happy new year to you and your family and hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Visited first weekend in December, what a fabulous experience!
We were part of a group of 11 .
Food - fantastic, logistics must be good to serve fresh fruit & salads on a daily basis
Room - Superb, 1 quiet, private and near main lodge
Game Drives - Knowledge of our guide very good, tracker excellent

Room tip: Room 1, view of waterhole
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Marga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannesMadikweHills, General Manager at Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Marga O,

Thank you very much for your kind review and compliments!
We hope to welcome you all back again soon!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews