We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
446
22
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
22
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild dogs plunge pool watering hole the reserve honeymoon suite water hole attention to detail game lodge rooms are huge federal air his team bubble bath south africa we loved our stay lions mating rose petals wonderful experience
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We just returned from Madikwe Hills Lodge. The staff was extremely accommodating to my husband's dietary requirements. Francois, the ranger, was very knowledgeable. Francois, along with Max the Tracker,made sure that we saw all of the Big Five. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannesMadikweHills, General Manager at Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Andrea W,

Thank you very much for your review. We try our best to fulfil all our guests' requirements and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much!
We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

The service is excellent, from the directions they provide which make it impossible to get lost. The welcome you receive on arrival is very warm and you immediately feel at home. The game viewing was spectacular , Kenneth our ranger and Herman our tracker were extremely knowledgeable and they ensured we had a wonderful experience.

The food was well prepared and very tasty. The kitchen and dinning room staff were superb and very helpful. We had a private dinner in our room which went very smoothly.

They offer a mattress change from hard to soft if you need this service, which we requested and it was done hassle free.

The Lodge is run very efficiently. The Management was extremely attentive. I cannot find fault with anything with this Lodge and I have been to a few Lodges in the past.

Thank you Madikwe Hills . I highly recommend this Lodge and would definitely return.

Room tip: All the rooms are perfectly located with their own veranda and private plunge pools,
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thembintingane2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannesMadikweHills, General Manager at Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2016

Dear thembintingane2016,

Thank you very much for your informative review. We strive to create a "home away from home" feeling, we are very glad to hear that this is exactly what you experienced.

We hope to see you again soon and we wish you a Merry Christmas and a prosperous 2017!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Madikwe hills is definitely on of our favourite destinations in the world.We congratulate Hannes and his team on the excellent service and hospitality. The setting of Madikwe hills is immaculate the food amazing and the staff is friendly and informing and accommodating. WE appreciated the idea of getting a waterbottle as a gift to refill as a gesture to go the green way. An idea we will carry back home so that the recycling proses of plastic waterbottels will not be necessary. This was a great experience !!!

Room tip: LITTLE MADIKWE is absolutely amazing!
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kobusk162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannesMadikweHills, General Manager at Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Dear kobusk162,

It was such a pleasure to have you with us again.
Every little bit helps and we are so glad that all our guests are supporting us - by using the brand new, aluminium, BPA free water bottles we are saving about 2 000 plastic water bottles a month.

We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

We had an incredible stay at Madikwe Hills. The hotel was stunning with amazing food, lovely staff and the best guides for our safari drives. We had Ernst and Charlie the dream team :-). Tracked the animals with them and in just 3 days we saw all the big 5 and all the animals and birds you can imagine including the rare to see, leopard and wild dogs! We even saw a near kill by the cheetahs!! The setting was lovely and different every drive!

The staff made our stay special and were very pleasant. The food was great and plenty of it!! Our room had our own pool and an outdoor bath which was heaven!! Having a bath watching giraffes and Zebras was a dream!

If you are looking for an amazing safari trip for any reason. This is an amazing place to stay that you will never forget!! When we landed there were 6 giraffes next to the runway....where would you ever see that?!! GO THERE!!! :-)

Room tip: All rooms have amazing view of the open plain& a pool as far as i know, but if you want a bath outside,request it
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannesMadikweHills, General Manager at Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear susan g,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy that you had such an awesome holiday!
Tracking and finding the animals is such a big part of the whole safari experience and so much more fulfilling than just going to the sightings already found by other guides.

We hope to see you back here soon, in this special place we call home.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

We booked Madikwe as a special treat. We were just amazed by how special it really is.

Our suite (room 4) was stunning and overlooked a water hole where elephants came to bathe most days. I loved hanging out here during the day in between game drives.

Our ranger (Jaces) was absolutely brilliant, finding us something even more exciting each day. He was so friendly and really helped us understand the animals we were spotting.

The food was spectacular. Yummy and plentiful!

I can't speak more highly of this beautiful lodge and the team behind it. Just thank you for giving us the holiday of dreams!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LondonSarah12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannesMadikweHills, General Manager at Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear LondonSarah12345,

Thank you very much - so glad to read that you had such a special holiday with us!
Everyone should go on at least one safari in their lifetime.

We hope to spoil you on another dream holiday again soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews