We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Kimm Bishop

Brilliant experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Jun 2024
Absolutely superb safari camp!! Staff are brilliant! They go above and beyond to ensure you have a good time,, tents cleaned daily and they even turn your blinds down in evening, food was superb! And there’s absolutely nothing negative I can say, we enjoyed our stay so much we’re going back this year!! Safaris were unbelievable, we saw all the big 5 and more thanks to our great guide Vincent! Would definitely recommend this camp.
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: Make sure you go down to the water hole within the camp , animals come to drink there, you can...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patience Matlapeng, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hi Kim

We are so grateful for your 5 star review. we are thrilled that you had a positive experience with us. If you ever visit this area again we will be so excited to host you again.

We will see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
19.4 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 22 490
  • Hotels.com
27.9 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
28.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
29.5 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Madikwe Game Reserve
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
475
96
21
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
475
96
21
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury tents game drives fudge wild dogs local community the reserve safari experience electric blankets game driver bush break air conditioning the main lodge overlooking the river sun city lounge area spent nights great lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2024

I was supervising a student working at Thakadu and was accommodated for one night at the lodge. The accommodation and food was very good. Staff very friendly and accommodating of my needs. While I did not participate in any game drives activities the other guests did and loved it. There is a lot of game and birds around the camp should one decide to relax on the stoep. This is a community run lodge and I would recommend that anyone wanting to visit Madikwe book at Thakadu.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peterjm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patience Matlapeng, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2024

Hi Peter

Thank you for a great review of our customer service at Thakadu River Camp. We have passed your kind words to the rest of our team at the lodge. Our team is passionate about providing all our customers with outstanding experience and they will be delighted to learn that with you they hit the mark. We hope that in future well be able to provide you with similar excellent stay and that you will be able to participate on our game drives.

looking forward to host you again at the lodge.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2024

An excellent six day stay. The Itinerary was perfect to our needs. Great sightings of animals. Superb food and attentive staff. Accommodation was clean and comfortable. This was our first safari encounter, but we have no hesitation in recommending this location.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patience Matlapeng, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

Hi Kevin

We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback and yours satisfaction is what drives us to keep doing our best . We cant wait to welcome you for another outstanding experience. your % star review brightens our day and serves us a constant reminder of why we love what we do. We will continue striving to provide exceptional service and outstanding customer care to make every interaction with us remarkable.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Thakadu River Camp in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2024

My wife and I were treated to 3 nights at Thakadu River Camp this month--November 2023. We are lucky to be able to visit the game and nature reserves in South Africa several times a year but this community-managed camp was magical! The team (from the guards through room services and the hotel/customer service team was great--for us they have provided a new benchmark for the standard of care that is possible in even the most remote of places. They were clearly very proud of their camp/hotel and wanted to ensure that every interaction was great. Our Ranger made every interaction special by ensuring that we saw the best--wild dogs on several occasions were a highlight--with close encounters (they were very safe encounters) with rhinos and elephants as well as the usual wide range of antelopes and small animals--what a delightful and special experience. Even a huge thunderstorm while driving around was a positive experience.

Room tip: Relax and enjoy the people as much as you enjoy the location.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AngiSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patience Matlapeng, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

Hi Angi

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to know that you enjoyed our service at the lodge . We take pride in our service and your satisfaction is our top priority. Once again thank you, for choosing us and the incredible 5 star rating. Your feedback motivates us to keep raising the bar and set the standard for excellence i everything we do. looking forward to welcome you back to Thakadu river Camp for another Aha moment.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2024

From start to finish our stay here was amazing
Game drives started at 5:30am and again at 4pm . During the day we chilled by the pool and watched the animals in the watering hole , which in itself was amazing
Taino was our driver and he did everything he could to make our game drives special
We managed to see the 4 out of the big 5.
Elephants , Rhino , Zebra Giraffes and lions to name but a few
The drinks nibbles and blankets provided were also a special touch during the drive
Food was very tasty and service impeccable
Would I recommend this place ?
Most certainly yes .
We will treasure our memories forever
Thank you so much

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank G3554NYkareno
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patience Matlapeng, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

Hi Karen

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review. We are so glad to hear that you were satisfied with our safari experience. Our team here at the lodge are committed to delivering high quality service, and your feedback is a great encouragement to us. the review has been shared with the entire team and we looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024

There’s not enough room to put all my reasons for really enjoying my stay here! Staff superb they go above & beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay, food absolutely superb , guides brilliant and cleaners make your rooms cosy for coming back in evenings, anyone looking to go on safari should definitely book here! We enjoyed it so much we’re going back this year!!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kimm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patience Matlapeng, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2024

Hi Kimm

Thanks for taking time time to leave us a 5 star rating its much appreciated. These are stories that keep us motivated to continue doing what we are doing and we are super excited to hear that you had the best time of your life with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Thakadu River Camp.

Regards
Patience Matlapeng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews