We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MATODZI TOURS
Johannesburg, South Africa

THE NATURAL THERAPY VISITS

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2023via mobile
The most luxurious river camp , The trequality of the river that flow along the camp brings natural therapeutic kind of situation.
Because the temperature can go as far as 35 degrees C in the area that river breeze gives the body what I called natural massages.
You than view wild animal roaming around the camp with this River camp the game drive is not a necessity as u can literally just seat out side verender and view all this wild animals .
The only thing need to be improved is the road network accessibility.
Date of stay: February 2023
Room Tip: The road accessibility and road sign has to be improved.
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 16 866
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 16 866
  • Booking.com
27.9 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 14 068
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 068
28.0 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 37 992
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 37 992
  • eDreams
11.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 13 820
  • Priceline
28.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 10 649
  • Algotels
13.8 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • eDreams
29.5 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Madikwe Game Reserve
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
474
96
21
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
474
96
21
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury tents game drives fudge wild dogs local community the reserve safari experience electric blankets game driver bush break air conditioning the main lodge overlooking the river sun city lounge area spent nights great lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2023

The lodge is easily accessible from Johannesburg, with a shuttle service provided from the local airstrip to the camp. The lodge is beautifully decorated and you feel that you are in the african wild. The staff are friendly and the food exceptional.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DayTrip52262775852
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2023

Amazing place to stay, a total experience. I loved sleeping in the tent which is very comfortable and clean, with good privacy, loved hearing the sounds of nature. The game drives were always interesting, fun in beautiful nature, I loved seeing the animals living in freedom. The guide did everything to make our stay special and he tried to cater to our wishlists of animals (the leopards were not cooperative though😉). Food was delicious and very creative with great combinations of tastes, staff was very kind and hospitable. Everyone did everything to make this stay memorable.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2023

We absolutely LOVED Thakadu River Camp. We truly felt like we were having an authentic African safari experience - while living in comfort, eating exquisite food, and being treated kindly and thoughtfully by the staff. We enjoyed every moment and would definitely love to return!

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mjacks256578
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2023

We spent 3 amazing nights at the Thakadu and would recommend it in the Madwike reserve. It has a great location on the river which was often filled with elephants playing, drinking and cooling down. The tented chalets are good and secluded (the shower cubicles could be replaced-renovated) and the staff amazing. Apart from great food they went out of their way to bake a cake for a birthday and all of the available staff sang at afternoon tea. Madwike is an exceptional reserve and we got to see so many animals in seclusion. The only downside is getting there, better instructions could have been provided and at this stage do not do not believe google maps.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 247terryfol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2023

I have been to Madikwe twice before and had fantastic experiences. This trip with 3 friends to Thakadu River Camp was no exception, it was wonderful. Comfortable glamping tents, a great amble along paths to get there, watching birds and deer along the way. The food was good and plentiful, the service always with a smile.
Our game drives with Tshiamo were spectacular. We didn’t care if we didn’t see ‘the big 5’ but we did. A Cheetah & her 3 cubs, a Lion lolling on the road, Wild dogs!! Also Elephants, Buffalo, birds, Giraffes… all spectacular. Very dry at this time of year and I hope the rains come soon. My only complaint was that the stay was not long enough!! 😂
Highly recommend

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kblair2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews