We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Debz F
Gauteng, South Africa

Bush Birthday August 2021

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Aug 2021
A very special long weekend at Thakadu. A big thanks to Patience and her team at the lodge. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They went out of their way to ensure our trip was memorable including a delicious 21st birthday cake for my daughter. The lodge is lovely, we enjoyed games of scrabble inside next to a roaring fire as well as out on the deck next to the pool overlooking the river. The tents are well appointed, warm and toasty in the cool August evenings with huge comfy beds and a turn down service with pillow treats. The food was tasty, the freshly baked rolls are a must as are the muffins on early morning game drives. We were fortunate to have Billy as our ranger (we loved his sense of humour and his way of straight talking ) and had some really incredible sightings, too many to mention. Billy's knowledge of birds has to be highlighted and his ability to see animals on trees in the dark, while driving and holding a flashlight is extraordinary! We recommend Thakadu and cant wait to return.
Date of stay: August 2021
Room Tip: Tents are spaced fairly far apart. If you don't like walking ask for the closer units. Keep...
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 9 536
  • Expedia.com
    R 10 151
  • Agoda.com
    R 9 296
  • Hotels.com
    R 10 151
13.8 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 14 022
R 12 766
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 14 022
  • Hotels.com
    R 12 766
  • Tripadvisor
    R 12 766
28.0 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 14 032
  • Hotels.com
    R 23 130
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 13 673
  • Expedia.com
    R 23 130
28.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 34 220
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 34 220
  • eDreams
    R 9 536
  • Agoda.com
    R 27 415
11.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 30 320
  • Priceline
    R 30 320
  • Agoda.com
    R 30 320
  • Vio.com
    R 30 263
15.4 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 20 861
R 19 422
  • Hotels.com
    R 20 861
  • Expedia.com
    R 20 861
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 19 805
30.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
    R 50 688
13.7 km from Thakadu River Camp
View more hotels in Madikwe Game Reserve
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
474
96
21
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
474
96
21
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury tents game drives fudge wild dogs local community the reserve safari experience electric blankets game driver bush break air conditioning the main lodge overlooking the river sun city lounge area spent nights great lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Thakadu in early August. We had an incredible stay. Our unit was #5 and it was well appointed and clean. There were thoughtful touches everywhere like the after dinner treats left on our pillows. When we arrived back from our evening game drive the room was warm and cosy despite it being a chilly night. The lodge itself only has 12 rooms which means an intimate atmosphere where each guest is treated like royalty. Dinner was amazing and we had to compliment the chef on his preparation of the eland steak.

Down to the game viewing. All I can say is that it exceeded all expectations I had. Vincent was a great knowledgeable guide and we ended up seeing the big 5 all within the space of a few hours, not to mention a leopard which was within a couple of meters of the lodge. Highly recommend!

NOTE: the gate entrance as indicated in google maps is closed. You therefore need to enter the reserve via Molatedi gate.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gal_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2021

The location was easy to get to from Pretoria and is in an amazing park. Staff and service were great. Special thanks goes to Vincent, the ranger, who managed to find cheetahs, lions, rhinos, heyenas, jackals and many more. He was also extremely knowledgeable of birds.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2021

We had a memorable family getaway at Thakadu River Camp celebrating my husband's fast approaching 50th birthday. Thank you to the staff for the thoughtful birthday cake and traditional singing on our day of arrival - a special touch that we cherished.
The lodge is beautiful and the tents are spacious and nicely decorated.
Food - 10/10
Our game ranger, Gery, "is the bomb"! We got to see lion on almost every game drive and also saw a rare sighting of wild dogs and cheetah. Thank you, Gery, for an awesome bush experience!
Safety precautions during "Covid" times are adhered to and the staff were friendly and accommodated all our requests.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeidreC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2021

The tents were comfortable, could have done with better lighting inside and a light outside the front door. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The food was excellent, the views from the decks were lovely. I was treated to a wonderful birthday cake and the entire staff singing and dancing to celebrate my birthday. If you go in winter months, take plenty of layers for the morning game drive, I wore five or six and was very comfortable.
The beds have electric blankets. Will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lesley893
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2021

Had a great two night stay here at the end of a longer trip to South Africa from the US. Service was fantastic and we enjoyed the game drives (courtesy of Vincent) as well as time spent just hanging out on our deck or by the pool. Quality of food was impressive and you will definitely not be left hungry... Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Timberwolf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews