We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gal_C
Pretoria, South Africa

Absolutely Wonderful

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2021via mobile
My husband and I stayed at Thakadu in early August. We had an incredible stay. Our unit was #5 and it was well appointed and clean. There were thoughtful touches everywhere like the after dinner treats left on our pillows. When we arrived back from our evening game drive the room was warm and cosy despite it being a chilly night. The lodge itself only has 12 rooms which means an intimate atmosphere where each guest is treated like royalty. Dinner was amazing and we had to compliment the chef on his preparation of the eland steak.

Down to the game viewing. All I can say is that it exceeded all expectations I had. Vincent was a great knowledgeable guide and we ended up seeing the big 5 all within the space of a few hours, not to mention a leopard which was within a couple of meters of the lodge. Highly recommend!

NOTE: the gate entrance as indicated in google maps is closed. You therefore need to enter the reserve via Molatedi gate.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 25 220
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 25 220
  • eDreams
    R 8 026
  • StayForLong
    R 25 095
11.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 30 320
  • Priceline
    R 30 320
  • Agoda.com
    R 30 320
  • Vio.com
    R 30 320
15.4 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 18 890
  • Expedia.com
    R 17 352
  • Hotels.com
    R 17 352
  • Agoda.com
    R 17 368
23.0 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 8 026
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 929
  • Agoda.com
    R 7 836
  • Hotels.com
    R 8 929
13.8 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 14 032
  • Expedia.com
    R 23 130
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 13 752
  • Hotels.com
    R 23 130
28.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 14 022
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 766
  • Hotels.com
    R 12 766
  • Agoda.com
    R 14 022
28.0 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 5 213
    19.3 km from Thakadu River Camp
    R 20 861
    R 19 422
    • Expedia.com
      R 20 861
    • Hotels.com
      R 20 861
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 19 972
    30.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Madikwe Game Reserve
    Reviews (609)
    Filter reviews
    609 results
    Traveller rating
    474
    96
    21
    11
    7
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    474
    96
    21
    11
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews luxury tents game drives fudge wild dogs local community the reserve safari experience electric blankets game driver bush break air conditioning the main lodge overlooking the river sun city lounge area spent nights great lodge
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    63 - 68 of 609 reviews
    Reviewed 8 August 2021

    The location was easy to get to from Pretoria and is in an amazing park. Staff and service were great. Special thanks goes to Vincent, the ranger, who managed to find cheetahs, lions, rhinos, heyenas, jackals and many more. He was also extremely knowledgeable of birds.

    Date of stay: August 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Gary B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 June 2021

    We had a memorable family getaway at Thakadu River Camp celebrating my husband's fast approaching 50th birthday. Thank you to the staff for the thoughtful birthday cake and traditional singing on our day of arrival - a special touch that we cherished.
    The lodge is beautiful and the tents are spacious and nicely decorated.
    Food - 10/10
    Our game ranger, Gery, "is the bomb"! We got to see lion on almost every game drive and also saw a rare sighting of wild dogs and cheetah. Thank you, Gery, for an awesome bush experience!
    Safety precautions during "Covid" times are adhered to and the staff were friendly and accommodated all our requests.

    Date of stay: June 2021
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank DeidreC51
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 May 2021

    The tents were comfortable, could have done with better lighting inside and a light outside the front door. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The food was excellent, the views from the decks were lovely. I was treated to a wonderful birthday cake and the entire staff singing and dancing to celebrate my birthday. If you go in winter months, take plenty of layers for the morning game drive, I wore five or six and was very comfortable.
    The beds have electric blankets. Will definitely visit again.

    Date of stay: May 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank lesley893
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 May 2021

    Had a great two night stay here at the end of a longer trip to South Africa from the US. Service was fantastic and we enjoyed the game drives (courtesy of Vincent) as well as time spent just hanging out on our deck or by the pool. Quality of food was impressive and you will definitely not be left hungry... Would highly recommend.

    Date of stay: May 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Timberwolf46
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 May 2021

    It was a wonderful three day getaway. Thakadu River Camp is a delightful place tucked right in the Madikwe Game Reserve.
    The service is excellent. The luxury tents are well appointed, clean, comfortable. Good electric sockets to charge your devices and cameras.
    The guides are so enthusiastic and informative. Thank you guides Vincent and Billy.
    A tip - Do ask for a tent close to the reception or you will need to walk and walk to reach.

    Room tip: Ask for a tent close to reception. Too much walking, otherwise.
    Date of stay: May 2021
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank clarinae2018
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews