We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lesley893
Johannesburg, South Africa

Great birthday getaway from Johannesburg

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 May 2021
The tents were comfortable, could have done with better lighting inside and a light outside the front door. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient. The food was excellent, the views from the decks were lovely. I was treated to a wonderful birthday cake and the entire staff singing and dancing to celebrate my birthday. If you go in winter months, take plenty of layers for the morning game drive, I wore five or six and was very comfortable.
The beds have electric blankets. Will definitely visit again.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    R 22 490
  • Hotels.com
27.9 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 14 693
  • Hotels.com
28.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
29.5 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Madikwe Game Reserve
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
475
96
21
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
475
96
21
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury tents game drives fudge wild dogs local community the reserve safari experience electric blankets game driver bush break air conditioning the main lodge overlooking the river sun city lounge area spent nights great lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2021

Had a great two night stay here at the end of a longer trip to South Africa from the US. Service was fantastic and we enjoyed the game drives (courtesy of Vincent) as well as time spent just hanging out on our deck or by the pool. Quality of food was impressive and you will definitely not be left hungry... Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Timberwolf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2021

It was a wonderful three day getaway. Thakadu River Camp is a delightful place tucked right in the Madikwe Game Reserve.
The service is excellent. The luxury tents are well appointed, clean, comfortable. Good electric sockets to charge your devices and cameras.
The guides are so enthusiastic and informative. Thank you guides Vincent and Billy.
A tip - Do ask for a tent close to the reception or you will need to walk and walk to reach.

Room tip: Ask for a tent close to reception. Too much walking, otherwise.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank clarinae2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2021

We were blown away with the service and treatment received at Thakadu, all we can say is wow! The team could not do enough to ensure our stay was memorable, Sipho was an absolute star escorting us every night and ensuring we were safe and happy. Billy our Ranger, all I can say is hold onto this gem, how he managed to find the game we saw was unbelievable, he even had rangers from other camps thanking him for the sightings. How anyone can spot a chameleon on the dark whilst driving and shining the spot light is beyond me considering the size and yip Billy managed to do that. The lodge staff were very pleasant and accommodating, we could not have wished for a better 21st wedding anniversary getaway.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2021

Fantastic service!!!!! My wife and I was at Thakadu River Camp for our honeymoon. The staff is extremely friendly and the game drives where great with very friendly rangers that went out of their way to find the animals we loved. The facilities was very clean. The staff surprised us with a romantic room for our honeymoon with no trouble and the food was out of this world. Thakadu we would like to thank you, we recharged our batteries with nature. This lodge is great and with staff that greets you with a smile always helps. We apricate your services and will definitely be back again. We can’t recommend this lodge enough.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stefandA1540AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2021

Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff all around! We were treated like royals and felt so spoiled. Excellent food and game drives with a knowledgeable, passionate game ranger made for a very special bush experience. Everything was well organised and we were able to relax and rest.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank r0dneyn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews