We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Clarina E
Gaborone, Botswana

Delightful place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 04 May 2021
It was a wonderful three day getaway. Thakadu River Camp is a delightful place tucked right in the Madikwe Game Reserve.
The service is excellent. The luxury tents are well appointed, clean, comfortable. Good electric sockets to charge your devices and cameras.
The guides are so enthusiastic and informative. Thank you guides Vincent and Billy.
A tip - Do ask for a tent close to the reception or you will need to walk and walk to reach.
Date of stay: May 2021
Room Tip: Ask for a tent close to reception. Too much walking, otherwise.
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 28 023
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 27 920
  • eDreams
    R 7 614
  • StayForLong
    R 25 053
11.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 17 666
  • Expedia.com
    R 17 259
  • Trip.com
    R 15 085
  • Hotels.com
    R 17 196
27.9 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 23 888
R 7 614
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 470
  • Trip.com
    R 23 888
  • Hotels.com
    R 8 470
13.8 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 14 032
  • Priceline
    R 14 032
  • Trip.com
    R 13 681
  • Expedia.com
    R 23 215
28.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 14 022
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 042
  • Hotels.com
    R 14 042
  • Priceline
    R 14 022
28.0 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 30 320
  • Priceline
    R 30 320
  • Agoda.com
    R 30 320
  • Vio.com
    R 30 298
15.4 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 35 200
  • Hotels.com
    R 37 000
  • Priceline
    R 35 200
28.2 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Madikwe Game Reserve
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
475
96
21
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
475
96
21
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury tents game drives fudge wild dogs local community the reserve safari experience electric blankets game driver bush break air conditioning the main lodge overlooking the river sun city lounge area spent nights great lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2021

We were blown away with the service and treatment received at Thakadu, all we can say is wow! The team could not do enough to ensure our stay was memorable, Sipho was an absolute star escorting us every night and ensuring we were safe and happy. Billy our Ranger, all I can say is hold onto this gem, how he managed to find the game we saw was unbelievable, he even had rangers from other camps thanking him for the sightings. How anyone can spot a chameleon on the dark whilst driving and shining the spot light is beyond me considering the size and yip Billy managed to do that. The lodge staff were very pleasant and accommodating, we could not have wished for a better 21st wedding anniversary getaway.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2021

Fantastic service!!!!! My wife and I was at Thakadu River Camp for our honeymoon. The staff is extremely friendly and the game drives where great with very friendly rangers that went out of their way to find the animals we loved. The facilities was very clean. The staff surprised us with a romantic room for our honeymoon with no trouble and the food was out of this world. Thakadu we would like to thank you, we recharged our batteries with nature. This lodge is great and with staff that greets you with a smile always helps. We apricate your services and will definitely be back again. We can’t recommend this lodge enough.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stefandA1540AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2021

Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff all around! We were treated like royals and felt so spoiled. Excellent food and game drives with a knowledgeable, passionate game ranger made for a very special bush experience. Everything was well organised and we were able to relax and rest.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank r0dneyn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2021

Our trip to Thakadu was an excellent exprerience. We visited during level 3 lockdown and the whole team were very respectful of rules and regulations and made our stay both safe and enjoyable. The staff take great pride in the lodge and service which adds to the experience. I would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2021

Please stay away from this Lodge ,they do not know how to treat guest,even with and error to our booking we made,they still didnt wnat to understand,and took more money from our credit card.Now nobody wants to take reposibility.They just out to steal guests money and take more and more.Stay away!!!!!

Dear partner,

The guest Tim, reservation 3568252241, 2021-01-02 – 2021-01-04, would like to change the dates of their stay to:
02.01.2021 - 03.01.2021.

Please let us know if you’d be able to accommodate this request and:
• If there are any fees associated with this modification
• The total cost of the change or the new nightly room rate
• The name and position of the staff member who approved the change
• Please process any related refund directly to the virtual credit card

The guest informed us that he was already charged 5318 ZAR from your side. Moreover he informed us that you still tried to charge the guest on Sunday additional 2712 ZAR for this reservation. The guest already checked out on the 03.01.2021 and the total price for this reservation should have been 7560 ZAR for two persons for two nights. Since the guest already checked out on the 03.01.2021 the rate for one nights for 2 persons should have been 3780 ZAR.

Moreover on the 03.01.2021 you also deduct without authorisation the guest additionally 2425 ZAR.

Since you tried to charge the guest more than he should have paid the guest checked out on 03.01.2021. You should refund the guest the difference between 5318 & 3780 ZAR = 1538 ZAR.

The guest understands that he made a mistake making the booking but the costs you try to charge him is much more.

The original reservation and booking policy will remain valid unless you receive a notification from Booking.com.

Looking forward to hearing back from you.

If you have any questions, we are always here.
--
Salvatore E.
Booking.com Customer Service Team

Date of stay: January 2021
Thank Andre E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews