We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TravellingBlur
Johannesburg, South Africa

Game viewing visit

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2020
The location is great and you can view lots of wildlife from the deck and from your tent. The service was exceptional and the meals really good. We had children who swam in the pool. The only downside was the size of the extra beds for the children (The sleeper couch was to narrow to accommodate two children). I would recommend the lodge and would consider going back.
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
19.4 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
27.9 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
28.6 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
29.5 km from Thakadu River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Madikwe Game Reserve
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
474
96
21
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
474
96
21
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury tents game drives fudge wild dogs local community the reserve safari experience electric blankets game driver bush break air conditioning the main lodge overlooking the river sun city lounge area spent nights great lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2020

If peaceful, rustic, out of the way is what you are looking for, this is the place for you..It's beautiful. The staff are super efficient and the chef produced superb meals.With two game drives a day, you are sure to see plenty,including some of the big 5, although we would have liked more information on the ecology, vegetation and bugs of the area.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jennymbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2020

What an awesome experience. Thakadu River Camp have the most professional staff
They were friendly, accommodating and just brilliant at what they do. AHA are lucky to have incredible staff members such as these. All meals served by Chef Israel was delicious, Game drive provided by Satisfy was one of the best ever, and Modi was always helpful and friendly. We couldn't have asked for better. Accomodation and Facilities were good and views spectacular. Cannot wait to visit again.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Qbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2020

All I can say is that NOTHING was out of place during our stay at Thakadu - lodge was great, our tent spacious and furnished well, food very good and game viewing (both from the lodge and on.game drives) exceptional. Staff friendly and go out of their way to please.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2020

Our game drives provided excellent opportunities to interact with the wildlife, with great photo ops throughout the day. I was amazed at the diversity of animals and the beauty of the land we saw throughout the safari drives. It was truly an exceptional experience!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kdmacadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2020

I certainly enjoyed my trip and the staff made it more memorable. We had an amazing aha experience worth every money spend. The room was clean, we saw the big 5 in just two game drives, also had a game drive in the rain. Will certainly go back any day

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tebogomoema
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews