We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$1 219
View deal
Hotels.comUS$1 219
Booking.comUS$1 222
PricelineUS$1 222
CheapTicketsUS$1 219
eDreamsUS$1 222
Orbitz.comUS$1 219
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
255
11
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
255
11
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole game drives outdoor shower other guests every meal excellent game viewing five star viewing deck magical place food is excellent special place off road heidi petrus accommodation impala waterhole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2019

My wife and I enjoyed 3 nights at Tuningi in September and absolutely loved it! The lodge itself is beautiful (luxury but not pretentious) and our room, one of the luxury suites was both spacious and extremely comfortable. The game drives were also fantastic, as we had close encounters with all of the Big 5 on pretty much every Safari. Specific highlights include a few intimate and private encounters with a huge male Lion and spending 20 minutes with a Mozambique Spitting Cobra! The food is also divine. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was always spectacular! The only slight downside (and this is in no way a criticism of the lodge), was the other guests who joined our Safaris, they were rather rude and entitled. We would 100% recommend Tuningi and can't wait to return!

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank jawgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019

We chose this beautful lodge as the second part of our holiday in South Africa.
After a whirlwind tour of Capetown we were looking forward to experiencing our first safari.

We had one of the 2 family lodges which was absolutely beautiful.
All the staff at Tuningi are amazing. The food is out of this world and we were treated to a BBQ one evening with the staff performing as a choir! Simply fantastic

The game drives were fantastic. (2 per day) Worth getting up at 5.30 am for!
Cornelius was our fantastic guide and we saw so many amazing wild animals.
Getting so close to elephants, lions, cheetas, zebras and giraffes is an experience you never forget. Every drive out brought something different and special.
We loved going out in the dark, watching the sun come up whilst having hot chocolate and muffins and equally going out for the afternoon drive and having a drink watching the sunset before returning to our lovely lodge for dinner.

Well done to Cornelius, Andre, Heidi and Chantelle for creating a magical place to enjoy an experience of a lifetime

Kathryn, Andrew, Sophie and Chloe x

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hilltopkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed in the family lodge for 3 nights , arriving in the afternoon following a 4.5 hour road journey from Johannesburg which we did with a driver
This was our first safari and was the culmination of a trip to South Africa where we had visited other places
Andre was our guide and would ring us at 5.30 in the morning and we would walk from the lodge to get coffee and tea
We then set off and his knowledge of the reserve and animals ensured that we saw the Big 5 both mornings which were spectacular
The staff are very polite and discreet so it felt at times we had the main lodge to ourselves, for the first 2 nights we did as no other people were booked in
The main lodge is near a watering hole so after the morning safari we sat by the pool and watched or went to the hide which gave a close up view
The family lodge was luxurious and was away from the main lodge so we could have privacy and it was not overlooked by anyone else
Only problem was failing to lock the bathroom door and babboons getting in and making a mess although the staff cleaned it up
The food was superb the morning coffee and muffins excellent and break, lunch and dinner again wonderful
We chose September as it was still dry so we saw the animals as not much greenery apparently later in the year it’s a 4,30 call
A great place to stay and would recommend

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank edwardbM3353UH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2019 via mobile

This place is just amazing! The rooms and food are spectacular and they even have a couple of swimming pools and gym in the middle of the bush. The game drives were awesome and we saw the big 5 more than once in two days. Gavin is extremely knowledgeable and knew exactly how to track the animals. Heidi along with her staff are always friendly and made us feel very welcome. I would highly recommend Tuningi for any family, couples or friends looking for a holiday in the African bush!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LourensSteyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2019

Amazing Lodge with friendly staff. Great Food. Lovely spacious rooms, big bathroom with views from your bathtub and outside shower, Nespresso coffe machine, gas fireplace and great views of the savannah. Watering hole with elephants and other animals visiting every day. Have been there twice and wish to go back again.

Room tip: All rooms have lovely views, some rooms are family rooms.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertR1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews