We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$1 241
View deal
Hotels.com
US$1 241
View deal
Booking.com
US$1 222
View deal
PricelineUS$1 222
CheapTicketsUS$1 241
eDreamsUS$1 222
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
255
11
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
255
11
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole game drives outdoor shower other guests every meal excellent game viewing five star viewing deck magical place food is excellent special place off road heidi petrus accommodation impala waterhole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2019

We are a french family of 5; we loved the setting and landscape around the lodge; and great attentions towards children (toys, games and drawings in the rooms) and a super nanny at lunch time to entertain. Game-drive was not outsanding but this is part of good or bad luck and our ranger is there for 13 years, a real pro : a lodge fot visitors looking for authenticity in the bush !
Food... a bit too stylish and not our tastes but chef is adorable (and diner at Boma a great experience).

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Emilie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2019

Well what can I say. From the moment we arrived we were blown away by the accomodation, food and surroundings. This is just the most special place and has to be seen to be believed. the game drives were incredible - our guide andre was great and we all learnt such a lot from him. We had some incredible sightings. Cheetahs, a huge parade of elephants, rhino.... and even mating lions.... not to be forgotten :)
Thank you to everyone at Tuningi. we loved every single minute of our stay and were very sad to leave.

Room tip: We stayed in one of the family suites which are massive - they are absolutely stunning - with amazing wrap around outside decks.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craven1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2019

Wonderfull Staff, fabulous dining & losts of fun for kids. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. A wonderful Villa with a parade of 10 elephants including babies walked by on their way to the waterhole.
And in the night you can see the millions of stars shining above Africa - just amazing.

One great thing: No internet in the room - only in the lobby! You are there to enjoy the nature and not to read Twitter & Co.

Thanks Heidi, Michelle, Andre and all others from the kitchen to the gardener for a wonderful experience.

Comment on getting to the Lodge:
We have been travelling with the Shuttle from Johannesburg to Madikwe which is a 4-5hours drive which we enjoyed as we got to see other parts of Africa. However if you want to spend the money or if you are a single traveller, the flight option (1h from Jo'burg) is worth to be looked at. We got our trip organised by "Go2Africa" which was perfectly smooth.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

We visited Tuningi with our 3 kids recently, what a fabulous spot!!! A real treat with a large watering hole in front of the lodge with a discreetly built hide to watch the animals from. The staff were super friendly and took the effort to learn all of our names. Rangers were knowledgable and entertaining. Food was absolutely brilliant and accomodation was perfect. Thank you for making our stay so special!!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank capetownbrige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2019

The minute you arrive at the lodge you are transported to the " Out of Africa" feeling.
A friendly hostess welcomes you with a smile and a refreshing welcome drink. The staff makes you feel at home.
Your air conditioned luxury room is a haven of understated african oppulance.

The food served is the best I have ever had. You will put on a little weight while visiting.

Game drives are undertaken with the best guides in the business.

Heidi and her team is the best in what they do. It has been a long times since I have been spoiled so much!!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alwyns2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews