We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$1 222
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$1 241
View deal
Booking.comUS$1 222
PricelineUS$1 222
CheapTicketsUS$1 241
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
255
11
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
255
11
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole game drives outdoor shower other guests every meal excellent game viewing five star viewing deck magical place food is excellent special place off road heidi petrus accommodation impala waterhole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2019

Wonderfull Staff, fabulous dining & losts of fun for kids. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. A wonderful Villa with a parade of 10 elephants including babies walked by on their way to the waterhole.
And in the night you can see the millions of stars shining above Africa - just amazing.

One great thing: No internet in the room - only in the lobby! You are there to enjoy the nature and not to read Twitter & Co.

Thanks Heidi, Michelle, Andre and all others from the kitchen to the gardener for a wonderful experience.

Comment on getting to the Lodge:
We have been travelling with the Shuttle from Johannesburg to Madikwe which is a 4-5hours drive which we enjoyed as we got to see other parts of Africa. However if you want to spend the money or if you are a single traveller, the flight option (1h from Jo'burg) is worth to be looked at. We got our trip organised by "Go2Africa" which was perfectly smooth.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

We visited Tuningi with our 3 kids recently, what a fabulous spot!!! A real treat with a large watering hole in front of the lodge with a discreetly built hide to watch the animals from. The staff were super friendly and took the effort to learn all of our names. Rangers were knowledgable and entertaining. Food was absolutely brilliant and accomodation was perfect. Thank you for making our stay so special!!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank capetownbrige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2019

The minute you arrive at the lodge you are transported to the " Out of Africa" feeling.
A friendly hostess welcomes you with a smile and a refreshing welcome drink. The staff makes you feel at home.
Your air conditioned luxury room is a haven of understated african oppulance.

The food served is the best I have ever had. You will put on a little weight while visiting.

Game drives are undertaken with the best guides in the business.

Heidi and her team is the best in what they do. It has been a long times since I have been spoiled so much!!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alwyns2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2019 via mobile

We have been at the lodge for 4 nights in febr 2019. (And wanted more!!) The staff was very respectful always present but always very reserved and not bothering us at all. They always presented themselves and inquired about our day and experience so far. The lodge was great with outdoor shower and view on all the animals crossing! The pool adjacent to our lodge was mainly not used by other guests so it was like a private pool! We meet Heidi the first 2 nights was very nice afterwards it was Michele which is a delightful person. She took the time to prepare our last evening with them in a very special way.
Our ranger was Andre. He is super prepared on all from flora and fauna to even the skyline and stars...and what we saw is that he really did this out of love for the animals and not a job. We always did something fun and seeing all the animals was the delight of the day! I even asked him to write down all the animals we saw and kindly he did take time to do so.
The food...I would have never expected to find reviewed African cuisine in a game reserve. It’s was absolutely stunning!!! Most of the time a was full and could not eat anymore but just for the taste and presentation I really wanted to eat it all. We even had one night a barbecue with view on the animals coming to drink water.
The location was stunning, the waterhole for the elephants (I even got chased by one—-very scary, apparently I did not listen to advices from the ranger!!) the tuningi tree which is 800 years old!
We had massages in our room on the terrace seeing and hearing the animals.
Another great thing is that internet was only in the mai lodge so the word of the day was relaxing and getting in touch with the nature surrounding us. Also the rooms did not have tv so even better!
I return from tuningi with a feeling as being part of a greater family. Everybody really made us feel part of the family and took to great lengths to make us fell more relaxed, in touch with the nature but also taking in all the particular little things!
I can only say it was the best experience I ever had in South Africa!
We will define fly return with friends and family!
Thank you Michele & Andre for making our stay the best one!!!

Ioana & Mauro (the newlyweds)

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ioanab825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2019

If I say I’ve forgotten how many times we’ve visited Tuningi, I’m not telling a fib! There is absolutely zero to ‘complain’ about and we give it 20 out of 10 for every single aspect of our stay. Heidi, Gavin and their team are just amazing. We feel like old friends / one of the family. The accommodation is wonderful, the main lodge is superb, the staff are exceptional, the meals are 5*, and the game drives ...... Gavin was on a mission to show the Big Five to our fellow guests and achieved it within two days. Tuningi have now built a hide by the waterhole which is their piece de resistance - herds and herds of elephants every day; morning, noon, and night, and of course so close. Also buffalo, giraffe, zebra, buck, etc., etc. For an ellie addict what bliss to shower outside with elephants trekking past in front of your very eyes!
While we were there we had a slight hiccup - my husband tripped, fell and cracked a rib. Gavin was there immediately and amazingly reassuring. He called the Park paramedic who came to examine my husband and dispell our fears. All the staff showed heartfelt sympathy and concern. We hope we haven’t ‘blotted our copybook’ and will be welcome on our return!
Gavin and Heidi - we love you x

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews