We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$1 241
View deal
Hotels.com
US$1 241
View deal
Priceline
US$1 222
View deal
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
255
11
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
255
11
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole game drives outdoor shower other guests every meal excellent game viewing five star viewing deck magical place food is excellent special place off road heidi petrus accommodation impala waterhole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

This was our 4th trip to Africa. We booked this through Kerr and Downey who in turn booked it with Wilderness Safari. They charged great prices for cheap sparse food. The guides were a 2 at best.
Tuning i was run by 2 couples . Imagine our guide wouldn’t give up the front seat of the Jeep next to him as it was reserved for his camera ! His girlfriend was one of the managers . Good chance to complain how lazy he was and didn’t try to hard to go the extra mile (so to speak)! The other guide who’s girlfriend was the other manager was so rude. The wild dogs had crossed the river. I asked how far that was he said 2 hours ! I asked to go and we would pay and they just gave us a flat NO! Not even an effort! Secondly we weren’t told this was kid friendly ! Our group was another couple with a 7 yr old who kept screaming out the animals name and the elusive black rhino ran off! This happened 3 days in a row.
Wilderness Safari who we stayed with in Namibia also has camps with guides that were so lazy!
Kerr and Downey booked us many years ago and just not the same company !!!!
Sadly our trip to Namibia was ruined by the guides and awful food ( I had food poisoning ) and when I wrote to Kerr and Downey they said the camp said I didn’t ask for medication! Really not eating and being pasty colour at all meals would be a clue . Wilderness safari was just awful from not flying over the shipwreck which Is why we went to the skeleton coast and stayed st Hoanib awful food awful guides to kuala where we went to quad bike on the sand dunes and did not!!!!
I would avoid all these companies when we return to Africa and we will!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
13  Thank alefbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

The staff, Heidi and Gavin went out of their way in all aspects to make our stay a memorable experience and we will be back at Tuningi without a doubt. The food is fantastic and our sightings unbelieveable. Gavin makes you feel so relaxed and has such knowledge of animals and the bush that you never want the game drives to end. Thank you all at Tuningi. Until next time

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank cs1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Love the Madikwe game reserve as the density and variety of game is high. Chances of seeing the big 5 within two drives is no exception! The cottages have everything but a plunge pool which we didn't miss as the lodge has two proper swimming pools. Food, ambience and service by the staff are fantastic. Game drives were exceptional the ranger Jacques was very pleasant and knowledgeable with a no nonsense attitude which fitted us well having been on many many safaris before. Haven’t seen so much game for a long time including the elusive black rhino, white rhino, wild dogs, leopards, lions, cheetahs, giraffe, plenty elephants and all the rest of the usual you spot. Hope to be back in spring or so.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter_Ahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We loved every minute of our stay at Tuningi and would definitely go again. Heidi and her amazing team went out their way to make sure we were comfortable and cared for. The rooms are spacious and have lovely views over the bush. The food is delicious and we looked forward to every meal.

The lodge is kid friendly with lots of games and activities for kids. Our two year old was spoilt rotten with attention and treats from all of the staff. She really felt at home, which meant we could all relax.

Our ranger, Gavin, was fantastic and went out of his way to show us all that Madikwe has to offer. Our group has been on a number of safaris throughout Africa, but Gavin treated us to some once-in-a-lifetime sightings. We were lucky enough to see lion and cheetah kills and mating leopards. Wow!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ellakapella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Wow.... we made our second visit to Tuningi after 9 years and boy were we not disappointed. The ambience and the tranquility of the lodge was just more magical than we remembered. There are very few places we have been where you can honestly say that the second time around was (if possible) even better then the first experience. From the moment we arrived at the small landing strip at the Madikwe reserve the service and hospitality was incredible. The staff who attended to our every need in the lodge were fantastic (thank you Chantelle, Charity, Patrick, Audrey, Kennedy and the rest of the team). The individual lodges are beautiful and maintained to a high standard. And to compliment this our game drives (with our Ranger Jacques) were amazing. The knowledge, experience, humour and gravitas of Jacques made our drives exciting, interesting and they passed far too quickly !Over the course of the two days we were able to see all the Big 5 which was truly am amazing experience. We were also fortunate to see black and white rhino which is very rare. We cant say enough praise for the way we were looked after on our trip and we will definitely not be waiting another 9 years before we return. It was just magical... thank you.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews