We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$1 219
View deal
Expedia.comUS$1 219
Booking.comUS$1 222
PricelineUS$1 222
CheapTicketsUS$1 219
eDreamsUS$1 222
Orbitz.comUS$1 219
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
255
11
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
255
11
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watering hole game drives outdoor shower other guests every meal excellent game viewing five star viewing deck magical place food is excellent special place off road heidi petrus accommodation impala waterhole
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Wow.... we made our second visit to Tuningi after 9 years and boy were we not disappointed. The ambience and the tranquility of the lodge was just more magical than we remembered. There are very few places we have been where you can honestly say that the second time around was (if possible) even better then the first experience. From the moment we arrived at the small landing strip at the Madikwe reserve the service and hospitality was incredible. The staff who attended to our every need in the lodge were fantastic (thank you Chantelle, Charity, Patrick, Audrey, Kennedy and the rest of the team). The individual lodges are beautiful and maintained to a high standard. And to compliment this our game drives (with our Ranger Jacques) were amazing. The knowledge, experience, humour and gravitas of Jacques made our drives exciting, interesting and they passed far too quickly !Over the course of the two days we were able to see all the Big 5 which was truly am amazing experience. We were also fortunate to see black and white rhino which is very rare. We cant say enough praise for the way we were looked after on our trip and we will definitely not be waiting another 9 years before we return. It was just magical... thank you.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Our second stay here and once again we were not disappointed. A beautiful experience for our family of 3. These guys just go the extra mile and we could not fault one thing on our visit. The new "hide" is fantastic and we could sit there all day admiring the various animals coming to the water hole. Service is 5 star and they really looked after our son with meals and kids club. Every day just got better with the wildlife and our guide was very informative.

All the staff know how to do it and they do it well.

We hope you get some rain very soon and see you all in January 2019.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kjandsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

After spending days researching the perfect safari to celebrate my Wife's recent PhD I decided on Madikwe. I picked Tuningi Lodge based on the reviews, wonderful pictures and excellent customer service from Marli. We were warmly greeted by Heidi who gave us a brief tour and made us feel at home. This was the first introduction to the best hospitality I've ever experienced. Charity parked our car for us and brought our bags to our suite. Our suite was absolutely stunning with a huge deck overlooking a popular path the animals take to the watering hole. We saw an elephant pass by within a few minutes of arriving. We were a bit nervous about the meals since my wife and I are both vegan ( except for eggs ) and gluten free. Can't take us anywhere!
Before I booked I made note of that and Tuningi said that they would be able to accommodate our dietary restrictions. Not only did they accommodate us but they went well beyond our expectations! We had a completely different meal everyday and every meal was incredible. They even made gluten-free vegan muffins for our game drive snack. Amazing!
Since the lodge only has about 6 suites, our first 2 game drives with Jacques were just us. We really got to know Jacques and learned a lot. He is an incredible tracker with tons of knowledge about the reserve and all of it's animals. We shared many laughs together and he made a lasting impression on us.
Throughout our 6 drives we saw Elephants, Rhinos, Cape Buffalo, Zebras, Giraffes, Impalas, Baboons, 2 prides of lions, Wart Hogs, Wildebeests and a Black Mamba!
As I mentioned before the hospitality was almost as impressive as the animals. You get to meet all of the staff and they remember your name. Our rooms were cleaned during our drives and something special was left everyday.
Check out was incredibly easy and Heidi was more than happy to let us view the watering hole from the newly dug hide out one last time. My wife and I were genuinely sad to leave. Staying at Tuningi was an experience of a lifetime and we can't wait to visit again!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

This was our first trip to South Africa to celebrate a significant birthday, and I am SO pleased we chose Madikwe Private Game Reserve and Tuningi Lodge in particular. From the moment our guide, Cornelius, picked us up from the air strip, we were spotting wildlife and our arrival at the Lodge coincided with a herd of elephants drinking at the local waterhole (which was to be a regular occurrence while we were there). The Lodge itself is beautiful and the accommodation just perfect. The food was first rate - beautiful produce prepared well (and with a few African specialities for we tourists to experience & enjoy). But it’s the staff and the wildlife viewing that is the real highlight. Thanks so much to Cornelius for his enthusiasm & skill in locating & getting up close & personal with so many of Africa’s animals. On our day of departure, bad weather prevented our planned light plane transfer back to Jo’Burg, but Chantelle went above & beyond in her efforts to secure us a road transfer back to the airport in time to fly on to Cape Town. When you arrive and return to Tuningi, the staff greet you at the door and say “ Welcome Home”.... and that’s how this place feels, like home (but with awesome animals!). Can not recommend it highly enough and I look forward to returning.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wooders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

My parents, two sons (age 10 and 14) had a wonderful time hosted by Tuningi Safari lodge where we saw leopard, lions, elephant (close up), cheetah, hyena and much more. Our guide was super experienced and able to cater to us (who go to on safari often) and an Italian family who had never been on safari before. The breakfasts and deserts were superb. The rooms were very comfortable with great views (we had a family suite with 2 large bedrooms, a lounge, kitchen and our own deck). The swimming pool was small but perfect for cooling down.

Date of stay: December 2017
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews