We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
70
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar african art safari lodge amazing collection well stocked library south africa wild dogs private plunge pool per vehicle internet access game drives white rhino the reserve total privacy an amazing experience game viewing experience dream come true
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Words cannot describe what an awesome experience we had at Mateya! Any expectations we had were far exceeded. From the friendly and amazing staff to the safari experience, all was perfection. We really enjoyed our evening cocktails with the friendly staff, chatting about the days adventures. Christine, Judith, Cornelius, Vern and Max were so much fun and made us feel so welcome. One last shout out to our amazing safari guide Kevin and, our great tracker Laz. They made the safaris so much fun and a lifetime experience. I still miss our coffee and sundowners in the bush. Kevin's knowledge of the bush and wildlife was outstanding and he went above and beyond expectations with helping my husband with photography. Our pictures would not be what they are without his help. Thank you Mateya for an experience of a lifetime.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipH2641, General Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2018

All of us at Mateya Safari Lodge want to thank you for taking the time to give us such a amazing review. We had fun spending time with you while on safari. I will share your review with the team.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Warm regards,
The Mateya team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Mateya recently with two other couples. Our time at the lodge exceeded our hopes and expectations in every way. The staff were to a person professional, friendly, helpful and catered to our every need. The game guides demonstrated their knowledge and expertise as they led us around Madikwe’s vast landscape and found animals in every corner of the park. The lodge itself is a masterpiece with beautiful African art, a wine cellar, a great terrace for meals and even a place for WiFi. We truly hope to return!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Bu1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipH2641, Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review of Mateya Safari Lodge. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Madikwe Game Reserve. We will convey your thanks to the staff.
We hope to welcome you back to Mateya again soon.
Warm regards from the Mateya Safari Lodge tem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We think this is by far the most attractive lodge of our trips, with beautiful art and African design throughout, and with the best food. There is a watering hole that attracts wildlife, in case you want to see even more between game drives. We saw many animals on all rides, unlike in 2015 when there was a drought in Madikwe. The staff, guides, and trackers are wonderful, and love what they are doing. Thanks to Africa Adventure for recommending Mateya to us.

Room tip: There are only 5 suites; number 1 is closest to main lodge.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nsflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipH2641, General Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and taking the time to write this review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit to Mateya and so happy to hear that the staff, food and drives were wonderful.

We hope that you have amazing memories and that we can host you again in the near future.

Warmest regards from all of us at Mateya Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Family of four spent four wonderful days/nights at Mateya. Everything was top notch! Game drives were fabulous with Werner and Paul. Learned so much about the animals and Madikwe Park. Lodge was outstanding in every way. Had an anniversary dinner in Wine Cellar with special cake. Trip of a lifetime and many many thanks to Mateya team.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank hunterlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, General Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Thank you so much for the compliments and taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and that we could help to make your anniversary celebration memorable for you all.

We would love to welcome you back for another stay with us.

Warmest regards from all of us at Mateya Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

My husband and I visited Mateya and were thrilled by the experience which I rate 5 stars. At one time, we were the only guests, and at other times, we shared the entire lodge with only two others. Upon arrival, the manager and staff offered us a welcome drink and a meet-and-greet with the chef who requested allergies and preferences so she could accommodate us with the appropriate home-made treats. Meals were delicious and plentiful served by attentive staff on a deck overlooking the game reserve where we saw elephants and a rhino along with a variety of birds.

On safari, we had both a tracker (Sam) and a guide (Dillon) who expertly maneuvered the covered vehicle to find and follow tracks and explain what we were looking for while in "hot pursuit." Dillon was quite a wealth of information and oozed genuine zeal for every kind of wild life. We also appreciated how he partnered with guides from nearby camps to share sightings over the radio which enabled guests across lodges to see an array of animals. Of note, the morning and evening drives got quite chilly, perhaps due to time of year. Warm blankets were readily available in the vehicle to help us, and my beanie and gloves provided the extra warmth I needed.

Our room was its own spacious very clean cabin also overlooking the game reserve. It was quite a walk up and down steps from the main house where meals were served, but, for us, the activity hit the spot as we needed the exercise after sitting for some hours on both morning and afternoon game drives, and consuming three large meals and high tea.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DebMDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, General Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about our home and team. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Sam and Dylan both enjoyed the time shared with you out in the bush.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards from all of us at Mateya Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews