We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
70
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar african art safari lodge amazing collection well stocked library south africa wild dogs private plunge pool per vehicle internet access game drives white rhino the reserve total privacy an amazing experience game viewing experience dream come true
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

My husband and I visited Mateya and were thrilled by the experience which I rate 5 stars. At one time, we were the only guests, and at other times, we shared the entire lodge with only two others. Upon arrival, the manager and staff offered us a welcome drink and a meet-and-greet with the chef who requested allergies and preferences so she could accommodate us with the appropriate home-made treats. Meals were delicious and plentiful served by attentive staff on a deck overlooking the game reserve where we saw elephants and a rhino along with a variety of birds.

On safari, we had both a tracker (Sam) and a guide (Dillon) who expertly maneuvered the covered vehicle to find and follow tracks and explain what we were looking for while in "hot pursuit." Dillon was quite a wealth of information and oozed genuine zeal for every kind of wild life. We also appreciated how he partnered with guides from nearby camps to share sightings over the radio which enabled guests across lodges to see an array of animals. Of note, the morning and evening drives got quite chilly, perhaps due to time of year. Warm blankets were readily available in the vehicle to help us, and my beanie and gloves provided the extra warmth I needed.

Our room was its own spacious very clean cabin also overlooking the game reserve. It was quite a walk up and down steps from the main house where meals were served, but, for us, the activity hit the spot as we needed the exercise after sitting for some hours on both morning and afternoon game drives, and consuming three large meals and high tea.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DebMDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, General Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about our home and team. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Sam and Dylan both enjoyed the time shared with you out in the bush.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards from all of us at Mateya Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Wonderful place to be spoiled and experience the best that the bushveld can offer! Beautiful lodge, friendly staff, mouth-watering food and all over a very special experience. Would go back again next time!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnalizeT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards from all of us at Mateya Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This was not only the highlight of our two week vacation but one of the best we have experienced...again, primarily due to the wonderful staff. We (wife and 12 yr old daughter) were celebrating my birthday and stayed here for 4 nights 5 days. The lodge is very private with only 5 villas. We stayed in Suite 2 (each suite have their own pool, which I enjoyed daily). We were wowed by the first moment we arrived and felt not only like we were the most important people there but like family.
The grounds and suites are truly luxurious with ample African antiques and decor. The layout makes every seating area a feast for the eyes and every suite seems to ensure total privacy. The cleaning staff was amazing as turndown, laundry services etc were done without us ever knowing. The food was absolutely fantastic and every night we were treated to a new location for dinner by candle light.
The game drives were truly a joy as not only did we get to see many endangered species (saw a serval, very hard to spot) like wild dogs, lions, cheetahs, rhinos, and hyenas (they were feeding on an elephant carcass at night) but also a slew of others. The drives were everything our family could wish for and their vehicles are the best around: max 4 per vehicle, though we had the vehicle to ourselves the whole time as did the other guests. The vehicles were brand new and only had two rows of seating for guests while all the other lodges had three rows (for the same size vehicles). This definitely allowed us much more comfort.
However, the true gem was the staff from our server Maxwell to the wonderful ladies Stacey and Christine who greeted and took care of us everyday to our fantastic ranger (Verner) and his tracker (Paul). They took care of all our concerns, like when we went on a bush walk, we could not take our daughter due to her age. However, the wonderful ladies took care of her and made us feel so comfortable that she was in good hands. Lets say that all three of us want to go back again,,,now!

Room tip: All rooms are very private...we loved suite 2
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mummum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, General Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and wonderful review of Mateya Safari Lodge. We are delighted to hear that Mateya was the highlight of your vacation and that you enjoyed your experience with us so much.

It was a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us and we are glad that you left Mateya with special memories for your family to share.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards from all of us at Mateya Safari Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

My wife and I went on our 25th anniversary and what a beautiful place to go!!
The guides were fabulous and the wildlife that we saw was a bucket list thing to see.
I would highly recommend Mateya lodge to anyone!!
The food we were served was superb and the staff was so courteous and helpful.
We will definitely be returning ASAP.
I myself really enjoyed the private pool and had a dip daily.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LindaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your recommendation.

We are so glad to hear that the food was superb, the guides fabulous and that we were able to make your 25th anniversary such a memorable one.

Nothing pleases us more than to see our guests come back and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mateya.

Warmest regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

We spent 3 nights over the holidays at Mateya and it was amazing. The art, the facilities, the hospitality and the guides were world class. Every wish was catered to and the safari views were breathtaking. I can’t say enough about our stay. I can’t wait to go back.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 892jonathant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, General Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review of Mateya Safari Lodge. The team will be delighted to hear this feedback.

We are looking forward welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews