We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
70
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar african art safari lodge amazing collection well stocked library south africa wild dogs private plunge pool per vehicle internet access game drives white rhino the reserve total privacy an amazing experience game viewing experience dream come true
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2016

unbelievable, we had the best of time
stayed for 3 nights, 2 safari drives a day, best food, best service,
every thing about Mateya safari lodge was perfect,
the ranger, Werner, was a walking encyclopedia, he was so interesting to listen to,
while driving us around showing us the bush and its animals and taking such good care of us.
the tracker Poul, was super nice and helpful, got us to see a lion, a lioness with her cubs, and so many other animals, his relaxed being was super nice to have around us,
Bes, the waiter was so attentive to all our needs, with such a smiling, nice personality,it was a pleasure,
Chreastin and stacy, at the reseption, always around to help with any thing we needed,
the place is so beatifull, with lots of amazing African art it almost feels like a museum, but a one that is fun to hang out in...
it was probebly the best romantic holiday we had ever,

Room tip: their are only 5 rooms at the lodge, all stunningly beautiful, super comfortable, and very privet
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BhadraG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind hearted review and all the compliments Bhadra! We are very happy to read that you had such a great time with us and I look forward to passing your praise on to Werner and Paul, they are both very passionate about the bush and sharing it with guests.

It was our pleasure to have hosted you and we happily invite you to return for another safari with us!

Warmest regards from all of us at Mateya Safari Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing visit to Mateya. The rooms were beautifully appointed and very spacious. The service at Mateya was top notch, especially from Stacy, Connie and Phillip. Nothanda was an amazing massage therapist...5 reviewers all agree!
We had fantastic meals especially the prawn salad lunch that we requested 3 days in a row! Thank you chef Cuxton for going out on a limb for us!
A beautiful retreat and wonderful animal sightings!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 623heidib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Heidi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Mateya. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and found the service and staff excellent.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest regards from all of us at Mateya Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at this beautiful lodge. This is our 4th safari, encompassing 10 camps, all in wonderful 5 star accommodation in SA, Zambia and Botswana and Mateya is up there with the best of them. The African art collection built up by the owner over many years is stunning. A special mention must go to our guide, Thomas, and our tracker, Devine; they made our game drives exciting, varied informative and generally successful, managing 6 of the magnificent 7 including some amazing viewings and some great tracking by Devine, who nearly walked into a lion at one point! (Thomas, Devine - The Princess sends her best!!).

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank ColinK1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Colin,

Thank you for your review of your visit to Mateya Safari Lodge.

We are glad to hear that you had such a great time with Thomas and Devine and found the African art stunning.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards from all of us at Mateya Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

A small lodge, only 5 "cabins", but it is equipped to the "9's". You arrive in a gated area, and are met with warm towels to clean your face or hands. Original artwork, including full size bronzes and oil paintings are throughout the facility. The meals are fabulous and a dinner card describes what you are eating in each course. The "cabin's" are meticulously adorned with art. A Fireplace, a swimming pool and marble bathrooms with inside and outside showers are just a small part of the facilities. The wild game drives are fantastic with rangers and trackers that are extremely knowledgeable.

Room tip: All the rooms have a great view of the watering hole that the animals come down to.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DouglasM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Douglas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience of Mateya Safari Lodge.

We hope to welcome you to Mateya again in the future.

Warmest regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We spent a splendid 3 days here, and can recommend it heartily.

Our affable and knowledgeable guide (Daniel, with tracker Sam) gave us a marvelous experience. We saw the big 5, plus cheetah and wild dogs (!) and lots of other species (hyena, warthogs, birds galore). We also got to explore several different kinds of terrain in this area--fascinating in its own right.

The lodge itself is first class. Our room (one of only five) was comfortably opulent: fireplace, private outdoor shower, well-stocked fridge. The outdoor deck was a nice place to relax.

The food and the staff in the dining room were quite marvelous. At almost every meal, I thought to myself: how did they prepare such yummy and exotic food here--in the middle of nowhere?

Mateya--like all sensible people--is committed to helping save the Rhino: bravo for all the work they're doing.

Pro tip: during out time there, the temperature on game drives changed dramatically. Something like a knit ski cap will make morning drives MUCH more pleasant. (If you're susceptible to cold, gloves are in order.) And, those shorts that allow you to zip on legs to make them longs--they're not really stylish, but the make hot afternoon games drives MUCH more pleasant (especially when the temperature falls again after sunset).

Pro Tip 2: the airline that brought us in to Madikwe has VERY little space for baggage. Be prepared to downsize considerably. If at all possible, you should have your own small-ish duffle-ish bag: the ones provided by the airline were rather flimsy.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H, Manager at Mateya Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Andrew,

Thank you so very much for your detailed and most kind feedback of your stay with us. It is so heartwarming to hear of the positive impact our team had on your stay and I will be sharing your lovely write up with the staff too. You have been very lucky with the wildlife sightings indeed.

We all would love the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warmest regards from all of us at Mateya Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews