We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$637
View deal
Agoda.com
US$614
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/12/18
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$767
PricelineUS$720
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
382
18
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
382
18
1
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground hide water hole watering hole game drives returning guests home away from home field guide wild animals two night stay a wonderful place to stay the reserve game viewing experience a special place cape buffalo bird life safari experience four days
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2021

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at The Bush House,Madikwe. Wow! Can highly recommend this wonderful oasis in the bushveld. The staff are amazing, so is the food. The accommodation is luxurious and fully supplied with all you need.
The added bonus is of course the water hole right at the house and as for the hide which enables you to be up close and personal with the animals coming for a drink is indescribable. To be so close to elephants you can just about touch them.
Thank you,thank you, thank you

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cason100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021

It was such a pleasure to have you all with us and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at the lodge. The hide really is an amazing way to experience the animals from so close.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2021

Definitely worth a visit - staff were friendly, courteous and saw to every need. Game guide had an incredible and diverse amount of knowledge. Food and accommodation were top notch - more than a home away from home. The wildlife experience we had was just amazing, something different on every drive. The garden was beautiful and was lovely to sit in and watch the birds or the animals up to their antics at the waterhole. The underground hide gave a different and closer experience to game viewing. A must for anyone interested in photography. There is a small pool which we didn't try but would definitely be worthwhile with the summer heat.

Room tip: Waterhole facing has it's own terrace
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J1307EYlindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2021

Thank you very much for your review and the stunning photographs which we really appreciate. The team is so happy that you enjoyed your stay as well as the sightings both at the lodge and on drive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2021

A much needed 5 day breakaway from all the hustle, bustle and stress at work were wisely spent at The Bush House lodge in Madikwe. The tranquility of the lodge and its busy waterhole, the friendliness of the staff who are committed to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as they can and the exiting game drives run by experienced guides makes for a unique and truly African bush safari experience. All the C19 protocols are in place and being followed giving tourists peace of mind in this regard. The photography opportunities offered by the underground hide at the lodge waterhole and the citing's during the game drives are truly fantastic making the stay that much more memorable. As always the cuisine is top class and having dinner at different locations at the lodge ranging from inhouse to out in the open next to the waterhole creates a special ambiance allowing for some quality time with your spouse and friends. This was our 4th annual visit in a row and the experience keeps getting better and better. If you are looking to relax in comfort and style, the The Bush House has to be on top of your list. Well done and thank you to Gordon, Sue, the Bush House management and staff for making every visit a memorable African safari experience.

Room tip: Ask for the room overlooking the waterhole to have some great views of game visiting to drink.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EssieEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

As always it is such a pleasure having the two of you in camp and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. The hide never fails to offer the most amazing sightings and photo opportunities. We are all looking forward to seeing your amazing photos and video!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

A lovely and comfortable farm house in the middle of the bush with a waterhole just off the garden where we saw elephant, rhino, jackals and even hyena while sipping wine.

Our host, Rebecca, made us feel so welcome and went above and beyond to attend to every need. Our guide, Damien, took us to the most incredible sightings and was very knowledgeable about the birds and animals he pointed out.

I can't say enough good things about the venue, the staff and the wildlife. An amazing experience.

Room tip: If you feel like skipping a game drive, the nearby waterhole and nature trails will keep the fomo at bay!
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank davidkU5596CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

We loved having you back with and thank you for making us the venue for the birthday celebrations. Delighted that you had good sightings and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

An incredible four days spent at The Bush House. Could not ask for a more perfect setting or hands on staff. Staff were friendly and helpful with every aspect of our stay. The underground hide is a MUST, never experienced game so close up. We saw 4 of the big five in one day as well as a cheetah with her 3 cubs. From start to finish what an amazing experience!!!!!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mongoose1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Wonderful to have you back in camp with us as always. Delighted that you had such good sightings as well as your gecko experience ! Here's to the next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews