We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$795
View Deal
Hotels.com
US$795
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$842
US$672
View Deal
SAVE US$170
Booking.comUS$788
eDreamsUS$788
ZenHotels.comUS$842
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
360
18
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
360
18
1
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground hide water hole watering hole game drives eye level field guide home from home wild animals two night stay the reserve small lodge fantastic stay a special place bird life fellow guests safari experience wonderful lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2021 via mobile

I added a two-night stay to the Bush House over New Years with a group of friends - what a better way to avoid the Covid pandemic than hiding away in the bush! As always, the service at the Bush House was top notch with the team remaining as friendly as always. Damien provided great guiding, with the highlights including a leopard roaming in the second morning, proceeded quickly by a lioness and her adolescent cubs.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank astlmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and it is always so much fun having you in camp with us. Thank you for your kind comments. The sightings one gets in Madikwe really are very precious and memorable. Here's to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020

Just returned from my fourth stay at The Bush House. Being a malaria free area so no need for prophylaxes and only about a four hour drive it is very uncomplicated to be there. It is indeed so welcoming and one is made to feel like an honoured guest by the warm, friendly, helpful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. The room was well appointed and with the bathroom, had all the little niceties to ensure your comfort.
Food was delicious and my grandchildren were able to choose their favourites from the Children's menu.
Damian, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable, patiently explaining the special features of the bush and even went to the trouble of providing a small stepladder to make getting into and out of the game-viewing vehicle easy. He also went to a great deal of trouble to make sure we had very special sightings.
I will definitely be back!
Thank you Sue and the team

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank davner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2020

It is always such a joy having you with us and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your very kind feedback and for choosing us as your treat for the family . Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2020 via mobile

This place is amazing! We saw so many animals on the game drives and got incredible photos. The staff was wonderful! I highly recommend The Bush House especially if you want to see it all. Such a magical place.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank C1673RNangelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2020 via mobile

Spent 4 wonderful days at the Bush House with our nearest and dearest. This place never fails to impress, a real home away from home in beautiful Madikwe. The Bush house family always make us feel so spoilt and thank you to Sue and Gordon for allowing us to have the whole lodge for our holiday. A real MUST on your list of bush destinations!!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Grannyto4girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2020

It is always such a pleasure having you with us and just as much so with this family visit. The sound of children playing in the garden is one of the best. Thank you very much for your kind feedback and we look forward to your stay in March.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2020 via mobile

I couldn’t have picked a better place to take my lovely wife on our belated 15th anniversary! From the moment I made the booking until we left in the pouring rain, the staff carried us on their hands!

The food was so delicious and even more importantly, I didn’t leave the table still wanting more. They even had my favourite non-alcoholic beer in stock and a bottle of non-alcoholic bubbly waited in our room after one afternoon game drive!

Now to the reason for which we al go to Madikwe- the game drives! Our guide was truly that! Damian’s wide knowledge of, not only the flashy ‘Big 5’ and other popular animals, but also the vast bird life as well as flora, was clearly identified and even explained! We ended up ticking off 73 birds on our new bird app!

My first time in the underground hide delivered a magnitude of photos. All from an angle I’ve never experienced before!

Even with all the Covid-19 uncertainty, we never felt exposed! Regular screening, sanitising and social distancing maintained! All done in such a way that you didn’t feel harassed or even that you missed out on something because of these extra, but necessary steps!

I most definitely won’t wait another 15 years to go again!!! Truly our “Home away from home”! Next time the kids go with! More than enough to do to keep them occupied!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank constantw187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

We are over the moon that you enjoyed your time at the lodge and thank you for choosing us to celebrate your special occasion.
The team is super proud of the service and attention to detail that they offer and really appreciate your kind feedback.
Here's to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews