We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
358
18
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
358
18
1
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground hide water hole watering hole game drives eye level field guide home from home wild animals two night stay the reserve small lodge fantastic stay a special place bird life fellow guests safari experience wonderful lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2020

In September 2020 we went for a 5-day break-away to The Bush House. As an amateur photographer the sightings were extra special. Our guide Patrick left no stone unturned to get us some memorable photo opportunities. The underground hide at the waterhole provides unique opportunities to photograph game at a different angle. The friendliness of the staff and their willingness to make your stay as comfortable as they can has to be commended. The food is superb and the rooms make for a truly African safari ambiance. Just a wonderful peaceful place to relax, and be close to nature. Congratulations to The Bush House family for a truly unique experience.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssieEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2020

We all so enjoy your visits and are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us again this year. Thank you so much for your very kind comments and the amazing videos that we have posted onto our YouTube section of the website. Your photographs always do us proud. Looking forward to the next time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

The bush house is an intimate bush holiday..max 12 guests and awesome friendly and sttentive staff. 5 star service and food but what took us back for the 2nd time this year is the excellent game viewing...not only on the game drives with the excellent guide Damian but also in their underground hide which provides close encounters with all the game...we got sprayed by eles about 1.5 m from us (see pic) and even saw black rhino at the hide. So no sleeping in between game drives as you are immersed in the life of a very active watering hole.
You will not be disappointed at the bush house. Im going back as soonas possible.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank leeross2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

It was such a pleasure having you with us again. Sorry about being sprayed by the elephants but you must admit it is a great photo opportunity! Our waterhole is wonderfully busy and so glad you had a good time. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

The easiest review is a copy of the mail I sent to the owners.
"Hi Sue,
The four of us had a lovely break at your great lodge.
Not good for you, but great for us that we were the only ones there (due to COVID-19 release, only allowing local travel).
Nadine and her team really spoiled us all the time and we loved the celebration candlelight dinner on the lawn,dance and song they did for our dual 46th anniversaries.
Patrick did an excellent job on the game drives, sensitive to reading the animal’s moods well, dealing effectively with questions from quite experienced animal and bird watchers.
Our sightings were best ever, even better than Sabi Sands.
We loved the lodge itself, our rooms were great and the public spaces were well used to vary our meals to best suit the weather and temperatures.
Your gardens are simply a part of Eden, so verdant, well landscaped and maintained.
Just so peaceful to sit out during the day, enjoying the beauty, animals at the water hole and birds all around.❤️❤️

The new hide is first class in every respect. Seeing relaxed elephants, safely, from 3m away who once sniffed at perfume with their trunks, was just mind bending.❤️❤️
We will be back and both couples will be trying to bring our overseas families with us when time and COVID allows it.
Please pass our compliments onto your staff.
They are a credit to your finely tuned and well maintained operation.
Well done to you and Gordon - you run an excellent show to very high standards.
Best
Colin and Sheila Kemp"

Room tip: Both rooms were excellent and had outdoor private seating.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ColinStuKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

We are all so thrilled that you so enjoyed your time with us and are delighted at your very kind feedback. The team is so happy to be able to host guests again as they are really proud of the service they offer. It goes without saying that we would love to have you and the families join us again when overseas travel is allowed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

Wow, as photographers the hide is an absolute delight and it was exciting to see all the different species tight there from the comfort of the lush green garden. The staff are super friendly. Great getaway and you drive tar roads except for the last two kilometres into the reserve which is a great plus!

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hengelenek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Thank you for your kind feedback which we really appreciate. The hide is an amazing way to view wildlife so close and get different angles for photographing. Trust you got some amazing pictures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Love love love! Such a special place, we went in August and could not wait to return with our nieces in October. The staff are wonderful, the rangers are fantastic. The water hole and underground hide are very special, you get incredibly close to the animals. Not the last they have seen of us, we will definitely be back and highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CadCronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020

Thank you so much for your support and visits to The Bush House. We all have so much fun and are delighted that you enjoy your time with us. Here's to the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews