We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tuningi Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$956
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rhulani Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$887
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tau Game Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$492
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Impodimo Game Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$873
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Madikwe River Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$734
US$712
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bush House(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$665
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$1 557
US$1 495
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Thakadu River Camp(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$567
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Madikwe Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$1 426
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$767
US$725
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
520
33
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
33
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated plunge poolwatering holegame drivesrooms are amazingwater holeanimal sightingsspecial requeststhe reservetotal privacyspa treatmentssafari lodgelarge deckwild dogsan amazing experienceboma dinnerwithin hourspersonal service
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

The lodge is simply the most incredible place I have ever been. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are amazing, and I will never forget the feeling of looking out over breakfast as elephants, lions, giraffes and more wandered up to the watering hole. Truly breathtaking stuff.
Lazarus was our guide who knows all there is to know about any animal you can think of, and with his eagle eyed spotter Prince picking out the tiniest animals even in pitch black, every game drive was different, exciting,informative and loads of fun. I cannot recommended this lodge enough and can’t wait to come back soon!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank patowatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Patowatts,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your magical experience with us in the Madikwe Game Reserve. We are glad to hear that every aspect of your stay was so memorable and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We spent an amazing weekend with friends enjoying the warm hospitality, sublime food and 5-star accommodation! In addition, the staff is outstanding, including the servers, the spa consultants and the game rangers. Our game rangers were very knowledgeable with an outstanding knowledge of the environment, including the flora and fauna in the park. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank donovanm279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Donovan,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm review and endorsement of your stay at the lodge. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the lodge.

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

The bungalows are extremely well appointed and serviced by a team of friendly staff.
the food is tastefully presented and the staff, Eteng , Rosie and Patrick, are exemplary. we found the wine selection to be more than adequate. .
the quality and knowledge of our ranger, Lazarus was amazing.
Tshepi at reception was a true ambassador of Etali and , as with the other staff, bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable.

a holiday that was a truly fantastic experience

Room Tip: bungalows facing the water hole add to the experience
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank r0dney47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Rodney,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, and the effort to mention our fantastic team members by name. It is always welcome when guests appreciate the effort that goes in to each guest's stay.

We hope to see you again soon at the lodge!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Our family truly had the most wonderful experience at Etali Safari Lodge! It was a highlight of our South African vacation! From the moment we arrived and Angie and the staff happily greeted us by name, we knew this lodge was a winner. We were placed in 3 fabulous, spacious, very private suites that had amazing views of the watering hole. Upon entering our rooms, we saw elephants right outside our windows at the watering hole! The game drives that we came for surpassed our expectations. We had Lazarus as a guide and Darius as a tracker. We called them the dynamic duo because they worked so well together and found us more animals than we could have ever hoped for. We've never been, but heard at Kruger, the vehicles could not go off road. In Madikwe, we were able to get extremely close to lions and even watched them feasting on giraffes and zebras! We saw so many varieties of animals all while having great fun and feeling safe. The Etali vehicles are some of the best with plenty of space and covers for the hot sun. What a luxury vacation...when returning from game drives, the Etali staff is completely prepared to feed you many delicious meals. The food is delicious and the wait staff truly remembers your likes and special requests. We felt so spoiled and pampered throughout our 4 day stay! The lodge even has a spa, a small pool, an exercise platform, and even does your laundry for no fee! Be prepared, the game drives in the summer begin early and go fairly late so catch up on your sleep in the later morning hours! We are not a morning family, but never minded as the morning game drives are so worth it. Go with it and I do not recommend requesting a later time as sunrise is a great time to see animals. Setting up a trip to Etali is extremely easy. The office staff is top notch and arranges transfers and other requests very efficiently. Visiting Etali is something our family will always remember and cherish. We wish we had stayed for a few more days. It is outstanding. Be sure to visit and enjoy every moment. We absolutely adored our stay and hope you will as well!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Texastraveler1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Suzanne,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and positive review of your stay with us in the Madikwe Game Reserve. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you at the lodge and we hope to see you again in the future!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We were in Etali there 3 night. As we were 5 people we booked 2 different room (7 & 8). Both of them where water side. All was perfect. The rooms are very nice and well done , with a pure african style. You find All the confort you need and a very nice patio with your personal small pool. Animals just at your steeps. The common area is in the middle of the lodge with an amazing view. The restaurant and food quality is very high (congratulation to the chef). All the services are top level. The safary games we did were all exciting and well managed by 2 rengers each jeep. Max we get 7 people each jeep.
All games we did was longer than 3 hours and we did 2 per day. We saw all big 5 and more other animals. Safe but real african natural touch (you feel not in a reserve). Not lot of people in the reserve due to the few lodge there are...this is great!!! No many jeep around animals to respect the habitat.
Etali is a Quite lodge making you feel the african sounds. The lodge is organizing daily nice child activities like cooking practice or animal description. I could write you more and more. I really strongly suggest Etali lodge to spend 3 nights as perfect time. You will come back with Africa in the heart. Five star experience. Thank to all the Etali staff. Great team. Great Job!
Lucio

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Lucio,

Thank you very much for the kind review and warm endorsement of your stay with us in the Madikwe Game Reserve. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you at the lodge and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews