We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Visit with Sisters”
Review of Etali Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Etali Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the perfect place for a day visit. The lodge is a 50 minute drive from the main gate off the Tlokweng Border. Pre - Booking is a requirement. Confirmation will be made with lodge at the main gate. Warning GPS will not work plus somewhere along the way instinct will have to kick in. Directions are not that readily available. The staff is fantastic. We enjoyed the birthday serenade this weekend. Thato or Thabo you were the epitome of service. We booked some therapies. I suggest Tlhakanya if you really want to distress. The ladies were an absolute pleasure. I really cannot fault the staff. Bravo to the chef. The three course meal was amaze. We saw all of the big 5 just sipping away on the terrace.
I would suggest this for family and friends. Do not stop for pictures unless you have a guide with you.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank zodiac0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Zodiac,

Thank you for taking the time to review your brief day visit to the lodge. It was a pleasure hosting you and your sisters for lunch and your feedback on the quality of our meals and service are well appreciated.

I would like to take this chance to address some of your concerns regarding reaching the lodge. For guests who prefer self drive we do provide detailed directions to the lodge from both Johannesburg and Gaberone. These directions are in pdf format and are provided via email, they are also freely available on our website.

We also have warnings on our website and directions suggesting that guests NOT use GPS, or instinct, in reaching the lodge as these can be unreliable. While limited signage (3) exists inside the Madikwe Game Reserve these only indicate the last few kilometres from the Abjaterskop-Derdepoort Gate. Instead we suggest using the provided maps and pay attention to the distance travelled and indicated on the map.

To avoid any such difficulty we suggest that guests uncomfortable with South African roads use one of our approved air or road transfer options. Whatever option guests choose, they are welcome to stop for pictures on their way in, and out, of the lodge provided they remain on the route described on the map.

We hope to see you again soon the get that 5th star!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The lodge is simply the most incredible place I have ever been. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are amazing, and I will never forget the feeling of looking out over breakfast as elephants, lions, giraffes and more wandered up to the watering hole. Truly breathtaking stuff.
Lazarus was our guide who knows all there is to know about any animal you can think of, and with his eagle eyed spotter Prince picking out the tiniest animals even in pitch black, every game drive was different, exciting,informative and loads of fun. I cannot recommended this lodge enough and can’t wait to come back soon!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank patowatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Patowatts,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your magical experience with us in the Madikwe Game Reserve. We are glad to hear that every aspect of your stay was so memorable and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We spent an amazing weekend with friends enjoying the warm hospitality, sublime food and 5-star accommodation! In addition, the staff is outstanding, including the servers, the spa consultants and the game rangers. Our game rangers were very knowledgeable with an outstanding knowledge of the environment, including the flora and fauna in the park. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank donovanm279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Donovan,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm review and endorsement of your stay at the lodge. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the lodge.

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

The bungalows are extremely well appointed and serviced by a team of friendly staff.
the food is tastefully presented and the staff, Eteng , Rosie and Patrick, are exemplary. we found the wine selection to be more than adequate. .
the quality and knowledge of our ranger, Lazarus was amazing.
Tshepi at reception was a true ambassador of Etali and , as with the other staff, bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable.

a holiday that was a truly fantastic experience

Room Tip: bungalows facing the water hole add to the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank r0dney47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Rodney,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, and the effort to mention our fantastic team members by name. It is always welcome when guests appreciate the effort that goes in to each guest's stay.

We hope to see you again soon at the lodge!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Our family truly had the most wonderful experience at Etali Safari Lodge! It was a highlight of our South African vacation! From the moment we arrived and Angie and the staff happily greeted us by name, we knew this lodge was a winner. We were placed in 3 fabulous, spacious, very private suites that had amazing views of the watering hole. Upon entering our rooms, we saw elephants right outside our windows at the watering hole! The game drives that we came for surpassed our expectations. We had Lazarus as a guide and Darius as a tracker. We called them the dynamic duo because they worked so well together and found us more animals than we could have ever hoped for. We've never been, but heard at Kruger, the vehicles could not go off road. In Madikwe, we were able to get extremely close to lions and even watched them feasting on giraffes and zebras! We saw so many varieties of animals all while having great fun and feeling safe. The Etali vehicles are some of the best with plenty of space and covers for the hot sun. What a luxury vacation...when returning from game drives, the Etali staff is completely prepared to feed you many delicious meals. The food is delicious and the wait staff truly remembers your likes and special requests. We felt so spoiled and pampered throughout our 4 day stay! The lodge even has a spa, a small pool, an exercise platform, and even does your laundry for no fee! Be prepared, the game drives in the summer begin early and go fairly late so catch up on your sleep in the later morning hours! We are not a morning family, but never minded as the morning game drives are so worth it. Go with it and I do not recommend requesting a later time as sunrise is a great time to see animals. Setting up a trip to Etali is extremely easy. The office staff is top notch and arranges transfers and other requests very efficiently. Visiting Etali is something our family will always remember and cherish. We wish we had stayed for a few more days. It is outstanding. Be sure to visit and enjoy every moment. We absolutely adored our stay and hope you will as well!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Texastraveler1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Suzanne,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and positive review of your stay with us in the Madikwe Game Reserve. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you at the lodge and we hope to see you again in the future!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
17,5 km away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
233 reviews
17,5 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
377 reviews
4,5 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11,8 km away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
356 reviews
1,3 km away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
446 reviews
17,6 km away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etali Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etali Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: R 11 823 - R 19 674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Etali Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Etali Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etali Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing