We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Luxury Safari”
Review of Etali Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Etali Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ultimate Luxury Safari”
Reviewed 7 March 2017

The Scene: Having been to Madikwe (and Kruger) before, I was spoilt for choice when trying to pick a good safari lodge for my girlfriend’s first visit to South Africa. After reading some very positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we ended up picking Etali. After 10 days in Cape Town, we flew into O.R. Tambo @ JNB and grabbed our hire car to drive to Madikwe. The trip is about 4.5-5 hours door to door. We left at 11 am and got to the lodge by 4, just in time for the afternoon game drive.

Positives: From the moment we arrived, the family-feel of Etali and their staff stood out and made you feel right at home. We had just spent 4.5 hours on the road and after being greeted with a welcome cocktail, insisted we sit down, relax and eat some food they had saved us from the lunchtime service before worrying about checking in or getting our credit cards, passports, etc. out. This really set the positive tone for our 3 day stay with the wonderful Etali Team. The accommodation is top class, each room is very large and has it’s own deck along with indoor and outdoor showers. There is also a small splash pool to relax in during the day. We had an amazing view from our room which was about 50 metres from a watering hole where we were able to see elephants and other animals come to drink throughout the day. The safaris were truly excellent, with our guides going above and beyond to deliver a sighting of all Big Five during our stay – day 2 of our trip, all Big Five in two game drives.

Negatives: The in-house Spa could be considered slightly pricey for what you get, but this would really be scraping at the bottom of the barrel for an unforgettable stay. As you can probably see from the length of our Positives, this place was hard to fault.

Top Tip: If you are unsure between Madikwe or Kruger, having been to both, Madikwe is far less commercial and quainter (plus there is no need for malaria pills in Madikwe) – and even after choosing this remarkable Game Reserve, you really could not do any better than Etali.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lostinLondon522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 16 March 2017
Dear lostinLondon522,

Thank you very much for the kind, thoughtful and detailed review of your experience at Etali along with your strong recommendation. It is always a pleasure to hear that a guest has appreciated all the effort given by the Etali team to ensure that each stay is unforgettable.

Regarding our spa; while not complementary our spa does make use of the highest quality of health and wellness products and professional spa therapists. We do our best to ensure that our prices are comparable to similar facilities within South Africa. We also offer our steam room and gym facilities complimentary to all guests, regardless of whether they book any additional treatments.

Thank you again for the feedback, we hope to see you again soon at the lodge!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    26
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
188
178
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midrand, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

What a wonderful experience we had at Etali 3 weekends ago. The Mrs' and myself needed a break and Etali was our choice. Since we arrived we were treated like royalty & we soaked-up every moment of it.

Our guide Patrick and tracker Herman, spoiled us with all the magnificent animals and scenery. The hostess Tshepiso really out did her herself as everything was running smoothly at all times. The food was fantastic every meal time, and all credit goes to the Chefs and kitchen staff. The service team was constantly seeing to our needs, with a big shout-out to the trainer Thato, you did a awesome job.

Now to the two Spa ladies, you guys were professional and we had great experience, it was just a pity that the suitcase was too small; as your services are definitely a daily requirement in the rat race we live in. The owners also made us feel welcome as they made their rounds striking conversations with all the guests.

I would recommend a break-away to Etali Safari in Madikwe to the city slickers, safari seekers and couples just needing a break.

To all the staff of Etali Safari, You guys are fantastic & keep it up!

Room Tip: Any room is a great room, you're in the bush and secluded from all other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPRothmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2017
Dear JP,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and thoughtful review. The entire team appreciates your compliments for their hard work, which helped to make your stay so memorable.

We hope to see you again soon at the lodge!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayen-Koblenz
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017

It was a very luxuary and beautiful property.The service was excellent and the team was always friendly. It was fantastic to see how the animals drunk from the waterhole. The safari was unforgettable. We have seen the big five and other amazing animals. All in all it was a beautiful trip.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hase05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2017
Dear Hase,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to hear that all aspects of your stay at the lodge were so memorable. We look forward to hosting you again!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angers, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Just back from Etali Safari Lodge where my husband, our son (16) and myself spent 4 nights and we already miss it ! We had a wonderful time. The place is so welcoming, friendly and in a beautiful setting. We were welcomed and looked after mostly by Tshepi. She is just super nice and professionnal with a big smile! the lodge and the bedrooms are just fantastic. We had room 7 and 8, wonderful view when relaxing in the bath or on the deck, observing various animal and birds. The meals were very tasty, varied and presented with care.

The twice a day safari drives with Jack and Prince were amazing, interesting and also very professionnal. We saw so many animals, and all the big five and more. We were amazed by the numbers of animals we saw. More than we saw before on other safaris in South Africa.

We also enjoyed a few hours at the spa, just wonderful to relax after the early morning drive.

This place is just a true jewel! Would love to go back !

Stayed February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchfrog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2017
Thank you very much for this kind and thoughtful review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your family at the lodge and we are glad to hear that your stay was so memorable. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Our stay at Etali was absolutely memorable in every way. From the moment we arrived we were treated in a way I have rarely experienced while travelling. Every staff member went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible, meeting all our needs and demands on call. Despite the torrential rain that blanketed our time there, we saw every animal we came to see - up so close we could almost touch them. The suites were so well decked out it was difficult to leave them for the game drives. The lodge is situated in a beautiful spot with views out to the savannah, making for gorgeous sunset gazing from the decks, either from the suites or the restaurant. We came with another family and had five kids amongst us who were all made to feel welcome and included at all times. I would highly recommend Etali as a perfect safari experience in South Africa.

Room Tip: All suites have excellent views though some are a little larger for families if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2017
Dear Janine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your incredible experience with our Tripadvisor community. I was an absolute pleasure hosting your family, and we hope to see you again at the lodge soon.

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
18.3 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
349 reviews
11.8 km away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
288 reviews
1.3 km away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
579 reviews
14.0 km away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
468 reviews
17.6 km away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#11 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etali Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etali Safari Lodge

Property: Etali Safari Lodge
Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price range (per night): R10 445 - R17 044
Hotel Class:5 star — Etali Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Etali Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etali Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing