We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Etali Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveller rating
507
33
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
33
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated plunge poolwatering holegame drivesrooms are amazingwater holespecial requestsanimal sightingsthe reservetotal privacywild dogsspa treatmentsan amazing experiencelarge decksafari lodgewithin hourspersonal servicespecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Our stay at Etali was absolutely memorable in every way. From the moment we arrived we were treated in a way I have rarely experienced while travelling. Every staff member went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible, meeting all our needs and demands on call. Despite the torrential rain that blanketed our time there, we saw every animal we came to see - up so close we could almost touch them. The suites were so well decked out it was difficult to leave them for the game drives. The lodge is situated in a beautiful spot with views out to the savannah, making for gorgeous sunset gazing from the decks, either from the suites or the restaurant. We came with another family and had five kids amongst us who were all made to feel welcome and included at all times. I would highly recommend Etali as a perfect safari experience in South Africa.

Room Tip: All suites have excellent views though some are a little larger for families if required
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Janine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your incredible experience with our Tripadvisor community. I was an absolute pleasure hosting your family, and we hope to see you again at the lodge soon.

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Another lovely and relaxing stay at this wonderful place. Etali is a small and very personally run lodge with a lovely atmosphere, great rooms and game drives that are worth every minute.

it must be god if we have returned three times!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PeterLLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your third visit to the lodge. We really do feel that our many return guests form part of our Etali Family and act as a testimony to the great success of the Etali Team. We hope to see you back again soon for visit number 4!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

My husband and I spent four nights at Etali last week and cannot say enough nice things about this place. I've been to a few other reserves and lodges in South Africa and Namibia, so far this is my favorite.

We were greeted upon arrival with welcome drinks and given an excellent room with a view of the waterhole. The room was spotless and beautiful. Our favorite part was the deck, outdoor shower, and plunge pool which were great for relaxing between game drives. We had turn down service nightly and since we had mentioned that this was our honeymoon they had rose petals on the bed one night and arranged a private dinner on our deck another night.

The food is delicious and you will not go hungry while staying here! They provide coffee/tea with light snacks before morning drives, breakfast cooked to your liking after the drive, lunch at whatever time you would like, afternoon tea before evening drives, and finally dinner after that drive. On our last morning they arranged a breakfast cooked out in the bush after our game drive which was a really lovely way to end the trip.

The best part of our stay was definitely the game drives. Madikwe Game Reserve has some of the better game viewing I've experienced while in South Africa. Our guide, Reinhardt, and tracker, Matthews, were absolutely amazing and had so much knowledge to share about even the tiniest of animals. They made sure to ask us if there was anything in particular we were keen on seeing and did their best to make sure it happened. We had the most amazing hyena and wild dog viewings, both of which you rarely get to see! And we both left with a new appreciation for birding, thanks Reinhardt! All of the staff at Etali were so friendly and nice and really made our stay special.

Originally we had only planned on staying for three nights but had such a great experience that we extended by a night. Needless to say I highly recommend a stay at Etali!

Room Tip: Room 7 was very private with an awesome view of the waterhole
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear Erica,

Thank you very much for your detailed and thoughtful review and strong endorsement. It is always welcome when guests enjoy their stay so much that they choose to extend it!

We look forward to seeing you again at the lodge!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Clearly one of the best places to go for game drives: we saw all big 5 in only two days! Service is amazing and the location just stunning! Would clearly come back and recommend to anyone who looks for an alternative to other game ressorts!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sascha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Dear Sascha,

Thank you for the kind review and endorsement. Seeing the big 5 is always a memorable experience for our guests and we look forward to hosting you again!

Kind regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Everything was amazing from the greeeting at our arrival to our departure. The food was awesome and delicious. Service was outstanding and all the staff were helpful and had great attitudes. My sons (in their mid-twenties) loved it and would like to go back. My husband and I will definitely be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 995ursulae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Dear Ursula,

Thank you for the kind review, we are always glad to hear that our service meals and Etali Experience have guests planning their return before even leaving the lodge! We look forward to hosting you again!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews