We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Etali - the best trip ever!”
Review of Etali Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Etali Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Everything on this trip was just how they describe on their website. The location of the lodges are awesome. We saw a herd of 25+ elephants at the watering hole outside our room. We also all of the Big 5 and more on our safaris. The staff and guides are wonderful! They all were very passionate about their job... we can't say enough good things about this trip. 100% recommended!!!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kellfromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Dear Kelley,

Thank you very much for the positive review and strong recommendation. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, including some great game viewing and our legendary Etali service. We look forward to hosting you again soon at the lodge!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2016

Etali safari lodge was an amazing lodge with very nice staff, who were very friendly and did everything to make our stay perfect! The madikwe parc was a fantastic reserve and I would recommend everyone to go.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dominique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Dear Dominique,

Thank you very much for the kind review and endorsement. It was a pleasure hosting you at the lodge and we hop to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Where do I begin..Etali Safari lodge spoiled us rotten and gave us the vacation of a lifetime. This place a a true gem. Upon entering the reserve we were whisked away by Patrick to what we thought would be heading to the lodge to get settled. Little did we know Patrick drove us to view a pride of lions sleeping in the bush! Once we arrived at the lodge we were greeted by the wonderful Angie with a cold drink and warm towel. Every member of the staff is extremely attentive and warm. You can tell then genuinely love sharing this amazing place with their guests.

Go hungry when coming to Etali! Food is amazing. Dinners overlooking the watering hole, cake and pastries at teatime, amazing burgers and steak and even a surprise bush breakfast which was a highlight of the trip.

Rooms are gorgeous and huge! We stayed in room 8 and had many Elephant, Zebra and wildebeest sightings from bed!

Game drives were epic! Our Ranger Jacques was fantastic. You can tell he really cares about the environment Madikwe has created and sharing that with guests. He went into great detail at every encounter offering knowledgeable and funny commentary! He gave us ample time at each spot which set him apart. I saw many other lodges who took their guests for a photo op and left. We spent time at each encounter discussing the behavior, history, etc..

Visiting Etali is life changing. I hope to be back some day and encourage anyone looking at Madikwe to stay here..you will be blown away!

Heather And Grahm

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Dear Heather and Grahm,

Thank you so much for the kind and thoughtful review. We are very glad to hear that our hard work produced the holiday of a lifetime for you. That is always the goal for the entire team! Thank you for mentioning all the team members and lodge features that made your holiday so special. We hope to see you again soon at the lodge!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We stayed at Etali for four nights during late October and the whole experience was amazing. It could be easy to be overawed by experiencing the bush wildlife and therefore overrate a lodge, however the service and accommodation at Etali was absolutely exceptional. There is a real culture of customer care and the entire team get it spot on. From the moment you arrive, Angie and the team make every effort to get to know you and personalise their service for the entirety of your stay. Nothing is too much effort.

We travelled with our nine-year-old daughter, who was the only child at the lodge at the time and Neo made every effort to keep her entertained, teaching her how to bake cookies, cup cakes and anything else she wanted to do making her time there really special.

The game drives were fantastic. Our Ranger, Jacques, was extremely knowledgeable and took time to point out the little things as well as the ‘big 5’. He made sure that he found out what interested us, answered any of our questions and explained anything that he thought we would like to know.

In terms of getting there, the drive from Johannesburg could not have been easier. You can take paved roads right up to the game reserve entrance in around four hours.

In summary, if you are looking for a game lodge in South Africa, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyb0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear Tracey,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review and strong endorsement. From the meals, rooms, kids activities, game drives and beyond we aim to make every guest's experience at Etali memorable and I am glad to hear that this was your experience too. We hope to see you again soon at the lodge!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

lots have been written about this lodge , the ones which rate it as excellent are correct
we have been to safari lodges before , from private ones near Kruger , to tented ones on a game trail in Tanzania.If you want a wild experience , with the possibility of not using the ensuite toilet because an elephant is rubbing its trunk against the tree growing from the bathroom , or have a lion or buffalo sitting just outside your tent . then not for you.
if however you want comfort , great food , the opportunity to sit in your heated plunge pool , on your private deck , overlooking a waterhole , with herds of elephant bathing , lions , and leopards drinking , and just being peaceful and watching Africas wildlife , then book this now
i don't think we had a single day when we did not see a big cat , or other predators , including brown hyenas [ a first for us ]
We stayed at etali for 7 nights , mid september, so here are some suggestions based on our experiences and preferences
this is not a cheap holiday , so make the most of it
ask to book a private vehicle and driver for some of the days , it is not too expensive
if you are travelling in september , take a warm jacket for the start of the morning drive , and the latter part of evening drives , when we were there at 7am it was 48F and at 2pm it was 93F
If you miss a drive and stay in the lodge , enjoy the sofa safari
ask for the cappuccino , rather than house coffee
Have a swedish massage , medium not firm
take binoculars , and if you are a photographer , a large lens
to finish , the staff at the lodge are a delight , and a credit to the management
the guides are superb.
I would hope that you would consider staying at etali primarily to enjoy the wildlife , I had mixed views on managed reserves versus wide open natural areas , Now i can say that the animals are better protected [unfortunately from man] and the sightings we enjoyed in Madikwe have been some of the best we have ever been fortunate enough to see

Room Tip: room 7 or 8 , delay or bring forward your trip to get the best view of the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrim3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear Pilgrim,

Thank you very much for the excellent review highlighting some of the key features of what made your Etali Experience so extraordinary! Your suggestions are also most welcome, there are few things that beat sipping on a cappucino while enjoying a visit from a herd of elephants at the Etali waterhole! We would like to advise potential guests that private vehicles are strictly subject to availability due to our relatively small size but enquiries are of course welcome. We hope to see you again soon at the lodge!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
17,5 km away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
377 reviews
17,5 km away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
232 reviews
4,5 km away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11,8 km away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
356 reviews
1,3 km away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
444 reviews
17,6 km away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etali Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etali Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: R 12 461 - R 19 513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Etali Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Etali Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etali Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing