We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Etali Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Rhulani Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$633
US$620
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madikwe Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$1 269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Madikwe River Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$827
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Thakadu River Camp(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$603
US$477
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jamala Madikwe(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$1 565
US$1 492
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tau Game Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$661
US$495
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Impodimo Game Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$836
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bush House(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$643
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$1 742
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
498
33
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
33
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated plunge poolwatering holegame drivesrooms are amazingwater holeanimal sightingsspecial requeststhe reservewild dogsan amazing experiencelarge decktotal privacyspa treatmentssafari lodgewithin hoursspecial thanksbush walk
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We stayed at Etali for four nights during late October and the whole experience was amazing. It could be easy to be overawed by experiencing the bush wildlife and therefore overrate a lodge, however the service and accommodation at Etali was absolutely exceptional. There is a real culture of customer care and the entire team get it spot on. From the moment you arrive, Angie and the team make every effort to get to know you and personalise their service for the entirety of your stay. Nothing is too much effort.

We travelled with our nine-year-old daughter, who was the only child at the lodge at the time and Neo made every effort to keep her entertained, teaching her how to bake cookies, cup cakes and anything else she wanted to do making her time there really special.

The game drives were fantastic. Our Ranger, Jacques, was extremely knowledgeable and took time to point out the little things as well as the ‘big 5’. He made sure that he found out what interested us, answered any of our questions and explained anything that he thought we would like to know.

In terms of getting there, the drive from Johannesburg could not have been easier. You can take paved roads right up to the game reserve entrance in around four hours.

In summary, if you are looking for a game lodge in South Africa, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyb0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear Tracey,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review and strong endorsement. From the meals, rooms, kids activities, game drives and beyond we aim to make every guest's experience at Etali memorable and I am glad to hear that this was your experience too. We hope to see you again soon at the lodge!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

lots have been written about this lodge , the ones which rate it as excellent are correct
we have been to safari lodges before , from private ones near Kruger , to tented ones on a game trail in Tanzania.If you want a wild experience , with the possibility of not using the ensuite toilet because an elephant is rubbing its trunk against the tree growing from the bathroom , or have a lion or buffalo sitting just outside your tent . then not for you.
if however you want comfort , great food , the opportunity to sit in your heated plunge pool , on your private deck , overlooking a waterhole , with herds of elephant bathing , lions , and leopards drinking , and just being peaceful and watching Africas wildlife , then book this now
i don't think we had a single day when we did not see a big cat , or other predators , including brown hyenas [ a first for us ]
We stayed at etali for 7 nights , mid september, so here are some suggestions based on our experiences and preferences
this is not a cheap holiday , so make the most of it
ask to book a private vehicle and driver for some of the days , it is not too expensive
if you are travelling in september , take a warm jacket for the start of the morning drive , and the latter part of evening drives , when we were there at 7am it was 48F and at 2pm it was 93F
If you miss a drive and stay in the lodge , enjoy the sofa safari
ask for the cappuccino , rather than house coffee
Have a swedish massage , medium not firm
take binoculars , and if you are a photographer , a large lens
to finish , the staff at the lodge are a delight , and a credit to the management
the guides are superb.
I would hope that you would consider staying at etali primarily to enjoy the wildlife , I had mixed views on managed reserves versus wide open natural areas , Now i can say that the animals are better protected [unfortunately from man] and the sightings we enjoyed in Madikwe have been some of the best we have ever been fortunate enough to see

Room Tip: room 7 or 8 , delay or bring forward your trip to get the best view of the waterhole
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrim3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Dear Pilgrim,

Thank you very much for the excellent review highlighting some of the key features of what made your Etali Experience so extraordinary! Your suggestions are also most welcome, there are few things that beat sipping on a cappucino while enjoying a visit from a herd of elephants at the Etali waterhole! We would like to advise potential guests that private vehicles are strictly subject to availability due to our relatively small size but enquiries are of course welcome. We hope to see you again soon at the lodge!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

How many places can you see Zebra, Warthog, Elephants, Lions, Kudoo, Impala, and Wildebeest WITHOUT LEAVING THE DECK OF YOUR ROOM! The staff was amazing, the game drives were safe, and, varied, the food was plenty and very good. The staff even performed for us during a BBQ. This lodge is quiet, secluded and clearly cares for all who choose to call it home for a few days.
Highly recommend families, or business retreats. We did it as a couple and it felt like a second honeymoon! Thank you Etali!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Emeric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear Emeric,

Thank you for the kind review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience including your "armchair safari" from the deck of your room. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you at the lodge and we hope to see you again in the future!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

What a marvellous experience. Etali's staff are their greatest asset. They are fantastic! So skilled and such wonderful hosts! We absolutely loved our visit and dream of going back. Reinhard is a superb guide - so knowledgeable about the bush and all it has to offer. The walking safari was also a magical experience. Thank you for such excellence.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank calebjoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Dear Caleb,

Thank you very much for the fantastic review. We can only agree with you about the Etali Team, it really is thanks to them that we are able to give each on of our guests such a memorable and excellent experience! We look forward to hosting you again upon your return!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We have never seen anything like this in our lifetime. This is the real deal seeing all the lions, elephant, zebra, giraffe, leopard, etc. in their natural habitat. the guides & trackers are amazing. it is unbelievable how they built all this totally modern 5 star lodge in the middle of the bush, 160,000 acres with the animals right there in front of you. all the staff & facility are out of this world. We would love to live there & help them protect the animals. Unlike anything else in the world, they spend a lot oft time with you...Love, Vicki & Steve Isaak

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vicky I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etali-Safari, Owner at Etali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Dear Vicki and Steve,

Thank you very much for the kind review of your amazing journey. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you at the lodge and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Koos and the Etali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews