We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place”
Review of Lakeside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entabeni Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Returned last week from this beautiful location. What a time we had. Everyone so friendly and nothing too much trouble. Food was brilliant and served by lovely staff. Marco the Head Ranger and his staff showed us every animal - elephants, lions, cheetahs, leopards etc. etc. The drives were early in the morning but what a delight. A week is not long enough so we will be back. Well done to everyone at Lakeside Lodge.

Terri and Peter Gibbs (room 54)

Room Tip: lodge overlooks the hippo lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrigibbs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, Client Liason at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Good day terrigibbs89

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lakeside lodge. We are heartened to read you had a legendary stay. Your comments regarding the staff especially Marco have been passed onto management and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

We traveled here as part of an organized tour (for the Big 5 Marathon- another amazing experience) so I cannot speak to booking and making arrangements. I can say that the lodge, the area, and the people are incredible. From the moment you arrive you are greeted by friendly faces dedicated to making your stay perfect. The rooms were luxurious for the area and quite nice by any standard. The baths are equipped with shampoo, soap, lotion, and towels (no washcloths) and ours had a nice shower and separate tub. Careful the water gets very hot! We had a nice outdoor seating area to view the lake, listen to the hippos, and watch the naughty monkeys play. Our meals were included and the food was abundant, the nice chef was kind to let us know what dishes were suitable for vegetarians. I think it would be nearly impossible to maintain a vegan diet here. The game drives were outstanding. Dress warmly as it is chilly in the morning and once he sun goes down at night. They provide blankets and sometimes a special surprise on the drive. We saw the "usual" animals and special ones like elephants, rhino, lions, cheetah, giraffe, and zebra. The rangers were all outstanding and patient with our questions and cameras. The lodge also has a pool and a "spa" where you can enjoy a nice massage at rates slightly less than the typical US rate. The staff can also help with arrangements for helicopter rides, hot air balloon rides, visits to the "local village", and other experiences. I have nothing to compare this experience, I can say that it was amazing and I would highly recommend to my friends. The only caution would be for young children, the game rides only are recommended for age 6 and above and the area is not child friendly for lots of outdoor play with younger children. If staying more than a couple days it might get tough for the 1-6 year olds. Overall this is great and I would recommend for those who want to combine a relaxing vacation with a challenging run!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, Client Liason at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Good Day Dawn S

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Lakeside Lodge. We are heartened to read that you had a legendary stay and enjoyed the rooms, food and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at this reserve and had a fantastic time. Staff very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Food great. Lodges great.

Marco who is head ranger was also our tour guide and he made everything really good especially our safaris. He got us as close to the animals as he could and did a fantastic job of letting us see as many animals as possible.

I will be back here next year and have to say this is one of my best holidays ever. One week is not long enough.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, Client Liason at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Good day Patricia B

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Lakeside Lodge. We are heartened to read you had a legendary stay and enjoyed the game drives, food and friendly staff. Your wonderful comments have been passed onto the Lakeside Team and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We have just returned from an amazing week at Lakeside the journey from the airport was a lot longer than we expected but the welcome we received more than made up for it . Jan and Petrus greeted us with huge smiles and enthusiasm and took us straight into lunch which was excellent throughout our stay, our lodge was large and comfortable and the electric blanket a wonderful bonus for the surprisingly cold nights. Jan and Petrus were excellent guides making our game drives amazing getting a lot closer to the wildlife than I ever dreamed possible. Overall wonderful staff amazing views and a fantastic weeks holiday

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annealanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, Client Liason at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Good Day annealanj

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Lakeside Lodge. We are heartened to read that your overall stay was a legendary one. Your comments bout Jan and Petrus and the food have been passed onto management and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

The Lakeside Lodge was a very clean and comfortable place to spend a few days. The food was good and the staff were very attentive. Room 83 had a king-size bed and a very nice log burning fireplace (with firewood provided). It also included a fabulous view of the lake from the back porch of your room. There were adorable and very smart Vervet monkeys around the lodge. Keep your windows and doors closed or you might have a visit from one of them. Our days were filled with thrilling adventures into the Game Reserve. Wildlife was plentiful. We had sightings of lions, elephants, zebras, giraffes, rhinos, kudus, wildebeests, warthogs and lots of others. The game rangers were incredible with their ability for tracking the animals by their footprints and droppings, spotting animals at a great distance and telling you details about the animals as you are viewing them. We had a wonderful time at Lakeside Lodge.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank sdunn43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget V, Client Liason at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Good Day Sdunn43

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Lakeside Lodge. We are thrilled to read you a had a legendary stay. Your comments about the food, staff, game drives and rangers have been passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
38.7 km away
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
#2 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
57 reviews
11.0 km away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
268 reviews
0.0 km away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
16 reviews
17.1 km away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 18 in Mookgophong
67 reviews
0.0 km away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#2 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Lodge

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Entabeni Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing