We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
135
4
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long lee separate lounge safari experience game reserve game drives cold buffet the main house first class wow factor little piece of heaven on earth small gym major refurbishment underfloor heating warm hand towels the barn amazing sightings incredible knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Our third visit to Shamwari Game Reserve and we couldn’t think of going anywhere else other than Long Lee Manor. From the minute you step out of your car you are instantly made to feel so welcome, it’s a great team effort and every greeting with a smile. We stayed for 4 nights and could easily have doubled that and every day would bring a different experience. We had 8 game drives with James whose knowledge showed such respect for all the animals and his enthusiasm was infectious. We also had great company on all of our days which made the experience even more special. We have such great memories and amazing photos. Thank you Shamwari

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Whirlyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

It really is difficult to know where to begin. The staff are wonderful, the accommodation (we were in room 2 in the Manor House) was terrific, the food and presentation very good and the wildlife outstanding! Our ranger (Jess) was knowledgable and passionate about the animals, respecting them and their well-being at all times. There are two reasonably sized pools, with views to die for. There is also a small gym and beauty spa, both of which we utilised. We stayed three nights but could easily have stayed two more. We want to return but there is going to be a huge upgrade, which will up the prices. Don’t forget to visit the Born Free Foundation too. A special thank you to KG and his team. We miss those smiles!

Date of stay: January 2018
1  Thank cockerspanielbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed at Long Lee Manor while visiting the Shamwari Game reserve. We had room 2 in the main building which was a massive bed room. The problem with the hotel is that it is in need of major refurbishment in the main building. Because some of the rooms are outside of the main building in more modern blocks I can’t tell you if they also need refurbishing, but the hotel is due to close in 2018 for 13 months for a complete rebuild and refit. I think it’s probably overdue.
Having said all that the bed was comfortable, the bathroom worked as did the air conditioning. The grounds immediately outside the hotel contain 2 swimming pools, one heated and one not so. There are plenty of sun beds and lots of sitting out areas. The hotel overlooks a local watering hole so you get all types of animals visiting.
The staff actually make the place as they are simply brilliant. Nothing is to much trouble and you are met with a friendly smile wherever you go.
You don’t visit Shamwari for the hotel you visit for the safari and therefore for that purpose it meets the needs. Service at mealtimes can be a bit slow and disorganised, especially on Christmas Day when there was a limited menu, but with very little to do between your morning and evening game drive I don’t suppose it matters that much

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PeterMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGR_socialmedia, Guest Relations Manager at Long Lee Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Peter,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We value all guest feedback as it helps us to better ourselves.

I am saddened to hear that your stay with us did not meet all your expectations. As you have mentioned, we will be closing Long Lee Manor for an extensive refurbishment where the look will be transformed from antique to modern. We are elated about the upcoming changes and do hope to see you return in the future.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your safari experience and that the staff were brilliant.

Best Regards,

Mat Matysik
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Just stunning with a huge wow factor. Location, staff, service, food all first class. Our ranger , well he was brilliant with our 4 drives and passed all our expectations. Had such a good time and a brilliant way to end our 2 weeks in South Africa. Memories to cherish.

Date of stay: November 2017
1  Thank Woodies5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

My mum and I have recently returned from our fabulous stay at Shamwari. We stayed at Long Lee Manor. Accommodation was first class as was the service. My mum has difficulties walking so we were supplied with a wheelchair AND a helper to push mum up and down the path to outer apartment. People could not have been more helpful and we were both very grateful.
Jonathan our guide was brilliant. So knowledgable and very helpful in letting mum sit in the front seat and supplying a foot stool to help her get in and out. The area is stunning even without the animals, but seeing the animals in their natural habitat and so close is something neither of us will forget. Thank you all so much.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank jeangreenstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews